We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and exceptional service”
Review of Oude Werf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oude Werf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I had an exceptional experience in this hotel. The people (expecially at the reception) are so professional and will go an extra mile to help. The location is excellent and the room is clean and every thing in it is fully functional.

Room Tip: Rooms within the main building (not the apartment style) is quieter however if you prefer space, def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 661 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our final night in South Africa before heading home to the UK and we had expected this hotel to be up to the same very high standard as we had found everywhere else. We were disappointed however. Our rooms at the front of the hotel in the old part were large but cold and dark, the furniture was an odd and shabby mixture of antique and 1990's office and the bathrooms were sadly in need of a refit. We found out later that the hotel does have more modern rooms that might have been more comfortable for us, but we didn't realise that at the time. There was an air conditioning/heating unit in the room (but not in the bathroom) which did warm it up eventually but it would have been nicer to have been welcomed with a warm, bright room. The wifi signal was also poor in the room and I had to wander around the hotel with my laptop to find a signal strong enough to check in for our flights the next day.
We didn't experience breakfast as we had to leave too early for the airport but the hotel kindly made up a packed breakfast for us. The bright spot was that the staff were friendly and tried to be helpful, but couldn't make the wifi work any better. Parking right under the hotel was also very convenient and the location is good for walking around Stellenbosch (although we were there Sunday afternoon/evening and very little was open).

Room Tip: During the winter months you may want to specify one of the more modern rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamsFamilyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The location is in the centre of town convenient for bars and restaurants and a short trip to many vineyards. Our room was recently refurbished and the bed was very comfortable and everything felt clean in the room. The decor was quite over the top to my taste but as the bedding and furnishings were crisp and clean this wasn't an issue. The shower room was also very good. The choice and quality at breakfast were excellent. We didn't have an evening meal in the hotel but heard good feedback from other guests. There was refurbishment going on but we were not affected by this - we had a superior room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed only one night on SA trip. Hotel conveniently situated centre of old town only steps to many restaurants/cafes & lovely craft & tourist shops. It is on the main road so a little difficult to find the parking however that was taken care of straight away by hotel valet & car parked in underground car park. We had requested rooms in the newly refurbished wing of hotel after reading reviews & we weren't disappointed, the rooms were spacious modern with lovely bathroom & walk in shower we also had a small balcony overlooking the pool. Breakfast was good with many choices in light spacious dining room or you could eat on the outside patio weather permitting. There was some refurbishment work going on which wasn't disruptive & will add a bar area to the restaurant. The only down side was that there was no lift so we had to carry heavy luggage up a couple of flights of stairs however the hotel staff were happy to help you with this. The reception staff were very helpful in providing info. We would definitely stay here again if in Stellenbosch

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deborah61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you are booking at the moment the hotel is going through some refurbishment which is desperately needed. We were originally given a room which wasn't really part of the Hotel but in an adjoining building. We could hear the noise from the pub next door and that was only two guys having a mid afternoon chat. God knows what it would have been like when the music was on at night. After complaining we were eventually moved to a pretty tired looking room in the main building. Breakfast was ok and the staff were on the whole quite helpful but I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm exactly what room you are getting. Might be worth spending a bit more if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Oude Werf Hotel is right in downtown Stellenbosch. The outside appearance is inviting and historic, reception is moment from the past and some of the rooms would remind you of Bed and Breakfast style; while others are the picture of modern. Bright, comfortable, cheery and clean with a staff trained in customer service. From the moment you pull up and parking is sorted out, right through friendly reception staff and check in; nothing could be better than this property.
Breakfast was included, and the dining area has been redone since a visit last year. Menu is large enough to satisfy most tastes, and the wait staff will go out of their way to please and make sure you have what you want, how you want.

Good central location to do some shopping and walking access to a number of restaurants. This stop over has been a great jumping off point for our wine-tasting forays. The only draw back is lack of elevator. The staff also explained there is construction going on for a new bar/lounge area - which will be a great addition.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Struggled a bit to find because no street names in the vicinity of hotel. Had a rental car but parking was a real problem, not enough and small parking bays. More or less in the middle of Stellenbosch so convenient if you have to be somewhere in town. I did not have breakfast. They did not mention it when making the booking, but was busy renovating/building and this was a bit chaotic. Make sure to ask if this should bother you. The hotel is not new and I would not have enoyed the stay if it was for pleasure. But for work it served its purpose as I only spent very little time in the room. Dinner was good with a pleasant fire going in the fireplace. Service was good, someone came out to help with the parking and carried my luggage.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonkoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
917 reviews
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
899 reviews
0.1 mi away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Batavia Boutique Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
#12 of 17 in Stellenbosch
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oude Werf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oude Werf Hotel

Address: 30 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa (Formerly d'Ouwe Werf Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#9 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $149 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oude Werf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oude Werf (the Old Churchyard) is South Africa's oldest hotel, in the historic heart the Cape Winelands 'capital' of Stellenbosch, and within easy reach of its many rich experiences. Its award-winning design blends two century-old period inspirations with the latest contemporary luxury. 58 superb en suite accommodations are centred on a famous inn-house that flows to a shady vine-covered courtyard with gourmet restaurant and a charming lounge and bar, overlooking its central gardens and pool deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oude Werf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing