We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 star staff in 4 star hotel - we loved it”
Review of Oude Werf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Oude Werf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“6 star staff in 4 star hotel - we loved it”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left - 5 days later, there was not one single complaint we could have made against the fantastic staff at this great 'downtown' hotel. There are some issues with the building but we had a fantastic stay and would not hesitate to recommend it. We had booked an apartment style room and were a little bit surprised that it was 'motel' style, in that we had to walk outdoors to get to the lift/stairs to our room. But when we got there, it was magnificent. We were in room 405. It was huge, dining table which sat 10, two enormous bedrooms and two balconies, with seating for 12 people on one and for 4 on the other. Great kitchen and two big big bathrooms. First the few minor problems, the fittings in the bathroom were broken and need a bit of looking at, as was one of the double sinks in the bathroom which was cracked. The restaurant next door has an extractor fan duct and and a chimney which were below our apartment and fed their dirty air up to us. Particularly bad at lunchtime when they were cooking and we were relaxing. Finally the yard....or the Werf....in the title needs a bit of a clean-up. It is a great outdoor area in the middle of the hotel where you can relax and eat, but it is a bit scrappy and could do with some replacement furniture and a coat of paint. Enough complaining........now the good bits, breakfasts were fantastic, local produce available with an extensive selection on a cosmopolitan menu full of international favourites. Great coffee quickly refilled by the friendly and efficient staff. Dinner was a similarly great experience, super food, well presented and reasonably priced. Worthy of special mention are Gregory the duty manager who was constantly looking for ways to help and even more so was John from customer services who was brilliant throughout our stay getting weather forecasts recommending places to go and making dinner reservations. He was constantly helpful and friendly in a way which I have never experienced before, he was brilliant. The location of the hotel is excellent with an incredible variety of restaurants all in very easy and safe walking distance. Parking was safe and secure in their own underground car-park. The pool area is well manicured as are all the new rooms around it which looked fantastic. We did not see any of the old rooms so cannot comment.

Room Tip: The apartment was fantastic and very reasonably priced. New rooms round the pool look very posh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polychrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    187
    74
    29
    26
See reviews for
69
347
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Very nice hotel. Situated in the middle of Stellenbosch. Our room was excellent. Big, modern, clean and with a nice fire place. Outside our room was a nice pool area. Breakfast was ok, bit crowded and no scrambled egg etc. We can really recommend the hotel!

Room Tip: Try to get room no 121.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
432 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were initially assigned to a dark and gloomy room with an undersized bed and our request for a more suitable room resulted in our getting a dark and gloomy room with a large bed. At least we had a good night’s sleep! Apparently there is a new wing with better rooms but ours was in the old wing and the lack of light and old, dark, heavy furniture and furnishings held no appeal for us and made us feel depressed.

A quick shower the next morning and hopes of a good breakfast were soon dashed when the very ordinary cold buffet offerings were inspected. Hot food was ordered from the menu – or at least it should have been hot! It wasn’t!

On the plus side however, the hotel is centrally and conveniently located.

All in all, it was probably the least appealing hotel we stayed at in our three weeks in South Africa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We've stayed at the Oude Werf Hotel 4 times – we love it that much (even through all their renovations)! Friendly staff, brilliant breakfasts, beautiful décor – all in the midst of vibey Stellenbosch with it's sidewalk cafe's, restaurants, shops and galleries. An elegant, understated, historical hotel with a modern twist. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonaHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel earlier this month It was the worst experience we encountered during our holiday in South Africa,Renovations ongoing and Hotel should not be opened for business at this time.Breakfast was terrible and served by surly staff.Should be avoided.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived at Oude Werf at the end of two-and-a-half weeks in South Africa, during which we had been treated fantastically well in a series of high quality hotels. The staff here topped them all. On arrival, we were practically mobbed by staff members helping us with luggage and with settling in. Throughout, they couldn’t do enough for us. Of particular note, and mentioned by other reviewers, was the duty manager Gregory, who took on the task of doing our online check-in, to which he devoted all of his remaining time before concluding his shift, going to the trouble of contacting the airline to ensure that the process went smoothly. It would be hard to improve on this level of service – thanks Gregory! His colleague Wanda (correct spelling?) was every bit as friendly and helpful on our arrival. The hotel itself is beautifully historic (make sure you have a look at the archaeological site under the restaurant – South Africa’s first church), while at the same time modern, with luxurious rooms with first rate facilities, including the best wifi access of anywhere we’d been in SA. One tip for arriving in Stellenbosch in good weather: try coming through the Franschhoek Pass. Not one for the faint-hearted, but you get a spectacular view over the winelands from the top of the pass.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Oude Werf Hotel in Stellenbosch in July which was made extra special by the marvellous service the duty manager Gregory and his team offered us on our trip.He organised so many wonderful trips and really made us feel very welcome and indeed this was an absolute fantastic end to our holiday in South Africa.His in depth knowlege of the area as well as his client relations was excellent and he made us feel so comfortable and special within the hotel as well as with the trips we embarked on.Every little detail was thought of and it did indeed make us want to return to your hotel and Stellenbosch.We had a lovely Governers room in the main buliding which was very luxurious and had an enourmous bathroom.Gregory managed his team very well and had an excellent relationship with staff and guests and this helped to make our stay so wonderful.His attention to detail and excellent customer service were second to none and the staff were very warm and friendly making our stay a real pleasure.This is an excellent choice located in Central Stellenbosch in a lovely historic building within easy reach of all the historical sites and of course excellent vineyards.The chauffer driven wine tasting trips organised by Gregory are excellent and really good value enabling you to taste fantastic wine without the worry of driving.I would definitely reccomend this hotel ,the staff and the wonderful Gregory to anyone thinking of visiting and staying in Stellenbosch.

Room Tip: Choose one of the Governers rooms with enourmous very comfortable beds and large luxury bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COLINSCOTTISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,795 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oude Werf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oude Werf Hotel

Property: Oude Werf Hotel
Address: 30 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa (Formerly d'Ouwe Werf Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#9 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oude Werf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oude Werf (the Old Churchyard) is South Africa's oldest hotel, in the historic heart the Cape Winelands 'capital' of Stellenbosch, and within easy reach of its many rich experiences. Its award-winning design blends two century-old period inspirations with the latest contemporary luxury. 58 superb en suite accommodations are centred on a famous inn-house that flows to a shady vine-covered courtyard with gourmet restaurant and a charming lounge and bar, overlooking its central gardens and pool deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Oude Werf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing