We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oude Werf Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Eendracht Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
$102
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spier Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$116
$113
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
$108
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa(Stellenbosch)
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devon Valley Hotel(Stellenbosch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
742 results
Traveler rating
369
230
79
34
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
230
79
34
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoldest hotelvalet parking islovely hotelchurch streetcentral hotelmodern roomscentre of towndeluxe roomhuge bedsouth africalocation is excellentbars and restaurantsbeautiful townthe vinestayed for nightscentral stellenboschwithin easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
496 - 501 of 742 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Clean and comfortable hotel. Very pretty shaded pool area (but quite small). Very helpful reception staff. Very comfortable bed, but room was not large. Good choice at breakfast. Restaurant 1802for dinner however was a disappointment, maybe we chose the wrong dishes! Stellanbosch is a very pretty Town and we enjoy exploring it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pollypin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very rarely does a hotel, professing to be 'the oldest inn in South Africa' get renovations right. Often there is a horrible discord between old and new with renovations being done unsympathetically or the meeting point of styles being all too obvious. I'm pleased to say that somehow the Oude Werf has pulled it off.

The core of the building is true to its original style - Cape Dutch, traditional, wood - while the new extension near the pool offers extremely comfortable, modern finishes - beautiful walk in shower, very comfy bed with funky headboards and reading lamps and a sliding door on to the pool.

The restaurant offers good hearty fare - again with a nice mix of modern and older styles - very relaxing sitting out under the vine in the courtyard eating good food and drinking good local wine. I had the lamb and couscous which was tasty but the most delicious bit was the homemade ice cream with honey, nuts and balsamic - yum!!! Breakfast was included and offered not only the standard buffet fare of any hotel but also items you could order off menu as part of the pricing. We had scrambled eggs and salmon on a crumpet (attempt at being healthy...errr!)

The pool is lovely too and a great area to lie about in. Staff are very attentive and I was impressed with how often the Duty Manager went around and asked if we were okay.

The best surprise of all for me was Stellenbosch itself. It has been quite a number of years since I spent any time in the place - usually bypassing it on the way to Franschoek - but I really enjoyed what I saw. A vibrant cafe/ art culture, plenty of quaint places to stop and eat - mixed in with hip and happening spots - really very impressed with how it has grown and been developed sensitively.

From that point of view the hotel could not be in a more perfect location! It is dead centre of town!

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Tip: Room 119 is on the corner ground floor and appeared to be the biggest - it is wheel chair friendly too. It can be made up as a King or Twin.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateWardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This has to be one of most favourite places to stay, this was not our first stay, it was wonderful to be back. The renovations were finished, and wonderful, well worth the wait, from the changes to the court yard to the entrance, although I do prefer the charm of the tradional aspects of the hotel. The newly renovated rooms are a little too modern, beautiful, but not in keeping with the "oldest hotel" mantra. The Oude Werf has the best staff, they are very warm and friendly, however they seemed a little shortstaffed during this stay, we were turned away when we wanted some refreshments, even though there were many available tables. The restuaurant is very quaint, although the changes to the breakfast setup area is a little disjointed, and I do miss the stewed fruit. I can't wait for my next visit even though this was not my most favourite stay.

Room Tip: The Oakroom apartments are fantastic, little balcony, so stunning!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Choice of room has to be asked, its not offered. Pool area is quiet for those with kids n wud like splash some water around. Ample car parking and welcome sweet wine option is a good change to the regular juices offered at most other hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prince71272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed just for a few days, last december. It was our best hotel-experience of the 2 weeks we travelled in the Western Cape.
The mix of history with the modern rooms was great. We loved the swimmingpool area. It was quiet en beautiful.
Breakfast was served outside, very cosy and they had everything you could wish for.
The location was perfect. Staff very friendly.
The only thing i would change is the internet acces. This was only possible at the reception.

Room Tip: If you like modern. Ask for a room in the new part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bea137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews