We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and food.....but....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stellenbosch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stellenbosch Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good location and food.....but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights part of our school tour to South Africa. The location of the hotel is excellent, really central and breakfast was really good, with lots of choice to make everyone happy. The accommodation is pretty basic though, especially the bathrooms, although the shower was nice and hot!

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ellygirl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    310
    91
    29
    19
See reviews for
154
268
41
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We bought a special voucher where we received almost 50% off the normal rates, so for us this was fantastic value for money! We just needed a place to stay for one night as we were in town for a wedding, so this was perfect, but waking up there you can't help but appreciate how centrally located the hotel is, a bonus for any traveller to explore the beautiful town from. The room was very clean and neat, and although not too modern, completely acceptable. Also, the breakfast was great, and staff very friendly and efficient. Definitely recommendable!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DominiqueSchoonKrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel is ideally positioned for exploration around Stellenbosch.

It is in a typical Stellenbosch style building, with some extra bits. The courtyard area is a bonus and a nice place to sit out.

On arrival we were made to feel very welcome, despite being in a big group. We found the rooms to be clean and functional, though showers occasionally lacked power. Tea and coffee in the rooms was ample, and space was particularly good in the apartment style rooms.

Breakfast was plentiful, tasty and varied, with something for everybody.

On the same road there were several nice eateries, with the Culinary Art restaurant a particular highlight.

We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
210 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel is very well located in Stellenbosch and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in need of some updating and care which will bring it back up to where it should be. This should not be taken as a "don'd stay there" comment more just be aware. For what we paid it was very good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodfanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loma Linda, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Based on other reviews, I had low expectations. However, it was quite the opposite. Staff were very friendly, the room was clean and well furnished. Breakfast was good, variety and quality of food was above average. The location of the hotel in Stellenbosch is excellent, there are many shops and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M0gi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a very nice stay. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. The hotel is great value for money, excellently located, and certainly worth a re-visit. We found the staff very eager to help and assist

Room Tip: We were on the top level, with a great outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
148 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel is okay - just. It is very well situated in the town, pretty close to lots of restaurants etc. Glad I was there for only a couple of nights. The room was pretty cramped as was the bathroom. The bed was fixed to the wall or in my case not fixed to the wall! Breakfast was pretty ordinary and I cannot say the service was great. Doubt if I would go back there given a choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThemaceSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
3.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stellenbosch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stellenbosch Hotel

Property: Stellenbosch Hotel
Address: 162 Dorp Street | Corner of Dorp & Andringa Streets, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stellenbosch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stellenbosch Hotel is a classic boutique-style hotel, situated in the heart of historic Stellenbosch. Our range of Cape Dutch rooms cater for both the leisure and corporate markets. We are the ideal destination from which guests can explore the Cape Winelands and many other Western Cape attractions.Stellenbosch Hotel offers luxury rooms with free Wi-Fi and an on-site restaurant serving specialties and South African wines. Free parking is available. Stellenbosch Golf Club is just 3 miles away.In a restored building, each room features touches of colonial décor. Each room has a TV, minibar and safe. Each room has a spacious private bathroom.Breakfast in the morning is served in the Jan Cats Restaurant. The menu for lunch and dinner includes a range of game dishes, seafood cuisines as well as fine local and foreign dishes.Stellenbosch University is less than half a mile from Hotel Stellenbosch. It is a 5-minute drive from the walking tours of the Stellenbosch wine route. Museums, art galleries and gift shops are all within safe walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Stellenbosch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing