We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different is definitely better.”

Oppie Dorp Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 252 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Relaxed dining, vegetarian/special requirements, seafood, steaks, lamb, duck, venison,pizza, great wines.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Different is definitely better.”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Different is definitely better.

Oppie Dorp is definitely different from most restaurants in the area. Where else will the owners come over for a chat and explain the day’s menu? Where else will you find couches on the side-walk? Where else would your food be paired with some of the best wines of the area?
I really enjoyed the food, the atmosphere and the wine and what else do you want in a restaurant?

I recommend it very highly and wish that Trip Advisor had an “Excellent +” option.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Conrad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    610
    241
    70
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food in south africa”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Recommeded and booked for us by Justin at our hotel the River manor and was not disappointed as it was the best food we had in South Africa and we ate in a lot more expensive Restarants.Our friend was gluton and lactose intolerant but this was no problem what so ever and her dinner was created just for her a real special place

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Deutschland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food - a must go to in Stellenbosch”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We went to the Oppie Dorp on short notice by a recommendation of the manager of our hotel (the River Manor Guesthouse) and were lucky to get a table. The restaurant is currently one of the new "in" locations in Stellenbosch which is much deserved: we had a fantastic dinner at a very reasonable price (with starters, desert and wine the bill was < 500 ZAR for 2 people) - probably the best we have enjoyed during our travels in south africa...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Flomilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“No menu, no prices, no doubt this is a great restaurant.....”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

1st night in SA and we couldn't have wished for a nicer meal in a restaurant with a great vibe.
So pleased we received a recommendation from our guest house (the wonderful River Manor).

We ate indoors (short notice booking) but we could hear the music from the terrace and to be honest didn't miss the eating outdoors experience.

Very helpful, friendly and attentive waitress, eager to steer us towards the tastiest options after the standard "what would you pick" question - the answer on this occasion was lamb and it was tender and very tasty.

The absence of menu/price list is a bit quirky but the bill when received was surprisingly modest.

Our recommendation would be to check this place out, trust your waitress and don't fret about the bill. It's already on our itinery for 2 years time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidandKatie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful, magnificent, delicious!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

At Oppiedorp you will not only feel like the most important customer of the night, the food will blow your mind. The cuisine is of the best in the Stellenbosch area, and the atmosphere created by sitting right on the sidewalks of the legendary Drop Street makes that one never wants to leave. Be it for a long boozy lunch or a romantic dinner, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chalas78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oppie Dorp Restaurant also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Oppie Dorp Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing