We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're a golfer, best winery in the region”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ernie Els Wines

Ernie Els Wines
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.09*
and up
Stellenbosch Winelands Tasting Tour from Cape Town
Ranked #16 of 140 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“If you're a golfer, best winery in the region”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stopped into the winery yesterday on a rainy day. Very cool trophy room, views of the region from up high, and even a golf green. Top notch service from Tom. Very knowledgeable about the wines as well as the trophy room. Even brought out some golf balls and the mat to hit onto the green in the back of the winery. Very cool.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RaceTo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    46
    14
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Some of the best wines I've ever tasted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We came here for a wine tasting... Overall the service was good. The views are absolutely INCREDIBLE! I could sit there all day long... They have a good selection of wines and each one was better than the last. All delicious! I wouldn't stay there for a meal though (two items on the menu), I would take a short drive back down the road and go to Guardian's Peak.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank melissazwaneveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of my favorite wineries--ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Wine tasting in boring tasting room with long tables is not my idea of a great day. Luckily, you'll experience none of that here! Beautiful grounds, lovely cushy sofas with fireplaces and windows with magnificent views! We went to 5-6 wineries in the Cape and this really stood out. All of you Napa/Sonoma/Monterrey California wine tasters will be pleased with this visit. Definately take home some "Big Easy" wine. Lovely!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Safariranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
312 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great views (and wine) from a spectacular hillside setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We are not sure if Ernie likes wine and bought this estate or only lends his name for appeal, but the estate is magnificent. After winding through miles of beautifully paved road (mostly brick) you arrive at the tasting center, walk between huge boulders and over a stream to enter. Seating is on the backside overlooking miles of beautiful valley. The center is complete with (you guessed it) a golf tee box. The wines are excellent too but the visit would be memorable without the wine!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohntheSkierGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
150 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting with wine & food to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Not the easiest place to find but well worth doing so as its set in the most beautiful valley and offers offers wine tasting experiences that are simply superb and shows that its not just golf that Ernie has excelled in.
Having been a love of the "Big Easy" wine it was such a pleasure to also taste others which were even better.
The food option for the daytime tastings are good with either a meat platter (sold out on the day we went), a meat platter or a small al a carte menu. Service was both friendly and excellent.
Between the 4 of us we tried both the al a cart and cheese options all of which were excellent.
The only negative is that someone has to drive and so cannot enjoy all the tastings, however it wasn't me so that's OK.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ernie Els Wines also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Ernie Els Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing