We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous and still improving.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fabulous and still improving.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The setting for this beautiful hotel couldn't be prettier. The Stellenbosch mountains as its back drop are truely majestic, the hotel elegant and the Spa is fantastic. The staff are extremely accommodating and give the full 5 star porter, valet treatment, they are very involved in the hotel and welcome their guests as if it was into their own home. It is seldom you get the dual package of great staff and magnificent setting, I have never seen a more involved and unassuming CEO, in this industry. 5 star hotel, spa , wine and surrounds coupled with such homely treatment, is rare. Their Mrs English Chardoney is exquisite. I cant wait to go back and experience the hotel once the renovations of the rooms and wine cellar are complete.- hope their rates don't get too high. If I had to find fault, I have had better food, it looks good but unlike the overall experience didn't follow through for me.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 221 and the views, quietness and privacy were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    132
    50
    32
    14
See reviews for
88
311
20
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The rooms were very spacious, well furnished and comfortable. However the hotel restaurant and wine tasting/tour requires bringing into the 21st century compared to other wineries visited in the area. On entering the restaurant it felt like you were entering a rest home! With a staid atmosphere and snail like service. The dining room chairs on wheels added to the geriatric feel to the place! We appreciate that this is an old, traditional hotel however this should not detract from an expected 5 star service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotters2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had 6 nights at the Lanzerac in May 2013 and the accommodation was superb, the staff so friendly. The grounds of the hotel are extensive and tranquil. The history attached to this hotel is very interesting. They still make their own wine and it is very, very good. Would definitely recommend this property to anyone travelling to South Africa. We would definitely stay again,.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesleysullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had stayed at the Lanzerac 4 years ago and were really looking forward to our 3 night stay from 4th to 7th July. Previously the evening meals had been the highlight of our stay. The hotel is 5 star and in all respects other than the evening table d’hote menu meets this classification. Standards are if anything better than 4 years ago.

Our evening meals were on average disappointing – although the food was mainly well prepared, the menu was probably the most unappetising we had during our 3 week stay. I feel for the excellent waiting staff who have to deal with disappointed customers.

The hotel is generally really excellent and I find it strange that so much effort has gone into getting everything perfect elsewhere in the hotel, that the restaurant has been overlooked. If I stay at the Lanzerac again, I would be reluctant to book half board. From a previous stay I know the quality the restaurant can produce, I would try an evening meal, and if it is not up to standard, would eat elsewhere for the rest of the stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hccameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Our group of 12 stayed at the Lanzerac over a couple of beautiful winter days. We were greeted at the door by a well-organized team who quickly unloaded our vehicles and sorted the luggage while we were escorted inside the beautiful reception area to a quick registration and welcoming glass of wine. The rooms were no less luxurious than the foyer with comfortable king size beds and spacious well-appointed bathrooms. There was free wi-fi with a strong signal in the room. We had drinks before dinner in one of the attractive lounges and thoroughly enjoyed the meal and wine. The service was impeccable and the grounds clean and well tended. We all wished we could have stayed longer.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Madame1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Lanzerac Hotel and Spa really is a special place to stay! The majestic manor house, magnificent grounds, fabulous wellness spa and superb food - not to mention their lovely wines - really made for an excellent two day stay. I must say however, that as a five star establishment - their service doesn't quite make the grade. Some attention to detail was certainly missing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ericksons4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at Lanzerac at the beginning of the year for a friends wedding. We only stayed 2 nights and both were brilliant! Having never heard of the hotel before we were a bit skeptical but on arrival we knew we had arrived somewhere special.

The room and bathroom were very spacious, tastefully appointed and clean. There is a lovely deck in the main courtyard where you can sample cheeses and wines from the area.

With us being there for the wedding we didnt get up to many activities but i don think you need to too. If you want a quiet weekend away from the hustle of Cape Town this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.8 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,850 reviews
4.9 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
393 reviews
5.1 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
603 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanzerac Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Property: Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Address: No. 1 Lanzerac Street | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanzerac Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a 155ha working wine estate, on the outskirts of picturesque Stellenbosch, the historic 300-year-old Lanzerac Hotel & Spa is the perfect base from which to explore SA’s most famous winelands. With just 48 luxurious bedrooms, this 180-year-old Manor House exudes an air of intimacy and provides the ultimate in personalized service.The hotel’s fine-dining restaurant with several different dining areas offers guests a wide choice of culinary styles. Guests end their evenings over coffees, liqueurs, cognacs and cigars enjoyed either in the trendy Esquire Whiskey & Cigar Bar or in the elegant Craven Lounge with its genuine antiques and authentic Cape Dutch architecture. Whilst the historic Manor House provides an ideal venue for private in-or-outdoor conferences and functions, the picturesque setting of the Manor Lawns offers the perfect opportunity for exclusive outdoor events and lavish weddings. Leisure activities include swimming in one of the hotel’s 3 outdoor pools, golfing, hiking and mountain biking, wine tasting and cellar tours. Treatments at the world-class Lanzerac Spa & Wellness Center take place against a stunning backdrop of mountains and vineyards, ensuring you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. The spa has recently added the revolutionary “Dr.Fish” Therapy to its repertoire, where tiny fish are utilized to exfoliate the skin and give it a micro-massage. Come and experience true South African heritage, first-class service and luxury, superior pampering and wellness! We’ve been preparing for your arrival for over 300 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lanzerac Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Hotel Stellenbosch
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing