We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“vibey pizzeria” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apres Bistro - CLOSED

Apres Bistro
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar, Pizza, Mediterranean, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: We specialize in flame grilled food and woodfired gourmet pizza & pasta's. With a large selection of wine and cocktails. Craft beer on tap is available together with a full tapas menu.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“vibey pizzeria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

had a quick dinner with friends, and did not realize that this small almost unnoticed place would be so packed. make a reservation if you want to go. there is a great atmosphere, staff is friendly and the pizza is great. some of my friends tried the burger and it looked amazing.
not ideal for a romantic evening out as it can get a bit loud, but it is a great place to meet with friends and have a pizza. they also do some local craft beers on tap.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank angelakambri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    33
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Yummy Lunch Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stopped here while touring the Winelands. Service was great and the food was just as good. We ordered off the "starters" menu, as one thing we have learned is that portions are normally huge in South African restaurants. I got calamari and fries and it was really good. My husband got a sandwich and a beer and was happy with his choice, too. It was so cold and rainy the day we went, I ended up ordering a hot chocolate for dessert and it was wonderful! This is a busy, happy place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travellover3868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good but loud”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you're keen for a place to eat good food, good drinks, watch some sport or generally be loud with your friends, then this is the place for you. The value is terrific, and the food is solid although it's nothing fancy. We are repeat customers, and often pop in for some fish and chips or a decent steak. They've got a good wine list and a good draught beer offering and as the name suggests, stay open nice and late. I wouldn't recommend it as a place to take your date or your grandmother, but anything in between will be just fine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suitophobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, very vibey!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

As always, the food at Apres was fantastic. I love the "tapas" section of the menu showcasing unique options, great prices and decent portion sizes. Definitely not the spot for a romantic evening but ideal for a festive night out with friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristieL0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalmar County, Sweden
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fallen in love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Been here for two months, researcher from Sweden, and made Aprés my place. Great food, drinks and the service is beyond good. I´d recommend this as my second home. By the way, there´s a short, darkhaired waitress that is so beautiful that time stops.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apres Bistro also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing