We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and beds!”
Review of Oude Werf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oude Werf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Pulborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and beds!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. The staff could not have been more helpful, the beds were so comfortable we could have slept all day, the food in the lovely courtyard restaurant was excellent. Being in the centre of Stellenbosch, shops and restaurants are easily accessible. If we return to Stellenbosch we would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: We had a Double Superior room, overlooking the small garden and pool. I think it was worth the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    190
    74
    29
    26
See reviews for
70
350
23
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

On a tour three of us were placed to share a room here and it was so spacious we felt glamorous. We were in a room that usually rents out to families - 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom with a living room and large porch. There were so many keys on the keychain I wondered if we had a run of the hotel but it was in fact for security since each door had a key and an alarm key.

I wish we were staying here longer to fully appreciate it. In the heart of the town we were walking distance from anything and everything. My only negative review would be that it felt a bit stuffy in the common areas, I didn't feel like hanging out in the lobby to wait for anyone or to read a book - it's not meant for that. Had it been warmer I may have enjoyed the poolside though.

Very clean, very quiet, very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Spent two nights, as part of a package. The hotel is claimed to be the oldest in Stellenbosch. The rooms are a mixture of old and new adn we stayed in a modern room, which was of excellent quality. The hotel is in an excellent position in the heart of Stellenbosch with may fine restaurants and bars within a minutes walk.

We also eat in the restaurant here and found it to be good value and quality. The staff were both courteous and efficient.

There is a small unheated pool, which was satisfactory.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Booked a ground floor apartment for three nights but on arrival were informed that all apartments were up stairs with no lift. We were upgraded at no extra charge to a ground floor room in the old part of the hotel. The room was ok, large but quite dark and not really to our taste. The bathroom was large and bright and modern with a large bathtub and large walk in shower.

A problem occurred when we used the shower as the water did not drain away leaving the bathroom floor flooded. Also when we flushed the toilet it backed up and did not empty. We reported this to the reception and the maintenance man looked into this and said it was fixed, but it wasn't. They had to call outside people in the next day and we had to wait until late afternoon for it to be fixed.

Overall the staff and management did everything they could to sort the problem, but this put a damper on our stay.

This is a nice nice hotel, excellent location in Stellenbosch and we would not hesitate to recommend it but we would have preferred to be in the new, modern part of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you like traditional large rooms ask for the old part of the hotel, if you like modern ask for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IBFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is one of those hotels that looks fabulous on the website and on booking websites, but alas, it's not. It's typical of many hotels undergoing conversions. The new rooms are great, but the ones that haven't been done yet are dated, dark, dirty and dingy. The same goes for the reception area.

We argued that the room wasn't 'as sold' so were given an upgrade to a decent room, but even still, our shower blocked and flooded the room, the wifi did not reach the rooms (even though the hotel assured us it did) and generally service wasn't great, despite the staff being very friendly.

Breakfast was poor and again, the service was slow, bordering on non existent.

The only real plus was the pool area which is beautiful and the location - right in the heart of Stellenbosh.

However, all in all, one to avoid if you're after a boutique hotel with great service.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the pictures properly of 'your room' and avoid the classic suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Clean and comfortable hotel. Very pretty shaded pool area (but quite small). Very helpful reception staff. Very comfortable bed, but room was not large. Good choice at breakfast. Restaurant 1802for dinner however was a disappointment, maybe we chose the wrong dishes! Stellanbosch is a very pretty Town and we enjoy exploring it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollypin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very rarely does a hotel, professing to be 'the oldest inn in South Africa' get renovations right. Often there is a horrible discord between old and new with renovations being done unsympathetically or the meeting point of styles being all too obvious. I'm pleased to say that somehow the Oude Werf has pulled it off.

The core of the building is true to its original style - Cape Dutch, traditional, wood - while the new extension near the pool offers extremely comfortable, modern finishes - beautiful walk in shower, very comfy bed with funky headboards and reading lamps and a sliding door on to the pool.

The restaurant offers good hearty fare - again with a nice mix of modern and older styles - very relaxing sitting out under the vine in the courtyard eating good food and drinking good local wine. I had the lamb and couscous which was tasty but the most delicious bit was the homemade ice cream with honey, nuts and balsamic - yum!!! Breakfast was included and offered not only the standard buffet fare of any hotel but also items you could order off menu as part of the pricing. We had scrambled eggs and salmon on a crumpet (attempt at being healthy...errr!)

The pool is lovely too and a great area to lie about in. Staff are very attentive and I was impressed with how often the Duty Manager went around and asked if we were okay.

The best surprise of all for me was Stellenbosch itself. It has been quite a number of years since I spent any time in the place - usually bypassing it on the way to Franschoek - but I really enjoyed what I saw. A vibrant cafe/ art culture, plenty of quaint places to stop and eat - mixed in with hip and happening spots - really very impressed with how it has grown and been developed sensitively.

From that point of view the hotel could not be in a more perfect location! It is dead centre of town!

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Tip: Room 119 is on the corner ground floor and appeared to be the biggest - it is wheel chair frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateWardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,824 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
814 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
631 reviews
3.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oude Werf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oude Werf Hotel

Property: Oude Werf Hotel
Address: 30 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa (Formerly d'Ouwe Werf Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#9 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oude Werf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oude Werf (the Old Churchyard) is South Africa's oldest hotel, in the historic heart the Cape Winelands 'capital' of Stellenbosch, and within easy reach of its many rich experiences. Its award-winning design blends two century-old period inspirations with the latest contemporary luxury. 58 superb en suite accommodations are centred on a famous inn-house that flows to a shady vine-covered courtyard with gourmet restaurant and a charming lounge and bar, overlooking its central gardens and pool deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oude Werf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing