We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Bliss”
Review of Oude Werf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oude Werf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2012

From the moment we arrived, we were VERY well taken care of as we entered the hotel. We were offered the Delux Suite (which is money well spent and value for money) Our room was magnificent (I LOVED the bathtub) and there was nothing more special than stepping out every day and being greeted by name by everybody. We felt at home – and would actually like to consider De Oude Werf as our Home-Away-From-Home – that is if they will have us again ;)

Wonderful Location ;)

We cannot wait to see them all again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nompikazi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 699 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

Very nice hotel, very nice rooms, friendly staff, good food and a very honest price
In the middle of the center you can't find a better location. Also near to the wine and the cava tastings.Nice restaurants in the neigbourhoud. If you are going to eat in Moyo please take something against bug bites.

Room Tip: A room near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernadette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I last visited the hotel in May of this year and stayed in a Superior rooms which was georgous. This time around I opted for a Deluxe room which I think used to be called Governor room? Well worth the extra cost, if only to experience the bathrooms. Main advantage of this hotel is the location. You are right in the centre of Stellenbosch, so once your car as been parked you can simply walk every where. The staff were very friendly and the hotel's manager sprung up to say hello at checkin. Would recommend the cheesecake which was absolutely divine. Took the "Hopper Bus" to visit some local wine farms and had a great day out.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel a couple of times during 2012. If you manage to stay in one of the renovated rooms, awesome! Decor superb. The older rooms, well it is really old and tired. No lifts. Breakfast spread very good. Staff friendly. Location good. Close to a number of good wine farms.

Room Tip: Book renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonelleJ1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Wonderful staff but the hotel is very tired. It is a pity as this could be a really nice hotel.
Pros: The welcome was warm, friendly and without fuss. The room was large and the bed very comfortable. We had to leave early (5.00am) and were provided a substantial boxed breakfast. The restaurant ambience was again
very laid back, efficient and friendly both when we had afternoon coffee and dinner. We felt as though the meals were good value for money. WiFi is available (1st 24hrs free) but did not work in the rooms - we had to use it in the lobby.
Cons: The hot water was not functioning, there was mould in the shower, there was a used plate outside our room when we arrived and still there when we left the next morning.
Most probably would not stay again unless they lifted their game

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is in a busy street but this presented no problems as the car was valet parked. Checking in was efficiently carried out by the very pleasant Guest Manager John (?). We wre delighted with our room which was spacious and had plenty of storage space, stting area and desk. Free wifi access was automatically provided on check in. The huge bathroom was amazing with retro bath, twin washbasins, a large shower big fluffy towels and bathrobes. The large fridge was there for our own drinks and there was plenty of ice.
The hotel has an inner courtyard which forms part of the restaurant. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was good but not outstanding. Next morning we were greeted by name by Guest Manager who showed us to our table. Breakfast was good; a buffet for cereals, fruit, cold meat, cheese different breads etc and plenty of choice on the cooked menu.
We had a most pleasant stay in a hotel with lots of old world charm with modern ammenities.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I spent three weeks in the Western Cape. This was the only hotel of the seven that we would definitely not return to.

We found it to be poorly maintained and poorly cleaned. Our bathroom had a fair bit of black mold in the corners.

Perhaps the modern wing has cheerful rooms but we stayed in the older section and found the room to be dark and dreary, despite sunny weather outside.

Little annoyances: WiFi extremely slow. You need to have a staff member take you to your car through locked gates if you wanted to access it.

From the look of the pool water, I wouldn't want to go in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,065 reviews
3.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
949 reviews
0.1 mi away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Batavia Boutique Hotel
#2 of 17 in Stellenbosch
354 reviews
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oude Werf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oude Werf Hotel

Address: 30 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa (Formerly d'Ouwe Werf Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#9 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $125 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oude Werf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oude Werf (the Old Churchyard) is South Africa's oldest hotel, in the historic heart the Cape Winelands 'capital' of Stellenbosch, and within easy reach of its many rich experiences. Its award-winning design blends two century-old period inspirations with the latest contemporary luxury. 58 superb en suite accommodations are centred on a famous inn-house that flows to a shady vine-covered courtyard with gourmet restaurant and a charming lounge and bar, overlooking its central gardens and pool deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oude Werf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing