We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River Manor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #23 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galway
1 review
“River Manor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

My sister and I stayed in the River Manor in Stellenbosch for 2 nights. It was a lovely place to stay and there was a great selection of food for breakfast. Justin was great when we arrived going through various places to visit and to eat also which was a great help for starting off. He also organised our wine tour which we were picked up and brought back to our hotel again. There is also a lovely spa and garden area. Rooms were big and very comfortable and most importantly spotless clean. We will definately return here again our our next trip as it was one of the best places we stayed while on our trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalwayPurple09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    169
    56
    22
    8
See reviews for
41
383
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was our third visit to River Manor- the previous one almost 10 years ago. While Johan and Leigh -the owners-are not as hands-on involved in running the place they have along with the expansion of the facility trained an excellent crew which provide the same high level of personal attention and service. And their restaurant recommendations are as ever spot on!
We look forward to our 4th visit!

Room Tip: Each room is very individual in terms of layout and furnishing. Thats part of the charm of the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danie007
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Travel is part of my life. I have been to 52 countries in the world, mainly for business. My wife and I recently stayed at River Manor Boutique Hotel. What a pleasant experience! It is well situated and walking distance to restaurants and shops. The room was spacious and delicately decorated. The gardens are beautiful and well kept. The staff and management were very friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfast was a delightful feast. This hotel is definitely value for money.

From now on this will be the hotel that we will return to every time we go to Stellenbosch!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermanor, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of River Manor! We are so happy to hear that we have won over another returning guest and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Justin Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed in this lovely hotel during one of the coldest, wettest weeks Stellenbosch has had for years. The hotel was a great place to come back to in the evenings before going out. There were always wood fires burning in the 2 sitting room areas - the one in the main house was really homely - small and cosy with leather sofas and armchairs and coffee table books . I have never sat in a hotel sitting area as they are often odd soulless places but we sat and relaxed in this one most nights before going out to eat (try Cognito restaurant which is only minutes from the hotel for great food and atmosphere). The service was great and the rooms a good size.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HilaryGLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We recently had a 3 night stay at River Manor Hotel. What a truly awesome experience. The setting and gardens are beautiful. The rooms were so very very comfortable. We loved the lounges where there was always a warm fire lit for the chilly evenings. The staff were so helpful in recommending and booking places to go and eat. The staff were also exceptional in accommodating all our requests. We cannot wait to return!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear Lou,

Thank you very much for your review of River Manor! We too can't think of a better way to spend a few chilly Winter nights in wine farm country, with a few glasses of red wine & a log fire! So glad that you enjoyed your visit and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Justin Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton on thames
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at River Manor for two nights on our honeymoon and had a great time in Stellenbosch. The hotel is ideally located in walking distance to the main streets which were lovely to stroll around. The staff were very friendly and helpful and their suggestions of a wine tour and restaurants were spot on which made for a fantastic experience. The hotel has a lovely colonial feel with great attention to detail. Our room was very comfortable although care was required in the bathroom as the floor was incredibly slippery! The breakfasts were delicious with a good choice available. All in all a great experience.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank em99w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of River Manor and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us. Thank you for bringing the slippery bathroom floor to our attention and we will certainly follow this up!

Kind regards,

Justin Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

River Manor Boutique Hotel was one of the highlights of our 10 day trip to South Africa. The hotel has an unassuming entrance, but once inside and though the reception we were regularly delighted by the beauty of the place. The attention to detail was outstanding, and the colonial style of the hotel was very fitting given the history of the buildings.

When we arrived, within the first 10 minutes met Jason, the General Manager. Given we were in the area for 1 night, we had already planned our winery trips but after a quick discussion with Jason changed our plans; we weren't to be disappointed with the excellent advice. Guardian and Waterford were 2 highlights.

The breakfast was very good, made to order with a good selection of cold buffet options. The wine selection was equally as good. The short walk to the centre led us to some of the cafes of Stellenbosch. After talking with the hotel staff about our dinner options, we opted for an Indian which was very good.

The rooms were made up very well, with every detail (to the flower on the bathroom floor) taken care of. I liked the fact the television was in a TV cupboard, which helped maintain the boutique style. Lovely bathroom too.

What made this place for me was the authenticity. It is a perfect example of a boutique hotel, and plays to these strengths. It doesn't at any point try to be anything it isn't, and the location is quiet and peaceful. The staff were unassuming but always on hand; their advice about the area was spot on for our needs.

You get a really personal service here, once size doesn't fit all!

We only wish we could have stayed for longer.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mallaig50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.4 mi away
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
#10 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#9 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Batavia Boutique Hotel
#14 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 6 The Avenue, Stellenbosch 7602, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Manor is nestled in the heart of Stellenboch and the Western Cape Winelands. Set across from the Eerste River, in a peaceful avenue of Oak trees, just a short stroll from the village centre, with its museums, street cafés, and galleries, allowing guests to delight in a truly unique Stellenbosch experience.Elegantly furnished in a Contemporary Colonial Style, with personal service and attention to detail - the, wrap-around verandas, two swimming pools, a Studio Spa and secluded gardens, exude an atmosphere of luxury and privacy allowing for relaxation and comfort. A light and seasonal menu is offered at “Taste” enjoyed in the shade of the garden or in the Conservatory, complimented by a charming “Garden Bar”.Stylish rooms combine the conveniences of home with superior comforts, fruit details, bathrobes, Port and Sherry trays and evening turndowns, an experience of a bygone era. Not forgetting necessary modern conveniences of minibars, in room safes, tea and coffee trays, Wifi, overhead ceiling fans and air-conditioning.After leisurely poolside breakfasts, guests may enjoy guided Wine Tours departing daily from River Manor, or take a self drive through the majestic countryside to nearby golf courses, Franschhoek, Cape Town or Hermanus - to return to the sunny terrace to view a beautiful African sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Manor Boutique Hotel And Spa
River Manor Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing