We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the whole town of Stellenbosch, the beautiful streets, restaurants, and the best library at the Stellenbosch University”

Stellenbosch University
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.50*
and up
Guided Bike Tour of Stellenbosch
Ranked #27 of 143 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Klein Brak River, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“the whole town of Stellenbosch, the beautiful streets, restaurants, and the best library at the Stellenbosch University”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A good place for visitors to experience a town full of young vibrant students, beautiful old buildings and lots of restaurants. And for tourists there are so many good shops for curio's but also for clothes and especially for GOOD ART.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Antoi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    39
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Racist & Substandard! Don't waste your money!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stellenbosch is one of the most racist places I have ever travelled to in my life! I have travelled all over Europe, North America, and South America, and have spent many years living abroad as both a teen and an adult, and I have never been to a place that was as bad as Stellenbosch.

There was a squatter camp a few hundred yards from my "upscale" apartment. It seems like almost everyone in South Africa has a propensity to be dishonest and exaggerate how "great" South Africa is, and how their facilities are up to western standards. They aren't.

The above I could have handled if the racism wasn't thrown in the mix.

I wouldn't recommend going there for travel or studying. I have a 3.6 GPA in the sciences from a top rated university outside of South Africa and deciding to study abroad in SA was one of the worst mistakes of my life.

They think all black people are stupid and they will treat you that way. The professors I worked with were racist and incompetent. One of them even went out of his way to try to destroy my reputation with my references after I started standing up for myself.

Insults were the norm.

Stay far far away from Stellenbosch if you're planning to study abroad and if you want a quality education! There are plenty of other schools that are much higher ranked - and more importantly - recognized internationally. Don't study at Stellenbosch!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
65 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Difficult to review!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Many buildings look nice and many are old, the area stretches all over town. Pretty good sports arena, and the Konservatorium is very nice - they often have free lunch concerts there!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank OrjanLavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
630 reviews
262 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Great Little Campus Community”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent sometime walking on campus during our trip to wine country. It was like a step back in time. Worth a detour to this well preserved town and community.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SheriBobLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Town”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

One of the most scenic university towns in the world. Loads of national monument buildings and heritage sites. Right in the middle of the winelands and with so many good hotels and restaurants, just a perfect place to visit. The students are so lucky.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank woodee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stellenbosch University also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Stellenbosch University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing