We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Stellenbosch
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (932)
Filter reviews
932 results
Traveler rating
659
160
53
42
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
659
160
53
42
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting cellar tour wine estate star hotel tasting room world class beautiful location cape town old world charm attention to detail main restaurant our honeymoon south africa deli setting pinotage mountains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 932 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2020

The Lanzerac Hotel and SPA is outstanding! We travelled the world but What the Lanzerac offers ist simply fantastic. The Pool Area as well as the SPA can’t be any better, breakfast ist very generous . This house is professionally maintained. We hope to come back one day.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank MrsBaikux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanzManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear MrsBaikux

What a compliment! Thank you so much for recognising Lanzerac’s unique offering and wonderful charm. Looking forward to your return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

This is a wonderful hotel in a fabulous setting. The approach from the gates down the tree lined drive is simply beautiful. You are met at the door with cool flannels and champagne, bags taken off and the car parked for you. Check in is quick and easy and we had a delightful suite overlooking the drive with mountain view. We used our complimentary wine tasting voucher selecting the wine and chocolate option which was great. The deli, where the wine tasting and cellar tour take place is also great as you can get little snacks and sit outside with a coffee.

We had dinner in the Kitchen Restaurant which is the more formal of the two restaurants. The food is okay but not amazing. Its a little fancy and its almost like they try a bit too hard and there is too much going on, on the plate. I had Pork Belly with crackling. There was 2 big pieces, too much for me, and the crackling wasn’t crispy. For dessert i had Passion Fruit Posset, which was soft and sloppy rather than set, with lots of other stuff on it that didn’t need to be there. For breakfast i had Buttermilk Flapjacks which were like pancakes, it was huge, with lots of maple syrup, creme fraiche, fried banana and a lot of bacon, way too big and sweet.

Its a lovely place to relax and i would love to return but i would not eat there, if you’re ok with the food, you do not need to leave the estate for the duration of your stay.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank GoPlaces36388484309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

Love Lanzerac, only stayed one night as it is quite a splurge. From the moment we arrived we were taken care of. The staff and service was top notch, room and bathroom amazing, the views can’t be beat. We also are at the TapHuis, ordering about 4 tapas between us and everything was delicious. Everything about our stay was amazing and we were def sad to leave.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank amberdQ2283YB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanzManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear AmberdQ2283YB

We thank you for your 5-star rating and for complementing our staff and beautiful Estate. Hope to welcome you back to the Lanzerac again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

We only had two nights at Lanzerac but we could happily have stayed a week.

The setting is wonderful and the hotel lives up to the location.

We stayed in a standard room but it was very spacious with everything we could possibly need including a free minibar which included a bottle of their lovely Sauvignon Blanc. The bathroom was huge with a heated floor which was a nice bit of extra luxury.

The only negative I have is that the minibar was not refilled during our stay but there was plenty in there so it wasn't a problem.

We are in both the Manor Kitchen and Taphuis. Both meals were excellent and, of course, were washed down with beautiful wine. The wine in particular was excellent value considering the quality of hotel. Obviously they are producing it themselves but most places would still put on a much larger profit margin.

As a resident you are entitled to a free wine tasting and cellar tour. Having tried the basic wines we were very happy to then pay for a second tasting of the vintage wines. All were extremely tasty.

I would highly recommend Lanzerac and I wouldn't hesitate at staying there again next time we are in the area.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Oldham_mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanzManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Oldham_mark

Heartfelt thanks for the level of detail that you have shared. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the rooms, service, dining options and wines. We will share with management the feedback regarding the minibar. Hope to welcome you back once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

We only spent 2 days there but everything was just wonderful so restful and interesting with the wine cellar tour and tasting
Our room took you breath away with how beautiful it was( 201)
Can't wait to go back

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michaeljamesb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanzManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2020

Dear michaeljamesb2016

Thank you for your kind words and great review. Each room and suite are uniquely decorated, and no two rooms are alike. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, wine cellar tour and wine tasting. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews