We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Outstanding service from Stellenbosch Hotel!”
Review of Stellenbosch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stellenbosch Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Definitely a hotel to be HIGHLY recommended! Excellent service right from the start! Beatiful and spacious rooms. The luxury apartments are definitely a must! Fantastic food. Friendly and very helpful staff. They accomodate you on all levels. The only "downside" is the "security guards" that walk the streets at night, they can be very noisy at times. Other than that, Lovely!

Room Tip: The luxury apartments are spacious and really beautiful.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y0landiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbester002, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful comments.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Stellenbosch Hotel Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
There are newer reviews for Stellenbosch Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 856 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Value for money accommodation. Good position, close to restaurants and shops. Parking was very small with very few parking bays - in peak holiday season, this could be a problem. Room was small but adequate for one night - we stayed in a petite double room; bathroom was also very small. Staff were very friendly and helpful, although a bit noisy near the rooms. Breakfast was very basic and we expected a more variety. We were amused by the acorns falling on the roof, which fortunately did not keep us awake at night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbester002, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your valued feedback.
I'm pleased that you perceived the hotel as good value for money.

Your comments have been shared and discussed with the team and will be used contructively to improve our service levels.

We look forwrad to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Stellenbosch Hotel Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Not that easy to find on arrival in Stellenbosch. The hotel is above and behind Jan Cats restaurant on the corner of Dorp Street and Andringa Street (one-way traffic). The entrance is a little insignificant, obscured by pavement tables from Jan Cats. Basement car park has only about 8 spaces and is underneath the building - entrance next to Jan Cats - on Andringa Street. There is a lift from car park to main floors of hotel. Reception is inside via a small courtyard garden area from the ground floor. Our room (#12) was equipped with two twin beds pushed together as a double, 2 chairs, TV,fridge, Tea/Coffee makings, hairdryer, clock-radio, phone, in-room safe and air-conditioning unit. Windows opened onto courtyard. There was a small shower and a very cramped WC. Hotel has about 27 rooms on two floors of historic building - with partly thatched roof. Jan Cats Restaurant is under same management and was venue for breakfast which consisted of choice of 3 juices,3 cereals, cold meat, cheese and hot buffet with sausage, eggs, bacon, etc. The cold buffet items tended to attract flies. Bread, toast and jam was not replenished currently. We had a couple of minor problems (e.g. the toilet seat became detached) which were cheerfully attended to.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tourmanagerSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbester002, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TRIPADVISOR.
I am pleased that your overall experience was pleasant and comfortable.
Your comments regarding the breakfast buffet have been noted and improvements will be discussed with our F&B team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Stellenbosch Hotel Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The positioning of the hotel right next to the bars and cafes in a tree lined street is lovely. Stellenbosch itself is a very nice place and well worth a visit. This hotel should be given a miss though. The room was at the back in the roof space. The acorns falling on the tin roof made sleeping very difficult. Add to this the very old, noisy air con unit, street noise and very loud service staff before 8am and we barely slept our whole stay. The breakfast was poor with anaemic looking bacon, cheese and bread with flies all over it and poor quality orange juice. give it a miss!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EDED084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbester002, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your valued feedback.
Please accept my sincerest apology for not meeting your expectations.
Your comments will be shared and discussed with the relevant departments and used constructively to improve our service levels and offerings.

Kind Regards
Stellenbosch Hotel Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed for one night on our whirlwind tour of the region. The hotel is in a great location, central in town and walking distance to loads of options for shopping and dining.

We had a two bedroom, corner apartment which was very nice. Decor needs updating a little but all in all was more than adequate. The location is a bit noisy but our two year old slept through and once we were asleep we didn't notice a thing. The apartment itself was fairly spacious with a full kitchen, two bedrooms, lounge, dining table for six and two bathrooms (one very good size, one tiny). Washing machine included too.

Staff were fairly friendly but not the best we've ever encountered! Breakfast was poor with the selection looking a bit old around the edges and the cornflakes stale. There wasn't enough bread, cups, saucers or cutlery for all the guests so there was a continuous line of people waiting for the kitchen to finish the next load of dishes!

All in all though, quite comfortable but I'd probably pick somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Corner suits have fabulous balconies but are noisier
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbester002, Front Office Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your valued feedback.
Please accept my sincerest apology for not meeting your expectations and for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Your comments have been shared with the relevant departments and areas in need of improvements have been discussed and will be implemented to ensure a better experience for all our guests.
Kind Regards
Stellenbosch Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived at the reception desk and nobody was around. We waited a good 5 minutes before somebody turned up to check us in.

My aunt and I had room A3, a 2 bedroomed "Luxury Apartment". There was a musty smell about the room and we immediately wanted to open the balcony doors but the bottom of the doors was jammed and no amount of force would open them. The hotel's website said it was air-conditioned and it was, but not in the bedrooms. One bedroom was so small that cat-swinging was out of the question. This bedroom had NO WINDOWS. The other bedroom was fine but due to there being no air-conditioning, a window would have to be opened. The room overlooked the street and I realised that if I wanted to breathe, the window would have to be opened, meaning that I would probably get pedestrian and traffic noise early in the morning. Also the security aspect of it bothered me. Neither of us wanted to sleep in the room with no windows and neither of us wanted to have disturbed sleep, so we left without unpacking.
Parking was a nightmare and we were told that if we left to go out (which we had to do), the chances of us getting parking again were non-existent. The kind gentleman did offer to put a parking cone in a parking bay outside but he could not guarantee that it would be available when we returned.
The website described the bedrooms as being en-suite. One was, one wasn't.
The poor reception staff were sympathetic but it's not their fault.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbester002, Front Office Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your valued feedback, which has been shared and discussed with the relevant members of our team.
Please accept our sincerest apology for not being welcomed and the wait upon your arrival at the hotel as well as not meeting your expectations and for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Our 2 bedroom apartments do vary in size, layout and furnishings; however all the bedrooms have windows, some opening into the atrium.

Parking is rather challenging in the center of Stellenbosch and we unfortunately only have limited parking bays available in our garage. Should these be fully booked we always assist our guests with parking close by the hotel.

Once again, we wish to apologise that we did not meet your expectations.

Kind Regards
Stellenbosch Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had booked into the Rivierbos Guest House for 2 nights. On arrival we were told that they were full and had re-located us to the Stellenbosch Hotel which is in their group.
This in fact was a great move for us as it was so central. The room was comfortable and we had an enjoyable stay. The breakfast was adequate, though the service was a little haphazard.
Though this was an upgrade we were only charged the original booking cost.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilB198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbester002, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TRIPADVISOR.

I'm pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your comments regarding the service during breakfast have been shared and dicussed with our F&B team and will be used constructively to improve our service levels.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Stellenbosch Hotel Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
399 reviews
5.3 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
622 reviews
3.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stellenbosch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stellenbosch Hotel

Address: 162 Dorp Street | Corner of Dorp & Andringa Streets, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $75 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stellenbosch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stellenbosch Hotel is a classic boutique-style hotel, situated in the heart of historic Stellenbosch. Our range of Cape Dutch rooms cater for both the leisure and corporate markets. We are the ideal destination from which guests can explore the Cape Winelands and many other Western Cape attractions.Stellenbosch Hotel offers luxury rooms with free Wi-Fi and an on-site restaurant serving specialties and South African wines. Free parking is available. Stellenbosch Golf Club is just 3 miles away.In a restored building, each room features touches of colonial décor. Each room has a TV, minibar and safe. Each room has a spacious private bathroom.Breakfast in the morning is served in the Jan Cats Restaurant. The menu for lunch and dinner includes a range of game dishes, seafood cuisines as well as fine local and foreign dishes.Stellenbosch University is less than half a mile from Hotel Stellenbosch. It is a 5-minute drive from the walking tours of the Stellenbosch wine route. Museums, art galleries and gift shops are all within safe walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stellenbosch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing