We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful colonial style house, excellent rooms, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful colonial style house, excellent rooms, great service”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here, staff were really friendly and helpful. The rooms are really luxurious and well appointed. Lovely open fires and sitting rooms in common areas. Breakfast was very nice, buffet and hot food to order. Location was a short walk from centre. Beautiful town with lots of places to visit around. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cianobrien83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    171
    56
    22
    8
See reviews for
43
388
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Aestherically pleasing rooms and layout, small enough to make it a personal 'boutique' experience but big enough to avoid the "British B&B" style...

Staff were super friendly and offered great advice on where to go, eat, visit that proved completely spot on!!

Would go back anytime and highly recommend it

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gunveer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermanor, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of River Manor! It's so refreshing for us to read and encourages all of us to keep on going, as this kind of reading just boosts staff morale!!! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Kind regards,

Justin Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in May 2012 while touring the wine country and loved every minute of our stay. The rooms were lovely and comfortable and service was impeccable. We could walk into the village to have dinner and tour the town on foot. Breakfast each morning was cooked to order and was perfect. Truly a charming facility.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetsettergirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Just on the outskirts of town. Very nice place and staff were helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulBirkbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Had a lovely stay ideal for visiting winery's only down fall is they do not have wifi and have to pay separate. Me and my husband visited some lovely places. Had a fantastic lunch at la petite ferme not to miss and a lovely lunch with amazing views at declare graff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leigh30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed at River Manor at the beginning of March, which was nearing the end of our stay. The welcome was warm and even with the limited parking we need not have worried as they parked the car on site as we were checking in. Service around the pool was impeccable and attentive and we never had to go looking for staff. We also had a spa treatment while we were there and it was wonderful and again the staff were great at making us relaxed. The room was on the ground floor, it was lovely and spacious with a massive bathroom. Its in a very central location but does not suffer from noise at night, we walked for dinner and drinks each night we were there. It was very safe and we never felt uneasy walking around at night. I would totally recommend it and would definitely stay again. We arranged a full day wine tour through their recommended agent and had a brilliant day, we loved Stellanbosch and the wineland region so much that we returned there when we were staying in Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We had stayed just one night on our last trip to SA and wanted to return and stay longer. Had the same large superior room with equally large bath/shower room and stayed 3 nights. Not much to add to other reviews - the appeal of comfort, courteous staff, location, good breakfasts and a very welcoming, relaxing atmosphere - almost like staying at a friend's home! Both Justin and Devald took the time to recommend local restaurants and suggested interesting wineries to visit - not just in Stellenbosch but in Paarl, Franschhoek and Walker Bay. They also booked a couple of local attractions which we found most helpful. We had a couple of niggles with the room but Justin and the team sorted them out promptly and without fuss.

Room Tip: Superior if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
#11 of 16 in Stellenbosch
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Batavia Boutique Hotel
#12 of 112 in Stellenbosch
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 6 The Avenue, Stellenbosch 7602, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Manor is nestled in the heart of Stellenboch and the Western Cape Winelands. Set across from the Eerste River, in a peaceful avenue of Oak trees, just a short stroll from the village centre, with its museums, street cafés, and galleries, allowing guests to delight in a truly unique Stellenbosch experience.Elegantly furnished in a Contemporary Colonial Style, with personal service and attention to detail - the, wrap-around verandas, two swimming pools, a Studio Spa and secluded gardens, exude an atmosphere of luxury and privacy allowing for relaxation and comfort. A light and seasonal menu is offered at “Taste” enjoyed in the shade of the garden or in the Conservatory, complimented by a charming “Garden Bar”.Stylish rooms combine the conveniences of home with superior comforts, fruit details, bathrobes, Port and Sherry trays and evening turndowns, an experience of a bygone era. Not forgetting necessary modern conveniences of minibars, in room safes, tea and coffee trays, Wifi, overhead ceiling fans and air-conditioning.After leisurely poolside breakfasts, guests may enjoy guided Wine Tours departing daily from River Manor, or take a self drive through the majestic countryside to nearby golf courses, Franschhoek, Cape Town or Hermanus - to return to the sunny terrace to view a beautiful African sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Manor Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch
River Manor Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing