We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at Millstream 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Millstream B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Millstream B&B
Ladysmith, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great stay at Millstream 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We enjoyed our 3 night stay in January. Sandre and her staff were most friendly and helpful. Although it was exceptionally hot in Stellenbosch during our stay the balcony off room 1 was cool and we made good use of the swimming pool. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Balcony off room 1 was wonderful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    6
    2
    7
See reviews for
7
15
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

I first have to say I am only giving this place two stars because it was clean, otherwise it would get one.

We found out the day of check-in, over email, that my friend and I were moved from our hotel due to overbooking. We received conflicting emails from our previous hotel, Rivierbos, and Millstream about payment. As I am sure any traveler can relate it was very stressful to find out a few hours before check-in that your hotel has moved and the new hotel is requesting payment, when you have already paid. There was lots of confusion, which were finally able to straighten out at Rivierbos before checking in at Millstream.

Once we arrived at Millstream and finally felt that everything was worked out, the owner, Sandre, preceded to tell me that I was being catty in my emails. I could not believe someone in the hospitality industry would say this. She should have identified with our situation and done everything she could to straighten things out. Instead she made it seem like she was doing us a favor, even though we were the ones paying for a room that would have been left empty!I was apologetic at the time, because I was worried I would be kicked out of the hotel, but was outraged at her behavior towards guests, especially when we were not rude in any way.

When we tried to discuss making transfer arrangements for the airport, as well as a guide for one of our days we had not previously planned, Sandre just gave us phone numbers. She could not be bothered to make a calls and book things. I am not sure how she thought we would be able to make international calls from our American cell phones. The whole thing was ridiculous. Luckily, we went to Rivierbos and they found us a wonderful guide for our last day and booked our airport transfer for the following morning.

We spent as little time as possible at the hotel and had an amazing time in Stellenbosch. I would say you get what you pay for, but there were plenty of places that charged the same for a room and did not have such horrendous service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgit a, Owner at Millstream B&B, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear customer, on consultation with Sandre, our manager, it appears she tried very hard to rectify the blunder made by Rivierbos, and to ease your discomfort in a stressfull situation.

I can understand your frustration when arriving at booked accommodation to find that the Guest house has overbooked and you are sent elsewhere. It is regretful that this became acrimonious as Sandre was trying to sort things out under difficult circumstances.

I am sure if you had been booked into Millstream from the beginning we would have come up to your expectations.
I sincerely hope this never happens to you again as it is most unpleasant.

Bridgit
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stellenbosch hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We appreciate Sandre´s effort to satisfy all our needs. Church bells ringing the whole night on south side disturbed some sleep in room three, otherwise rooms were on average quite good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the peace and quiet in the garden. Thank you from the tour leader of the group!

Room Tip: Sandre´ very friendly and tried to oblige everybody in our group of 13. Avoid room 3 with bells rin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ulilane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgit a, Owner at Millstream B&B, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our Guest house, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the garden
and outdoor area. We hope to see you back one day on a return visit to Stellenbosch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Sandre was so good to my Mum and me during our stay at Millstream in October! Mum was recovering from an operation, I was visiting her from overseas and the homely atmosphere was needed and much appreciated!We so enjoyed our time in Stellenbosch as a result - thank you!

Room Tip: The only downside was there was no fridge or food preparation facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemstede, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Clean, quiet, nice garden with swimmingpool and only a 5 minute walk of the centre of the village and very safe and our 4 wd car was complete safe on the parkingplace.

What we liked even more was how great Sandré the owner was. She was one big help with a great sence of humor. She gave us reat advise about the vineyards and restaurants. Unlike many hotels and B & B's a patio is available where you can sit and enjoy the swimmingpool and have a drink.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.5 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Orchard Lane Guest House
Orchard Lane Guest House
#62 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.7 mi away
Magnolia Place
Magnolia Place
#30 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#9 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Besigheim
Besigheim
#69 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hunneyball House
Hunneyball House
#6 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstream B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstream B&B

Property: Millstream B&B
Address: 14 Alexander Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millstream is well established bed and breakfast,ideally positioned to explore the winelands..We are centrally located within easy walking distance of the Stellenbosch historic town centre, the main restaurants, and quaint shops.Millstream offers six spacious en-suite bedrooms with ceiling fans,tea / coffee,TVs, on - site parking, swimming pool and honesty bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Millstream B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing