We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oude Werf a Stellenbosch Gem”
Review of Oude Werf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oude Werf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Oude Werf Hotel in Stellenbosch in July which was made extra special by the marvellous service the duty manager Gregory and his team offered us on our trip.He organised so many wonderful trips and really made us feel very welcome and indeed this was an absolute fantastic end to our holiday in South Africa.His in depth knowlege of the area as well as his client relations was excellent and he made us feel so comfortable and special within the hotel as well as with the trips we embarked on.Every little detail was thought of and it did indeed make us want to return to your hotel and Stellenbosch.We had a lovely Governers room in the main buliding which was very luxurious and had an enourmous bathroom.Gregory managed his team very well and had an excellent relationship with staff and guests and this helped to make our stay so wonderful.His attention to detail and excellent customer service were second to none and the staff were very warm and friendly making our stay a real pleasure.This is an excellent choice located in Central Stellenbosch in a lovely historic building within easy reach of all the historical sites and of course excellent vineyards.The chauffer driven wine tasting trips organised by Gregory are excellent and really good value enabling you to taste fantastic wine without the worry of driving.I would definitely reccomend this hotel ,the staff and the wonderful Gregory to anyone thinking of visiting and staying in Stellenbosch.

Room Tip: Choose one of the Governers rooms with enourmous very comfortable beds and large luxury bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COLINSCOTTISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 696 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

I booked a room at the Oude Werf for a conference in Stellenbosch, only to be told when I arrived after an overnight flight that the hotel had overbooked and I was being moved to a hotel out of town for part of the week. I received no notice of the change in advance, and the duty manager who informed me of the problem misled me about how far away the substitute hotel was (it was substantially farther than he claimed). The Oude Werf did provide transportation between the hotel and the centre of town, but it was still extremely inconvenient.

Once I was finally given a room at the Oude Werf I very much enjoyed the hotel, but I was not at all happy with the booking system. I would recommend anyone thinking of staying here to ensure they get confirmation in writing, near the time of their stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Lovely historic hotel. Refurbishing still ongoing, but as we only spent one night this was not a big deal. We got upgraded to the newly done rooms which was very nice. Had dinner in the hotel which was nice, service was excellent, had good support arranging a tour at short term.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank AlvinZug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We really enjoyed our weekend at this hotel.
Booked the hotel through Kulula Holdays Packages and opted for the Superior Room.
Seems that the superior rooms are in the new wing and not part of the old main building.
Room very contemporary. Pity that the bed not truly king or queen as requested but 2 singles moved together to create the idea of a double bed - with the Grand Canyon between the two beds.
We read and was worried about all comments regarding renovations. No sign of the renovations, maybe because we were there during the weekend of 16th June - a public holiday.

Very helpful staff. Nice breakfast. Safe off-street parking for your rental vehichle - valet parked.
Hotel right in the middle of a lot of restauarants within easy walking distance.
I would recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the Superior Rooms, they are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCHSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

A quaint hotel, very central amongst nice coffee shops and restaurants. Very friendly staff. They are still busy with the renovations which was slightly irritating but to be fair, it's things that needed to be done and one could see that the workers tried to be as accommodating as much as possible. It seems as if the renovations are almost done and I think it will be beautiful once finished. We stayed in a superior room. Loved the decor although it was slightly too small for my liking. Best breakfast we had the during our 6-day holiday and also had a lovely lunch at the on-sight restaurant.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 1st room, on the ground level. Next time I will book ground level, but overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inge d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Great location in the heart of this cozy but vibrant university old town. Personnell went the extra mile to accommodate the needs of a business traveller (like opening a delicious breakfast at 5 AM!). Rooms are very contemporary and comfortable within an old but renovated building. Stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoxM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Hi Elaine , despite the renovations ongoing around us we had a fantastic time , it was my 70 th Birthday and my two daughters arranged a trip to the Cape for my wife and myself . The arrival at the hotel was first class , the Reception desk handled all our queries with ease and competance and we were made extremely welcome .
Our room was great the beds and food were excellent and we had a fantastic time , Stellenbosch is a wonderful place and the Hotel has a great balance of preserving the history of the area , we would recommend this Hotel to anybody visiting Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidg131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,062 reviews
3.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Batavia Boutique Hotel
#2 of 17 in Stellenbosch
351 reviews
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oude Werf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oude Werf Hotel

Address: 30 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa (Formerly d'Ouwe Werf Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#9 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $123 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oude Werf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oude Werf (the Old Churchyard) is South Africa's oldest hotel, in the historic heart the Cape Winelands 'capital' of Stellenbosch, and within easy reach of its many rich experiences. Its award-winning design blends two century-old period inspirations with the latest contemporary luxury. 58 superb en suite accommodations are centred on a famous inn-house that flows to a shady vine-covered courtyard with gourmet restaurant and a charming lounge and bar, overlooking its central gardens and pool deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oude Werf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing