We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality Guest House masquerading as a Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
River Manor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #20 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We've just returned from a touring holiday of South Africa and this was without doubt the worst hotel we stayed in. I wouldn't describe it as a hotel more a poor quality guest house - dark and dingy with very tired decor.
Our room was tiny with large dark furniture and heavy shutters on the window - it felt like the " dark hole of Calcutta." There was nowhere for me to sit and do my hair and makeup.
There were two tiny pools in the garden one of which I would only describe as disgusting - cloudy and full of debris.
Apparently the hotel was formerly student accommodation which is what it reminded me of.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermanor, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay at River Manor, albeit that you clearly did not enjoy your experience. Whilst we always appreciate any constructive feedback to assist us in improving our level of service, it is quite clear after reading your rather scathing and derogatory comments, that this was a pure mismatch in terms of what you were expecting and what River Manor actually offers. We do not accept any single comment of yours to be considered as constructive feedback. Our Trip Advisor review history refers!

We hope that this final leg of your journey did not detract from your holiday in South Africa.

Sincerely,

Justin Mitchell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
There are newer reviews for River Manor Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 537 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel needs a revamp ASAP . They also need to update their WI FI . These days the Internet connections are as necessary as running water . Not here! The reception staff are quite surly and this was not the case in the last 3 hotels along the Garden Route . All in all an ok base but not the warm friendly experience I have come to expect in S A .

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank carolcollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermanor, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay at River Manor. We are surprised to read your comments however, seeing that we did in fact provide you with a complimentary wi-fi code, after hearing of your initial dissatisfaction with our existing wi-fi set up. We also find it surprising to learn of your comments about our staff being unfriendly, especially when you thanked us most sincerely upon departure for turning what could have been a disappointing experience into a pleasant one!

Lastly, we find it most surprising to read that we need a revamp. We do not accept this comment, having recently taken on a revamp of River Manor, prior to our season starting. Again, one must refer to our recent reviews. Upon departure, you thanked us for a nice room with a comfortable bed? It's all a little confusing.

Sincerely,

Justin Mitchell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We loved this hotel.Its a very quiet hotel with a great location.We spent 2 nights at the Manor in January 2013 and had a lovely time.The rooms are very nice and were serviced each day.We were on a bed and breakfast basis and had no fault with with anything.
A great hotel and the staff could not do enough for us.

Room Tip: We got a room with a balcony which was lovely.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miketheredfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Well we arrived in Stellenbosch and headed to the information centre. We had great service in trying to find a place to stay. Many places were booked up but they recommended this great little gem. We originally booked for one night and ended up staying 4 nights. We arrived and were greeted with warm smiles and great hospitality. They had 2 rooms left and showed us both, allowing us to choose. We chose the room the back of #8 overlooking the pool. don't let the steep stairs deter you. The room is very large and has vaulted ceilings and you don't have to worry about anyone above or below you.
The property is on a fairly busy road but once through the front gates you are transported to a quiet oasis with tranquil gardens and cots around a pool. The staff provide excellent service and want to make your stay in Stellenbosch truly memorial. Justin - the manager, is always eager to help in providing information on the area, not to mention the areas cafes and restaurants. Oppi Dorp was a great place to eat and extremely affordable according to North American standards.
The breakfast is served in the gardens and they don't miss a thing. The coffee is fantastic and the service is excellent.
It is the little touches that makes this place stand out for us. Stellenbosch is a great college town that is surrounded by fantastic wine country. You could stay 2 months here and not visit all the wineries. Justin and his team will make you feel like a member of the family. A first class boutique hotel!

Room Tip: Room 20 is a great room. Don't let the steep stairs deter you.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellingmedics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermanor, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of River Manor! This kind of feedback goes a long way in motivating the staff and to keep on striving toward perfection!

Kind regards,

Justin Mitchell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

River Manor fits the Stellenbosch atmosphere perfectly. Lovely grounds and very attentive staff make it a pleasure to stay here. Nothing was too much trouble, particularly recommending local restaurants.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms best. Avoid the one which is described by visitors we met as 'windowless'.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just returned from River Manor having stayed there for 11 nights. We have never had as much help and advice on local amenities as that we received from Justin and his staff. All recommendations were first-class and we visited and ate in some lovely places. Every single member of staff we met, be it a cleaner or a manager, were charming, chatty and helpful and made us feel very welcome. Lebo, the pool waitress, is a gem. Thanks to the staff for our lovely holiday and we would recommend this charming, small hotel to anyone visiting the winelands for a long or short stay.

Room Tip: We had Room 7 which opens out onto the pool area and we loved it.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank har0ldandsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Describing this as a Boutique Hotel gave me the impression of something special however this was not the case, however we did receive a warm welcome and drink on arrival from Justin & staff. Our room was very tired. One very large wardrobe with varnish peeling off, black & patchy inside, one big drawer at the bottom. If you opened the wardrobe the door hit the tlelvison cabinet which hid a small portable television which only had a few channels. The first time we used the shower it completely flooded the bathroom floor. This was rectified. The bed was very hard but a duvet on top of the mattress helped a little. There are two swimming pools. One had very cloudy water the other quite clear. However there was no hand rail to use to get in the pool so did not even try to go in as it was too precarious. Breakfast was served on cold plates, Justin informed me they only heat the plates in winter but would look into it. This I found quite extraordinary. The actual position of the Hotel was very convenient to the town. It only took around 10 minutes to town centre. Would I stay there again - no unless it was completely updated. We stayed there 3 nights.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot5346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermanor, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and constructive feedback. We would however like to clarify a few points:

River Manor is well know for its charming Colonial style. Most of our rooms are decorated with antique furniture. The wardrobe in your room is an antique. We will look into the condition of the varnish on this piece.

We really do appreciate guests reporting any dissatisfaction to us during your stay, so that Management can rectify this immediately, so as to ensure a wonderful experience. A perfect example was the problem that you experienced with your blocked shower. It was reported immediately and quickly rectified. You did mention that your first mornings hot breakfast was cold, due to the fact that it was served on a cold plate. The following morning, you complimented us on the fact that you enjoyed a lovely warm breakfast due to the fact that kitchen staff made sure that your hot breakfast was served on a hot plate.

We could also have solved the problem with your television channels, if you had reported the matter to Management. Sometimes our channels do get scrambled by guests attempting to re tune the TV. We have 10 channels, including satellite international TV channels.

With all of this said, we do appreciate constructive feedback which assists us in improving our level of service, to you, our most valued guests.

We sincerely hope that we will be able to change your perception of this charming colonial property one day!

Kind regards,

Justin Mitchell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Batavia Boutique Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
623 reviews
0.4 mi away
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
#12 of 17 in Stellenbosch
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Manor Boutique Hotel

Address: 6 The Avenue, Stellenbosch 7602, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $143 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Manor Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Manor Boutique Hotel and Spa is located in the very heart of historic Stellenbosch. Our unbeatable location is within easy walking distance from everything that the historic oak-lined town has to offer. Housed in two adjacent manor houses and set in a landscaped garden on the banks of the Eerste River, we offer discerning travellers an unforgettable experience in a gloriously romantic environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your River Manor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Manor Boutique Hotel And Spa
River Manor Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing