We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eendracht Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveler rating
408
134
50
32
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
134
50
32
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine tastingcigar loungecellar tourstar hotelwine estatelovely experiencecape townold world charmtasting roombeautiful hotelour honeymoonbeautiful surroundingsattention to detailsouth africasettinggovernorsdeli
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
398 - 403 of 639 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The service in restaurant is good but it appears that there is a big problem in the kitchen.
The general service is good, they are quick to bring the wine and ask you what you want to eat but the food takes ages. The dishes are mundane and to insult you even more the main course portions are smaller than starters. For instance the venison loin (R190) consisted of two tiny pieces of meat weighing abou 15g each. And not much more vegetables. I am someone who can afford to order 10 of these meals to satisfy a normal appetite but felt insulted and decided not to stay for desert and we left.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We would like to say thank you very much to all the staff at Lanzerac. We had a really wonderful stay on the 23rd November and would recommend the hotel to friends who are looking for a quick break away from Cape Town.
Wishing you all the best for 2014.
Gia and Carlos Gomes

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Hotel is luxurious and has great charm and character. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Staff very courteous. However, the dinner we had was awful.
We were a group on a business trip, and our hosts were very embarrassed. We had a choice of two starters, two main courses and two desserts. Not difficult to get wrong, but they did. We waited for ages and the time between courses was > 45minutes. The food was considered mediocre at best by everyone. Portions were inconsistently sized, one person found an olive pip in their steak dish, one kingklip main course was the size of tablespoon. The desserts were unpleasant. The creme brûlées were different, some were like creme caramel, without sugar and others were like mini quiches. A comedy of errors!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5Jo_Anna5, Guest Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

On behalf of the Lanzerac team, we would like to sincerely apologize for the service errors during your dinner at the hotel last week. We pride ourselves in the highest service levels and exceptional quality of food, so your comments are a serious concern for the team. We have investigated the matters raised and have subsequently addressed these issues with our Executive Chef who will endeavour to rectify the cause of these problems.
We hope to be given the opportunity to showcase our menu to you again in a better light.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Where do I start...It all started on Friday where we arrived at our luxurious suite at the Lanzerac Hotel & Spa. The suite was amazing wow. We received such a warm and friendly welcome. The spa facilities was out of this world. One truly felt isolated from the world. The Saturday morning we indulged in a healthy, yet exquisite breakfast buffet breakfast thereafter we where fetched in the beautiful Lexus and chauffeured to the Lanzerac Ready to Run Stakes event at Kenilworth Racecourse. Wow, we were fortunate enough to sit at the same table as the Mayor of Stellenbosch and the general manager of the Lanzerac. It was such an honour. The event was exotic, the food was top quality, prepared by the cape's finest chefs. The people were beautiful and overall the event was perfect. After the event we made our way back to the hotel where we were treated to a truly grand dinning experience. I totally recommend the Lamb Shank. The morning of the Sunday we were chauffeured back home in style. I cannot thank the team at Lanzerac Ready To Run Stakes anymore for providing me with such an amazing experience. My weekend was perfect. We were truly treated to VIP treatment. Thank you Tarryn for organizing all the arrangements and ensuring that we were satisfied and happy at all times. I truly appreciate it. Thank you to Hertz for your reliable and luxurious transport. Thank you to the staff at the Lanzerac Hotel and Spa for such amazing hospitality. We are definitely grateful for everything. The Lanzerac must be one of the most beautiful Hotels in the Cape with it being able to maintain that great heritage and historic feel to it. I would definitely recommend the Lanzerac Hotel & Spa and the Lanzerac Ready to Run Stakes horse racing event. Thank you

Kind regards,
Rudi

Room Tip: I rated the spa as excellent, however we made use of the heated pool and heated jacuzzi located at the spa. Based on what I saw and the use of the heated facilities was perfect. Could not be faulted. Personally did make use of any spa treatment, but it definitely seems worth it. Stayed in the luxury room 215. The location was ideal. close to the spa, close to the parking lot and close to the breakfast and dinning area.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Lanzerac is one of the very best holiday experiences we have ever had. The setting is beautiful and instantly makes you feel very comfortable and relaxed. However what makes the Lanzerac an experience that I would highly recommend to anyone visiting the Western Cape, is the very warm, exceptional service we received from all of the staff and the superb food and wines we enjoyed in the restaurant, patios and gardens. Congratulations to everyone at the Lanzerac for creating a truly wonderful holiday venue and experience!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews