We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful place”
Review of Dorp Street

Dorp Street
Ranked #7 of 143 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Having just visited Stellenbosch and done the town walk it can onluy be described as a memorible experience and something all tourists to Stellenbosch must do. Great historical place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    182
    38
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norddeutschland
Level 6 Contributor
807 reviews
476 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 606 helpful votes
“Lots to see and to eat plus good shopping”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The title of the review sais it in a nutshell. The dorp street contains some nice restauarnts, some good shopping opportunities (om Samie for example) has a lot of interesting houses lined up, a small little park and due to the trees you seldom walk in the open sun.

Of course they do know that there are many tourists in this area so the prices are above what you pay elsewhere but it is still a very relaxing stroll. The only thing is, be beware of the gullies.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very relaxing stroll”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We took a two hour stroll down this old world street. Surrounded by beautiful white little buildings full of interesting shops and cafés it is easy to forget that one is in SA. The atmosphere was wonderful and we enjoyed looking at the various little art galleries. We also found a bottle of 1985 Zonnebloem Shiraz, which I'm looking forward to opening on a special occasion.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cvanzyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quaint and Interesting”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We arrived late in the afternoon and after checking in our hotel, the Eendracht, located on Dorp Street, we decided to take a walk around town.
The street is historic with many old and restored buildings. Very interesting architecture.
There are a number of restaurants along the street and we tried the Big Easy for some wine tasting and snacks. A good choice.
Most of the trinket shops were closed but no matter. The tree lined street with interesting buildings made it a very nice walk.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ratch37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quaint and historic”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Wish there had been more shops, but the galleries and stores that were there were fun to pop into and enjoy. Love the historic charm of the street.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pennyroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dorp Street also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Dorp Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing