We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable”
Review of Baruch Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baruch Guest House
Ranked #18 of 111 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Langebaan, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Most enjoyable”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Our stay here was perfect for visiting the surrounding area without being in the middle of the hustle of town. Rosie, the manager, was attentive and looked after us and made us welcome. Our room was cosy and the aircon helped enormously during the hot weather. We especially enjoyed a couple of hours each day by the pool relaxing. If booking again we would ask for a room with a shower not a bath. Disappointed with the owner when leaving who was a very ignorant person who rudely kept butting in as I was paying/discussing my bill.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brumpa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie S, Owner at Baruch Guest House, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review. As the owner of Baruch Guest House I am very passionate about my people. Whether my employees or guests. I apologies if you experienced my over exuberant personality in a negative way, I can assure you that my attentions are always good.

We look forward welcoming you back at Baruch Guest House.

Kind regards
Natalie Scheepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    30
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
56
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nogent Sur Marne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2014

A very nice place to stay. Warm welcome, very close to Stellenbosch city center (a car required though), the owners are very helpful and cheerful.
Nothing to complain about. All was just perfect......

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
2 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Loved my stay at Baruch - a perfect mix of hospitality, style, exquisite design and comfort. What a special treat to be greeted by the smell of freshly baked rusks. Very good
location, close to major routes without compromising any privacy. Will defenitely return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We arrived at Baruch Guest House which is located a bit out of the town-center in heavily pouring rain, after having tried to find accommodation in 10 other guest houses. Baruch is situated at a junction of 2 roads, so we were a bit afraid that it might be noisy. This fear was needless, as we passed a quiet night in huge, extremely comfortable beds (an exception in South Africa, where most of the time they squeeze you in so called "Queen-Size-Beds". I don't know what kind of queens they are talking about, because these beds are usually very narrow for 2 persons).

Our room was big enough to add a mattress for our daughter and still we didn’t feel claustrophobic. The bath room was also very spacy and nice.
Next day’s breakfast was beyond standard, with good rye bread and delicious fresh croissants.
As we arrived within the peak of the rainy season, the room was full of mosquitos. But we immediately got a spray from the friendly manager and when we came back from dinner, they were all dead and we slept very well.
Prices for guesthouse-accomodation in Stellenbosch are high to South African Standards, but the manager gave us a reduction, despite the fact that the town was literally booked out.
Altogether it was one of our best experiences during a 3 weeks tour through South Africa.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Individual and tasteful design of rooms enhances their qualities, as well as the friendlinness and helpfulness of Baruch's staff. Wonderful for relaxing after wine tasting experience or hiking. I recommend it.


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice house with friendly service. However if you plan to stay there you should be aware that a very busy street (connection between Stellenbosch and summerset) is some 50meter away only. This makes an evening on the terace with a good glas of wine very noicy. The traffic only slows down after 11pm and restarts heavily at 5:30am. If you are there for 1 night only it mide be o.k. If you plan to stay 2 or more days I would look for a more quite place next time.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gfrca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Excellent service, lovely room, no complaints. Rosie was very helpful. From the time we arrived, to the time we left, we were treated very well. Would recommend this establishment, without hesitation.


  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hym H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.9 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
391 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
822 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#7 of 111 in Stellenbosch
669 reviews
1.3 mi away
Apple Tree Guest House
Apple Tree Guest House
#9 of 111 in Stellenbosch
365 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sugarbird Manor
Sugarbird Manor
#17 of 111 in Stellenbosch
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baruch Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baruch Guest House

Property: Baruch Guest House
Address: 35 Rhodes North Street | Die Boord, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Baruch Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baruch Guest House is four star rated accommodation in Stellenbosch which offers the best of both, a perfect balance between homely accommodation, comfort and quality service. Baruch offers the visitor the perfect base as it is close to the Historic Town Centre, Stellenbosch University, many Wine Estates, Shopping Centers, Techno Park Business Park, Medi Clinic and Stellenbosch Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Baruch Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing