We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned service and style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #22 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old fashioned service and style”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed 5 nights and from the moment we arrived the staff and Justin made the second stop on our tour a absolute delight our room at the top of the house was huge with a large bathroom and breakfast was poolside every morning with plenty of staff and Justin always around helping to make visit.Restarants and wine tasting recommendations were first class Will defiantly return to finish the other 400 wine estates we missed and stay at river manor.
Rick and Ness

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    170
    56
    22
    8
See reviews for
43
384
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was the priciest hotel we stayed in during our 2 weeks in South Africa, although we did get a buy one night get one free when we booked with Trail Finders.

Pros
Excellent service - the staff have been trained to a high standard. We arrived before the official check in time and was given access to our room shortly afterwards
Lovely room with large comfortable bed and beautifully decorated
2 outdoor pools
Beautiful garden area where you can eat your breakfast
Good location - lovely shops and restaurants about a 5 or 10 minutes stroll away

Cons
None from us

I would just like to say a special thanks to Justin and his team for helping me when I left a much loved and expensive dress behind when we checked out. Justin arranged for this to be couriered to our next location and it arrived promptly. THANK YOU SO MUCH JUSTIN & THE RIVER MANOR TEAM

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w0rldtraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our 3rd trip to SA and each time we have booked a 1st night stop to acclimatise - on both previous occasions we have stayed at the Spier Resort. The contrast could not have been any more obvious:-

1st impressions - the reception staff were really cheerful, positive and most importantly helpful recommending a selection of restaurants for an evening meal including the wonderful Oppi Dorp (see separate review). Oh yes, and the room was available without the customary 2 hour wait.

The room was spacious and really comfortable, the balcony with the seating area was a bonus. At breakfast Justin the GM was very visible dispensing good advice to holiday makers.

Stellenbosch is a lovely place and has a great campus town feel about it.

Will we come back to SA for a 4th trip - certainly. Will we stay at River Manor again - you bet!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidandKatie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in 6 other hotels on our Garden Route holiday, this was the most expensive, poorest value and fell well short of its billing. Location is great but the property is is need of some serious TLC. The breakfast was adequate but well below the standard we experienced in less expensive accommodation, and when you are aware there is an extra charge for cappuccino at breakfast, the word pennypinching comes to mind. It may be that all accommodation in Stellenbosch is more expensive that other parts of SA, but in the long term it needs to be justified with quality and service to match the price otherwise people will stay elsewhere. Justin was very helpful with things to do, but so were the staff in the hotels we stayed in. The River Manor will definitely not be on our itinery when we return to SA.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roy2248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermanor, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at River Manor. We actually value the constructive criticism more than the wonderful glowing reviews which always helps us to improve our level of service. If you would be so kind as to send us an email with some detail as to why you find our property in desperate need of some "TLC", we would be most grateful.

We are sorry that you did not see the breakfast menu available in the conservatory which clearly states that all special coffees other than our fresh filter coffee,is an additional charge.

Kind regards,

Justin Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe aux Canonniers
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Very well located, we appreciate the rooms around the pools. This old fashioned place offers charming bedrooms, just enough space for a short stay. Breakfast in the garden is great. We enjoyed the bar service until 11pm. The management is devoted to customers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellefroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermanor, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your brief but honest review of your experience at River Manor.

Kind regards,

Justin Mitchell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is my second time in beautiful South Africa and the only hotel I wanted to stay again at was this one. The atmosphere is relaxing and the staff are helpful but not intrusive, at breakfast the management will wander through the tables making sure all is ok with your stay and making helpful suggestions as to places to visit, also booking transport or tables at one of the fantastic restaurants in the area for that evening’s meal. The rooms are spacious and clean and the two pools are not heated but clean and large enough for a quick swim so not to feel to guilty about indulging in the fabulous food. When I think of South Africa my mind always drifts back to River Manor. Thank you for my lovely memories.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigcthebogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights of our honeymoon. Nice boutique hotel. Breakfast was satisfactory. One down side bed very soft not good for people with back problems. Staff very friendly and helpful.lovely garden with two swimming pools.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missfuscia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.4 mi away
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
#10 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#9 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Batavia Boutique Hotel
#12 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 6 The Avenue, Stellenbosch 7602, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Manor is nestled in the heart of Stellenboch and the Western Cape Winelands. Set across from the Eerste River, in a peaceful avenue of Oak trees, just a short stroll from the village centre, with its museums, street cafés, and galleries, allowing guests to delight in a truly unique Stellenbosch experience.Elegantly furnished in a Contemporary Colonial Style, with personal service and attention to detail - the, wrap-around verandas, two swimming pools, a Studio Spa and secluded gardens, exude an atmosphere of luxury and privacy allowing for relaxation and comfort. A light and seasonal menu is offered at “Taste” enjoyed in the shade of the garden or in the Conservatory, complimented by a charming “Garden Bar”.Stylish rooms combine the conveniences of home with superior comforts, fruit details, bathrobes, Port and Sherry trays and evening turndowns, an experience of a bygone era. Not forgetting necessary modern conveniences of minibars, in room safes, tea and coffee trays, Wifi, overhead ceiling fans and air-conditioning.After leisurely poolside breakfasts, guests may enjoy guided Wine Tours departing daily from River Manor, or take a self drive through the majestic countryside to nearby golf courses, Franschhoek, Cape Town or Hermanus - to return to the sunny terrace to view a beautiful African sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Manor Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch
River Manor Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing