We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beautiful little house in the middle of everything”
other travelers have booked this property
view of historical church tower from patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view of historical church tower from patio
view from open plan living area to patio open plan kitchen and living room looking towards the study nook
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
view of historical church tower from patio
view from open plan living area to patio
open plan kitchen and living room looking towards the study nook
fully equipped kitchen with seating for 4
open plan kitchen and living area with a view to the patio
main bedroom, opening up to private balcony with ensuite double bathroom. lovely linens and towels provided
third bedroom showing ensuite bathroom
second bedroom the protea room
view from patio to open plan kitchen and living area
interior
main bedroom detail
view of main bedroom en suite bathroom
luxury details
protea room detail
3rd bedroom detail
3rd bedroom with ensuite bathroom opening up to private balcony
art by greg lourens
top of stairs leading from ground floor
ground floor hallway leading to 2nd and 3rd bedrooms
study desk, free wireless internet available
street view from patio
mountain views from patio in winter
street view from private patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stellenbosch, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Mikel D
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“beautiful little house in the middle of everything”
Reviewed April 1, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed the weekend at this beautiful little townhouse in Stellenbosch.
The decor is modern and very stylish and functional at the same time.
My sister and I liked the terrace for sunbathing very much.
The owner is very friendly and extremely helpful. I really can recommend this little gem and want to come back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: beautiful and private townhouse in the hot spot with large terrace
Liked least: the pub next-door can be noisy until 1am
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed March 3, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in Tuishuisie for 10 days in Dec-Jan 2015 with my parents, sisters and our partners and we had the most wonderful stay. Tuishuisie is perfectly located for exploring Stellenbosch and it’s a couple minutes walking distance from most of the best restaurants in town. It’s beautifully decorated and equipped with everything you might need during your stay. We loved the fact that the whole living room/kitchen wall are sliding window doors which open up onto the terrace; this was lovely during warm days and perfect for having people over for a cocktail party on the terrace. There is also a Weber braai on the terrace. The owners and managers of the property were really easy to communicate to, and came quickly the one time we needed help with something. Furthermore, the bedrooms were great, comfortable beds and we liked that fact that each bedroom had its own private bathroom. There is also a security system so we felt perfectly safe at all times, although of course the center of Stellenbosch feels very safe regardless. I couldn’t recommend Tuishuisie more highly and we hope to be back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the terrace
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hj-smith2...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning, well appointed and fabulous location”
Reviewed December 2, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Aletta was an excellent host. From the first contact until after we vacated. Everything we needed was there, including hair straighteners! The flat is simply stunning, beautifully appointed and light and airy, the beds were super comfy.. lovely open plan kitchen/living room and terrace. I cannot recommend this place enough. Right in the centre of town but surprisingly quiet given the bar/restaurant directly beneath (which was also fantastic). If i ever return to Stellenbosch i will never stay anywhere else. Thanks Aletta!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Furnishings/Location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny G
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Central, well appointed and exceptional Self Catering apartment”
Reviewed October 31, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The apartment is wonderfully central to the centre of Stellenbosch, and had everything you need for a very comfortable stay. We have visited twice and will again and again !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineM...
1 review
“A little 'peace' of heaven”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Situated above a lively restaurant the balcony was peaceful and the apartment serene, and just the right amount of liveliness floated up to let u know you were in the hub of Stellenbosch. The full moon was also a treat rising perfectly between the tall trees hugging the wooden deck of the balcony.The large oak tree was spectacular and I am certain it lends it quiet wisdom to those that sit and greet the sun in the am (and moon, in our case, the evening too). I wld recommend you have time to enjoy this 'huisie' as it feels like you are at a spa, yet with all the good food just a stones throw away there is no speak of dieting or lettuce leaves. Fantastic coffee, wine and food in all directions. This place is a must and I cannot wait to go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath3976
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Homely Gem in the Middle of Town”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The property is located off Dorp Street, one of the oldest streets in the university town of Stellenbosch, it has a cosmopolitan feel to it being very well designed with plenty of light and space. Although we stayed when the weather was unpredictable we were still able to make use of the vast sun deck which more than doubles your living area. There was a log burning stove for the chillier nights and wood was very thoughtfully provided. There are no baths, all the rooms have walk in showers and one room would suit children and potentially the elderly or disabled but being downstairs they would need to mount the stairs to get to the living area. The hallway is large enough to allow anybody staying with bicycles or in our case push chairs to have plenty of storage space. The property is adjacent to a restaurant and above a small bar, both venues were trading between circa 0800 & 2300 hours but not seven days a week. During trading there is an amount of noise but this to be expected in such a central location. Once trading ended it was relatively quite. My wife and I spent four weeks at the property and were visited by our daughter and family who live locally. The property has three double bedrooms so the family were able to stay over on occasions with no fuss. The hosts; Gerrit and Aletta Jordaan could not have been more helpful. We had a number of minor issues with the property which were resolved promptly and without fuss. The only issue we had was with what we thought was a faulty air conditioning unit randomly coming on in the early hours two nights in the week from a neighbouring property, it was enough to wake a shallow sleeper but only affected the master bedroom. Gerrit acknowledged the issue but was unable to do anything about it during our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, space and amenities within the property.
Liked least: The random noise from an adjacent property which was beyond the control of our hosts
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed May 18, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor space and the amenities included
Liked least: Noise. But not an issue for us
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing