We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed 2 days with my wife at the end of our Garden Route trip. The hotel setting is great but the rooms are very old fashioned (part of the charm) and do not offer the latest of comfort.
Breakfast is great. The food at the restaurant is OK but could be widely improved.
Booking at the spa was a bit difficult. The massage itself was OK but expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gallia53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    125
    50
    32
    14
See reviews for
78
290
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Joburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Lovely stay at this hotel. First visit and will return soon. Estate is well manicured, rooms individually decorated with care, great meal and friendly staff. The full package is what you can find here. Afternoon tea at the deli after a winetasting was special. Will enjoy spa with next visit- looks real promising. A place full of character with a home away from home feel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chamsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at the Lanzerac. From the starting point everything was 5*. From making the teservation to the surprise treats in our room for our anniversary to the superb dinner at the hotel was an unforgettable experience. The rooms are beautiful and the staff super attentive. We were treated like royalty by everyone we encountered and the food is the best we have enjoyd in years. The management are hands on and interested in all their guests. Spa was very relaxing and we can recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to mark a special occasion. Will be back soon!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pantt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

My wife and I visited South Africa from the UK in February and stayed at the Lanzerac Hotel for 2 nights. We thought the hotel setting was superb. The staff were generally helpful and efficient and the room was clean and well appointed. The restaurant was disappointing, however - on both nights our choice of salmon for the main course was "sold out" and not available at 7 30pm and more embarrassingly our first and second choices of wine on the second evening were not available in the cellar and we ended up with an inferior sauvignon blanc.
Winston ( Operations Director?) was more concerned with meeting, greeting and 'glad handing' guests and his time would be more profitably and usefully spent managing the hotel properly with a specific focus on the shortcomings in the restaurant.
I doubt that we shall return on our next visit to SA, in February 2015.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Hotel delightful. Rooms excellent and a lovely situation. The breakfast was good and the staff aimed to please. We were there for two nights and had a full schedule so did not even see the spa. The dinner, food very good service best described as unhurried.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alleyn29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Called for lunch at Lanzerac, something I'd been meaning to do for some time after visiting almost every other winery restaurant in the Western cape. Nice estate, friendly staff & good service & looking forward to some decent food.
Starter OK, cheesecake dessert delicious but the main course was pretty grim. Both my wife & I opted for the 'Tiger Prawns with salad & spicy dip' at R220 as a special treat, expecting something decent but were sadly disappointed.
We received an almost empty plate with 4 small, overcooked prawns, a few leaves of watercress & small bowl of watery sauce. It was just about adequate as a starter if you weren't hungry but, at R220 a plate it was a shocker. I complained & did not pay for this course but what a shame that such an attractive asset to their business falls so far below their competitors.
If you want excellent food at a lower price I recommend that you go to one of the many other restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

In the tird week of February I visited Lanzerac Spa together with a friend. Both of us got a warm welcome by one of the ladies behind the reception.

After getting changed, two therapists came to pick us up and brought us to seperate rooms. The designated room was very clean, smelled good, was calm and relaxing!

The massage was just 100% relaxing. No regrets at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleeve Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.9 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
5.2 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanzerac Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Property: Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Address: No. 1 Lanzerac Street | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanzerac Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a 155ha working wine estate, on the outskirts of picturesque Stellenbosch, the historic 300-year-old Lanzerac Hotel & Spa is the perfect base from which to explore SA’s most famous winelands. With just 48 luxurious bedrooms, this 180-year-old Manor House exudes an air of intimacy and provides the ultimate in personalized service.The hotel’s fine-dining restaurant with several different dining areas offers guests a wide choice of culinary styles. Guests end their evenings over coffees, liqueurs, cognacs and cigars enjoyed either in the trendy Esquire Whiskey & Cigar Bar or in the elegant Craven Lounge with its genuine antiques and authentic Cape Dutch architecture. Whilst the historic Manor House provides an ideal venue for private in-or-outdoor conferences and functions, the picturesque setting of the Manor Lawns offers the perfect opportunity for exclusive outdoor events and lavish weddings. Leisure activities include swimming in one of the hotel’s 3 outdoor pools, golfing, hiking and mountain biking, wine tasting and cellar tours. Treatments at the world-class Lanzerac Spa & Wellness Center take place against a stunning backdrop of mountains and vineyards, ensuring you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. The spa has recently added the revolutionary “Dr.Fish” Therapy to its repertoire, where tiny fish are utilized to exfoliate the skin and give it a micro-massage. Come and experience true South African heritage, first-class service and luxury, superior pampering and wellness! We’ve been preparing for your arrival for over 300 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lanzerac Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Hotel Stellenbosch
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing