We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place in the wine yard area”
Review of Weltevreden Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Weltevreden Estate
Ranked #41 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at this place only 2 nights during the wine festival. The estate has only a few rooms, very private and home feeling. Fantastic old building with old furniture, wonderful surrounding with good park, incredible friendly staff, on our request a breakfast was served in the garden. The restoration in the estate is worth to visit as well. Great place! And very soon they will have outdoor swimming pool!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etecouture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 87 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed in the executive suite at Weltevreden Guest House for 4 days over the Christmas Holidays in 2013. What a welcome we got from Mike, Maryka and Anjo. We had the use of the whole bottom floor to ourselves as the suite only sleeps 2 and we were encouraged to use the kitchen and reception rooms as if it was our own home. Beautifully furnished with antiques and a massive collection of art (although it was not to my taste) this historical building has been sensitively restored.
Breakfasts are served in the Lekker Neh Restaurant a short walk over the grass from the front door. Fabulous menu - we tried almost every selection and all were faultless. Staff in the restaurant are discreet and yet attentive - perhaps that is a contradiction but it is so nice not to be constantly interrupted mid conversation with a "are you enjoying your meal" and yet we never felt that we were being neglected.

One of the biggest perks of staying at Weltevreden is that the restaurant is open in the evenings until 9pm which means you can enjoy a glass of wine with dinner without having to worry about driving anywhere. The dinner menu is also very good.

A magically homely atmosphere in a stunning tranquil garden setting. We went and had a look at the childrens area which is a great idea for young couples where the little ones can run around. I must mention that although the kiddies corner was always busy we were never disturbed by the noise. We felt as though we were leaving family behind when we left to go home!

Room Tip: Stairs leading to the more reasonably priced first floor rooms are steep - perhaps difficult for old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobnob_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a hard time finding it but it was worth the trouble. Once the secret is out it'll be difficult to get in. The staff is attentive, thie facilities are top grade. The gardens, rooms, restaurant, more than met our expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank R.L. K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank I1155PQdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Elfriede H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.4 mi away
Sugarbird Manor
Sugarbird Manor
#17 of 113 in Stellenbosch
236 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
5.4 mi away
MolenVliet Oosthuizen Family Vineyards
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#7 of 113 in Stellenbosch
686 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm
3.5 mi away
Boord Guest House
Boord Guest House
#50 of 113 in Stellenbosch
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weltevreden Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weltevreden Estate

Address: Welgevonden Road | Cloetesville, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $103 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Weltevreden Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent property is personified by the picturesque setting that only Stellenbosch can bestow. Exquisitely refurbished manor house incorporates 5 gorgeous rooms. Main suite permits the use of a beautiful yellow wood kitchen, dining area and formal lounge. 4 elevated bedchambers prides original Cape Dutch architecture with a cosy, thatched-roof finish. Operated on a bed-and-breakfast basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Weltevreden Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing