We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful old hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oude Werf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oude Werf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful old hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great hotel and like it's sister hotel in Cape Town, Friendly and helpful staff. My room (102) was one of the oldest with a big 4 poster bed. Beams in the room were original from 1802 with modern bath and shower etc. Great meal in the 1802 restaurant of traditional SA meals (baboutee, chicken pie and ostrich neck). Great location.

Room Tip: My room was near the front #102, but not too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peregrino00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    177
    73
    29
    25
See reviews for
64
330
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Accomodation that was not well appointed in fact disgraceful. Two rooms with frayed stained carpets, half hung filthy curtains falling from rods, showers covered in mildew, inadequate and badly appointed lighting, leaking lavatory bowl resulting in large puddle on bathroom floor, smelly pillows and a bed that appeared to be already slept in, faulty lock on door and one extremely dead orchid. Does not warrant any form of rating let alone 4 stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in a superior room and I have to say it's one of the best hotel rooms we have ever stayed in - with a fabulously huge and comfortable bed and really stylish decor.
The pool and courtyard area is quaint and peaceful, lovely for chilling out after a morning of wine tasting.
The location of this hotel is perfect - right in the center of the beautiful town of Stellenboch, with shops and fabulous restaurants on the doorstep.
Would have loved to have stayed longer - two nights just wasn't enough!

Room Tip: Definitely opt for a superior room as I don't think the classic rooms have been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gembleChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I checked in on Sunday the 7th of April 2013 and was not feeling well. Upon discovering this even before I got to my room a staff member volunteered to go and buy me some medicine and was given tea to keep warm. The room was beautiful and clean and had all comfort features away from home. The food was good and well prepared. The staff were always eager to serve and ensure my comfort. They even offered to transport me to the University as I was not feeling well and the weather cold. I recommend the hotel to any guest because of their high standard of service and good nature of their well trained staff. They really made my stay enjoyable and I will certainly go back if resources permit in August 2013.

Room Tip: Their delux rooms are beautiful and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buyisiwe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

we stayed for 2 nights as part of a package and were very happy with the hotel.the staff were extremely helpful,nothing was too much trouble.breakfasts were plentiful,an evening meal we had was very well presented and served.we had a third floor room overlooking the garden and pool area,which was very clean and tidy.the bathroom was very modern with an excellent shower.we felt the small balcony we had was a little too small for comfort,with barely enough room for two chairs.it also wasnt very clean due a tree close by in which birds sat.one other point is that there is no lift,presumably due to the age of the building,which wasnt realy a problem as the staff carried the bags,but its surprising in a hotel of this quality.steellenbosch is a lovely place to stay,and if possible try one of the wine tours.

Room Tip: the hotel has an old part and a much more modern part added.i can only say the third floor modern ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gordonh809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in March. Overall we enjoyed the stay. Bedroom was clean and well furnished. Breakfast was ok but a little suprised to get a zero bill at beakfast. I took this to be for tips at end of stay. Door staff and reception were good and we found the whole experience relaxing.

Room Tip: We went for a room one up from basic and we were pleased with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geditramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire. uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed our last night here on a 14 day trip of the garden route and have to say it would have been nice to have directions on their web site coming from the north, because it's not easy to find. The porters were great but receptionist was just polite and nothing more. The room was great, an old room by the pool, room 121, but housekeeping really needs to up its game, no face cloths, no drinking glasses. The room also had large section of skirting board missing, TV perched on box on trolley at end of bed, (whats wrong with wall brackets). The lunchtime bread salad consisted of lots of croutons and lettuce. The breakfast is a buffet but no pork sausages as on menu. My eggs cam nearly raw and was told that i asked for them sunny side up. Perhaps 'I need to show chef how to cook eggs. We asked if we could keep room but it was booked so they pointed us to the day shower room, which is no more than a dingy toilet and shower. All in all, it is in great location and is a lovely hotel it just needs to up its game.

Room Tip: A great position for restaurants as it is in the centre. Choose rooms carefully and don't bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank limosteers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
5.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
3.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oude Werf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oude Werf Hotel

Property: Oude Werf Hotel
Address: 30 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa (Formerly d'Ouwe Werf Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#9 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oude Werf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oude Werf (the Old Churchyard) is South Africa's oldest hotel, in the historic heart the Cape Winelands 'capital' of Stellenbosch, and within easy reach of its many rich experiences. Its award-winning design blends two century-old period inspirations with the latest contemporary luxury. 58 superb en suite accommodations are centred on a famous inn-house that flows to a shady vine-covered courtyard with gourmet restaurant and a charming lounge and bar, overlooking its central gardens and pool deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Oude Werf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing