We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stellenbosch hotel - the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stellenbosch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stellenbosch Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stellenbosch hotel - the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Three wonderful days in stellenbosch and a privilage to stay in one of the oldest hotels. Great atmosphere and hopitality! We enjoy our stay, food weather - everything. Very central and the most wonderful shops and restaurants in area. Safe parking, clean room, excellent service and friendly staff. helpful people at reception. Enjoyed our breakfast in Jan kats restaurant and would like to come and stay in Stellenbosch in future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbester002, Front Office Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Stellenbosch Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    313
    91
    29
    19
See reviews for
155
269
41
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The room was small but clean and comfortable. Comfy bed with lovely pillows. Large, clean bathroom (even bigger than the room!). The breakfasts were wonderful and the staff were fantastic. Always smiling and went out of their way to make our stay special. It's only 3 stars, but you definitely get 4 star service!

Room Tip: ground floor rooms were a bit noisy and not very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katstrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbester002, Front Office Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We constantly strive to offer great service and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards
Stellenbosch Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
149 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Not one of our best experiences. The hotel itself is in the heart of Stellenbosch, so a good location. Rating is average because, well it's average. We were on the third floor - the lift doesn't reach past the second, but it wasn't working when we arrived anyway, so it was quite a climb from the secure basement car park. The room was reasonable though rather small, but it was clean. We were pleased that we had a one night stay 'deal' as the normal pricing, in our opinion, was far in excess of what you would expect to pay for this standard of accommodation. Although we managed to get secure basement car parking we were informed that we may have to move the car later in the evening - the request to move was made as we were about to have dinner! After viewing the proposed car space (behind another car) we refused to move - who wants to be woken early in the morning to let another car out? If you think this is not a good review you must read the one about the in-house restaurant - Jan Cats!!!

Room Tip: The higher rooms are likely to be quieter as the hotel is on the corner of two busy roads, but be pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jangles_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbester002, Front Office Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback and we wish to apologise for not meeting your expectations.

As part of the hotel is situated in a historic building and declared a National Monument, we have to adhere to certain building restrictions.

Hence our lift access is only up to the second floor and I do apologise that the lift wasn’t working when you arrived.

Unfortunately we have only limited parking space available at the hotel and sometimes cars get double parked in order to accommodate as many of our guests vehicles as possible.

We offer our guests to leave their car keys at reception and our staff will take responsibility to move your vehicle if required.

Once again please accept my sincerest apology for not meeting your expectations and for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hi , i would just like to say that my wife and i stayed at this hotel for just one night !
We were made to feel very welcome on arrival and in fact , after Crystal found out that it was my wifes Birthday , she made every effort to make her feel so special !!
Not only did she upgrade our room she also sent up a fantastic slice of Birthday cake !
Wow thanks very much to Crystal and her team !
Fantastic venue if you want to explore Stellies at Night ... very close to all the very best Restaurants Stellies have to offer !
thanks again Crystal your made our weekend !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

If location was to get a rating, this would be a 5-star hotel. In the heart of Stellenbosch, it was a great base to walk around, and enjoy Stellenbosch.

The rooms are very basic, but 'nice'. The smell of disinfectant was a little overpowering. The pillows were dreadful (1-star). My biggest complaint would be the pillows.

Super friendly staff. A good (3-star) breakfast in the morning. All-in-all, 5-stars for value for money.

Given the pros and cons, were I to stay a few days in Stellenbosch again, I would certainly return to the Stellenbosch Hotel. I would however, bring my own pillow this time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently had a wonderful time in Stellenbosch. What made it so much better was the lovely Stellenbsoch Hotel, situated in the heart of the beautiful town. The staff were all exceptionally friendly and helpful, the room was comfy and spacious and the breakfast was delicious. I would definately go back there and highly recommend this little gem to other travellers

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Stellembosch Hotel is great value for money and is far better than the 3 stars. The service is good and the rooms are comfy Especially room 4. For a tourist or a short stop- over in Stellenbosch, the hotel is ideal. Breakfast is standard and ok

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
3.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stellenbosch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stellenbosch Hotel

Property: Stellenbosch Hotel
Address: 162 Dorp Street | Corner of Dorp & Andringa Streets, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stellenbosch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stellenbosch Hotel is a classic boutique-style hotel, situated in the heart of historic Stellenbosch. Our range of Cape Dutch rooms cater for both the leisure and corporate markets. We are the ideal destination from which guests can explore the Cape Winelands and many other Western Cape attractions.Stellenbosch Hotel offers luxury rooms with free Wi-Fi and an on-site restaurant serving specialties and South African wines. Free parking is available. Stellenbosch Golf Club is just 3 miles away.In a restored building, each room features touches of colonial décor. Each room has a TV, minibar and safe. Each room has a spacious private bathroom.Breakfast in the morning is served in the Jan Cats Restaurant. The menu for lunch and dinner includes a range of game dishes, seafood cuisines as well as fine local and foreign dishes.Stellenbosch University is less than half a mile from Hotel Stellenbosch. It is a 5-minute drive from the walking tours of the Stellenbosch wine route. Museums, art galleries and gift shops are all within safe walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Stellenbosch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing