We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wholesome food, great vibe”
Review of La Romantica

La Romantica
Ranked #146 of 252 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Polokwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wholesome food, great vibe”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The menu here has everything from seafood to wood oven pizzas. The vibe is relaxed, service top notch and the mist sprayers a bargain in the heat of February! A 10 out of 10 for this popular restaurant!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank marketing_fusi0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    45
    23
    13
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food options are great”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Driving past it, I seriously thought this was just another pub. But it wasn't. The variety they have on their menu is amazing. And very well priced. We went back a second night just to try out their unique sushi menu.
The first night the service was horrendous. But the second night the waiter was great. So its a gamble on that. But quality of food and the variety is worth sacrificing the service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theunisdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“dinner at this restaurant”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My wife & I had dinner at this restaurant in June last year while I was on holiday in Cape Town. The service was excellent & the meals were well presented. In comparison to other restaurants we visited we enjoyed the meals & the service @ this establishment. I would recommend this restaurant for service; price & fresh & well cooked meals. Good value for money as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samuel H K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
219 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“An average experience”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

It was an average experience for me and some colleagues, visiting this restaurant for lunch. At first the waiter was not sure were to seat us as some tables had been booked, but it was not clearly indicated. It was not busy when we visited, so we didn't wait too long for our food. The food was nice and we had no complaints, but there was nothing to wow you at the restaurant.
I may consider going back there again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vsomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very, very disappointing”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We are regular visitors to La Romantica when visiting Stellenbosch. Our last visit was very disappointing, so we decided to visit again tonight. This experience was terrible!
I ordered grilled hake which was so over cooked that I could not eat it. The vegetables they served with the fish tasted like last week's. The other guest in our company had a hamburger, which was very poor and the chips was definitely made a few days before.
So sorry La Romantica, being regular visitors when visiting Stellenbosch, you have lost us and our friends forever!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ILIKETRAVEL56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Romantica also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to La Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing