We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Stellenbosch

“Breakfast”

Helena's Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 318 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $18
Cuisines: Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Helena's Restaurant at Coopmanhuijs aims to serve heritage food with finesse, often with subtle twists in the detail, thereby turning the familiar into the spectacular. The menu is designed to reflect the bounty of the Boland, with specific emphasis on freshness and food provenance - the "from where" and "by whom" of locally sourced (often artisanal) ingredients.
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

Had an amazing time at Helena’s we went breakfast for my birthday, the atmosphere was great, the service was excellent & the food was great. Had a really fun time & definitely coming back soon for more of that lovely cheesecake.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank melflower8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager1806, General Manager at Helena's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Melflower8

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Heidi Opperman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2020

the food was absolutely delicious, from the strater to dessert ! Tutu gave us a warm welcome and throughout the night made sure we are satisfied

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank anri7271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager1806, General Manager at Helena's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Anri7271

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Heidi Opperman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020 via mobile

We had the three course seasonal menu for 345 rand per person. Delicious starter "Seafood bisque" which was a very tasty soup (one of the better soups I had)! Main menu "Slow cooked Karoo lamb neck" was very tender and juicy. Deserts was also superb! For the price of a standard three course dinner we got an excellent one! Highly recommended!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Frejoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager1806, General Manager at Helena's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2020

Dear Frejoh,

Many thanks for the visit to Helena's Restaurant and your glowing review. We're especially happy to hear that your overall experience was nothing short of perfect.
Thank-you, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Warm regards

Heidi Opperman
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020 via mobile

We were here for the New Year’s Eve dinner. A big treat with a 7 course set menu with the restaurant at full capacity.
And what a treat it was! Refined dishes throughout, thoughtful and refined combinations. Staff remained cheerful and friendly as ever, although operating under considerable pressure. Top performance from a top team!
Well done Helena’s, thank you for a superb evening!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Jan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager1806, General Manager at Helena's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Dear Jan Q,

Many thanks for the visit to Helena's Restaurant and lovely review, we're especially happy to hear that your overall experience was nothing short of perfect and and we cannot be happier to read the experience you had was outstanding with all elements of your dinner being up to standard. Our team will be elated to learn that they were able to create such a memorable experience for you all. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Thank-you.

Warm regards
Heidi Opperman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable dinner outside on the balcony. The menu offered delicious choices which in combination with great wine and fantastic service made for a lovely dinner!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank bjmk1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager1806, General Manager at Helena's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2020

Dear bjmk1971,

Many thanks for the visit to Helena's Restaurant and lovely review, we're especially happy to hear that your overall experience was nothing short of perfect.
Thank-you, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Warm regards
Heidi Opperman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helena's Restaurant also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Helena's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing