We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed October 7, 2006

We stayed here during our honeymoon in Sept 06 and were upgraded to a suite which was nice. The management and staff were very attentive and friendly and the room was beautiful with a vernadah overlooking the Avenue.

The location was fantastic, just off Dorp Street, in a quiet tree-lined avenue, within easy walking distance of all the restaurants and shops.

Breakfast was good and unhurried in a laid back colonial way. We would return.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yugesiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    171
    56
    22
    8
See reviews for
44
388
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2006

The River Manor & Spa is placed in two colonial buildings, both of which have National monument status and it is this athmosphere that you feel right away. The hotel is owner run, and its owner did not fail to greet every guest personally and ask how his or her stay was. Just one of the many fillips and details paid so much attention to.

The reviewers before have discribed this hotel so accurately, so that I only wanted to write about a few things they haven't mentioned.

The hotel has an authentic colonial athmosphere and, as said before, a lot of attention is put on details - for examle every room has an old suitcase as the mascot. Our room was excellent and had a rather large veranda attached to it, but was a bit small. I guess that what you get if you put your emphasis on the authencity of a place. We loved the gardens, the pools and its spa. The treatments we received there were fabulous. We also enjoyed the breakfasts in the winter garden.

The staff was great, friendly and knowledgable.

If you are looking for a great, charming little colonial B&B at a superb location in Stellenbosch with very nice gardens and an excellent spa at a reasonable price look no further - stay in the River Manor.

  • Liked — location, service, charm, staff
  • Disliked — size of our room
  • Tips/Secrets — Check out frommers.com for best rooms
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Dudel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veenendaal, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2006

A member from Coventry already wrote about River Manor and we agree with everything they wrote.
It was our last stay in the Western Cape before going home.
Stellenbosch is a great place for some last minute souvenir shopping, dining in The Wiijnhuis and be sure to visit Oom Samie se Winkel. After that it is only a short drive to the airport in Cape Town.
The only thing that made us feel sad was seeing the Cape Flats before leaving South Africa..

Els
The Netherlands

  • Liked — Every little detail was thought about
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Tips/Secrets — Staff can tell you all you want/need to know and they are glad to do so. For background information talk to Zolani or whoever helps out with luggage and tends the garden.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hendrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2006

River Manor hotel was the 3rd Hotel that we stayed at on our 2.5 week honeymoon.
We were greated by very friendly and helpful staff and were shown to our upgraded Honeymoon suite which was gorgeous, massive, and very comfortable.

The staff were very friendly and were able to recommend what vineyards we should visit and the nice restaurants.

The hotel itself is located about a 5 minute walk from the centre but it was never an issue as the walk was lovely and it was safe to walk around in the evening. The hotel was lovely for relaxing has a lovely character and is just what we needed after our safari and driving round Cape Point etc. There is a lovely relaxing balcony to have a drink of the lovely wine & cheese we purchased in the town, we did make use of the spa facilities that were reasonably priced and was just what we needed before we headed on to Hermanus & Cape Town.

We would recommend hiring a car (there is parking at the River Manor) and nominate a driver to travel round the vineyards as they are spread out but well worth the visit. We did not use the organised wine tours but instead spoke to other guests and locals about what recommended vineyards to visit....we would recommend Moreson!! (for excellent lunch and tasting) Tokara!! & Rustenburg! to name a few of many we visited.It is not far to get to Franschhoek if you want to go that little bit further. Hope you find this helpful.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ronan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2006

The hotel itself was nice and quite romantic, although the atmosphere was a little stuffy and a lot of the other guests seemed to be older.

The two pools in the grounds are very small, and the gardens do seem to get a bit crowded with other guests.

Although it is in Stellenbosch, you would need to walk for about 5/10 minutes to get to most of the restaurants.

Stellenbosch itself is a small town, although it wasn't very lively during the weekend we were there. Whilst the buildings and setting are nice, Stellenbosch itself doesn't have a huge amount to do, other than travelling out to visit vineyards.

The staff were fairly helpful.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vicky-Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#7 of 112 in Stellenbosch
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Batavia Boutique Hotel
#11 of 112 in Stellenbosch
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 6 The Avenue, Stellenbosch 7602, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Manor Boutique Hotel and Spa is located in the very heart of historic Stellenbosch. Our unbeatable location is within easy walking distance from everything that the historic oak-lined town has to offer. Housed in two adjacent manor houses and set in a landscaped garden on the banks of the Eerste River, we offer discerning travellers an unforgettable experience in a gloriously romantic environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Manor Boutique Hotel And Spa
River Manor Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing