We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly in central Stellenbosch”
Review of Oude Werf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oude Werf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This central hotel is very nice with a comfortable lobby area, good bar, restaurant and and a nice garden with a small pool. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the valet parking works very efficient.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 696 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Oude Werf Hotel is a great hotel in the middle of Stollenbosch. Great value for money. You can walk to everything in the town from the hotel. The hotel is charming, the room I was in was a bit quirky, but not in a bad way. The staff was helpful and polite and went out of their way to make sure I was okay (there was a problem with the electronic card reader so I had to use a key to get in the room until it was resolved)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Located in the Stellenbosch city centre, the Oude Werf Hotel provides comfortable, yet somewhat bare-boned accomodation. Despite its lack of frills (and thrills) however, I enjoyed my stay here.

Things I liked
1. The hotel's location is superb: within walking distance of multiple restaurants and shops, the Stellenbosch museum and the local mall (5 mins away).

2. Rooms are well furnished with air-conditioning, LCD TV and free wifi.

3. Somewhat quaint appeal and historic architecture in upper floor rooms.

Things I disliked:
1. Few luxuries available by 4 Star standards: no gym, rooftop view or masseuse. The pool is small.

2. No lift (3 stories in building); however porter available to carry luggage.

3. Standard in-hotel restaurant fare - menu not too imaginative and cuisine a little flat; however many local restaurants available to choose from outside.

Conclusions
Although a little small and bare-boned, the Oude Werf integrates modern technology and comfort into a historic/old building with aplomb. The location is hard to beat, and while the lack of a gym and the standard restaurant are mildly disappointing, the accessibility to local shops makes up for this in large part. Recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor more modern (eg. keycard access, glass-walled bathroom) whereas those on highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nightinferno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed at this hotel while having a programme at the university. The hotel proved to be a very nice place in the historic part of Stellenbosch. The personnel proved to be very friendly, the room was excellent and the hotel served a very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilHOegstgeest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The location of the Hotel Oude Werf is perfected located in the centre of Stellenbosch. The ambiance and the atmosphere are perfect in a nice old building. Very good and friendly service. The rooms are modern and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was our first day on our African holiday and was a great start. Even though the hotel under going renovations our room was spacious all facilities were great and service excellent. The location is fantastic easy walking distance to shops restrauants anf tourist spots.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The location is perfect : in the centre , not far from the wine-estates, Franchhoek ......
The hotel has a valet-parking, witch is important, because it' difficult to find place .
It is a very beautifull hotel . We ware 2 nights there, we are a cupple , we asked a standard room , but we got a familyroom : that was realy not niece : we feld unhappy : it was situated out of the hotel : in a dirty,smelly alley ,the back of restaurants : we felt excluded from the hotel!
That offers a star-hotel such rooms !
We complained to the manager ; and he gave us , and provided that pay extra, a superior room,and that was excellent ! we were happy.
We have diner in the hotel : excellent , and affordabel .You can sit in- and outside:very cozy .
Breakfast was very good.
For lunch : it is a must to go to the Delaire-Graff wine-estate.
A must of restaurant also is : The Big Easy from golfer Ernie Els : great !

Room Tip: don't reserve a familyroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisschoofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,063 reviews
3.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
949 reviews
0.1 mi away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Batavia Boutique Hotel
#2 of 17 in Stellenbosch
352 reviews
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oude Werf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oude Werf Hotel

Address: 30 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa (Formerly d'Ouwe Werf Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#9 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $125 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oude Werf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oude Werf (the Old Churchyard) is South Africa's oldest hotel, in the historic heart the Cape Winelands 'capital' of Stellenbosch, and within easy reach of its many rich experiences. Its award-winning design blends two century-old period inspirations with the latest contemporary luxury. 58 superb en suite accommodations are centred on a famous inn-house that flows to a shady vine-covered courtyard with gourmet restaurant and a charming lounge and bar, overlooking its central gardens and pool deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oude Werf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing