We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Historical gem with grandeur and pampering” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Historical gem with grandeur and pampering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I went to stay for just one night and wished it was for 100. The estate is very beautiful and the old buildings grand and rich in history. Our room was huge and beautifully appointed. It had a small balcony which looked out the rear to he lovely greenery so my husband enjoyed a cigar and brandy out there and just loved the natural glory of the clear country sky.
We had already enjoyed a huge late lunch so were happy to have a drink at the old bar and soak up the atmosphere. The we were delighted that we were the only ones in the dining area - we snuggled up in front of the arm fire and enjoyed a fantastic estate bottle of red and a platter of cheese. In the morning it was another fabulous feast of breakfast with all the trimmings.
We then went to get pampered in the spa and loved the foot massage!
We would go back there in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The white historical Dutch building is so beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrJanetHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    102
    49
    30
    12
See reviews for
48
215
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

we spent there only one night and enjoyed every single minute, great property, nice room, friendly service, good value for money. Would suggest to improve the restaurant that is on a good level but compared to the rest of the einvoirenment need an extra step.

Room Tip: we stayed in the cottage, spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Without a shadow of a doubt, we can say that the Lanzerac has a unique feature which makes it different from any other 5 star hotel, and that is : the staff. Never have we seen a hotel where éverybody is so friendly, and makes so much efforts to make the guest's stay as comfortable as possible. And when we say everybody, we really mean éverybody. Housekeeping, kitchen, restaurant staff, reception, maintenance, gardeners, managers, well, éverybody at the hotel works with passion and loyalty for "their" hotel and "their" guests. This results in an excellent and personalised service which you can rarely find, even in the most luxurious hotels in the world. We just felt "at home" during our 3-week stay. And, not to be forgotten, our compliments to chef Stephen Fraser and his fantastic team, who succeeded in surprising us every night for 3 weeks in a row, with the most exquisite dishes !! Thanks, Stephen, Archie & the kitchen gang :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the_belgian_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

A good location for spending a weekend exploring the region, not really up to five star rating, or the price. The views are fantastic, but the rooms are now getting a little tired. Although the service at he restaurant was great the fish my friend had was overcooked, perhaps to hide hat it was not so fresh. My porkbelly was tasty but dry.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwi_Prawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay here there are much better properties that I would try this place is very tired but when upgraded it will be back on. The rooms are old and musty very clean though I felt as if I was sleeping in someone's attic with a bed that was lumpy and had seen better days. The wine is good and the restaurant was great for lunch but avoid dinner this area has fantastic restaurants at surrounding wineries that should not be missed.
The grounds at this hotel are not kept up u can tell as the grass is all dead the pool lounges were filthy this hotel I would say would be for a budget traveller
Its to bad they should call the four seasons hotel chain to come and resue them!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joe060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed for just one night as part of our tour.The setting is beautiful and the accommodation excellent.We did not have an evening meal but I'm sure it would have have been excellent as the breakfast certainly was.It is certainly an ideal venue for business meetings and weddings as the grounds are superb.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireAdventurer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at The Lanzerac in Feb 2012, A really luxurious Boutique hotel and very intimate, the wine tour is a must and the Spa is definitely an experience, I particularly liked all the quirky stuff you could do like there is an Art Gallery at the property, with beautiful outdoor areas great for children to run around and just sit, The mountain views are spectacular . There was a wedding at this venue also and the white chairs and white setting on lush green grounds was so romantic and beautiful to behold. Staff is brilliant and unfortunately I had to change my room 3 times as the Deluxe suite was nice but had water marks on the wall, the 2nd suite which was one of the older rooms with your own swimming pool was lovely also, but very dated and there was a lingering noise coming from the bathroom which was rather scary, I told staff I would like to leave the next day and they went all out , upgrading us to the Presidential suite which was magnificent and I could not fault....All in all, Lanzerac is a lovely hotel with a lot of character , a bit dated hence the few negatives here and there ...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wakoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.9 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#6 of 15 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 stars 730 reviews
6.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#3 of 15 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 stars 1,306 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#2 of 15 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
5.2 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#9 of 15 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanzerac Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Property: Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Address: No. 1 Lanzerac Street | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanzerac Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a 155ha working wine estate, on the outskirts of picturesque Stellenbosch, the historic 300-year-old Lanzerac Hotel & Spa is the perfect base from which to explore SA’s most famous winelands. With just 48 luxurious bedrooms, this 180-year-old Manor House exudes an air of intimacy and provides the ultimate in personalized service.The hotel’s fine-dining restaurant with several different dining areas offers guests a wide choice of culinary styles. Guests end their evenings over coffees, liqueurs, cognacs and cigars enjoyed either in the trendy Esquire Whiskey & Cigar Bar or in the elegant Craven Lounge with its genuine antiques and authentic Cape Dutch architecture. Whilst the historic Manor House provides an ideal venue for private in-or-outdoor conferences and functions, the picturesque setting of the Manor Lawns offers the perfect opportunity for exclusive outdoor events and lavish weddings. Leisure activities include swimming in one of the hotel’s 3 outdoor pools, golfing, hiking and mountain biking, wine tasting and cellar tours. Treatments at the world-class Lanzerac Spa & Wellness Center take place against a stunning backdrop of mountains and vineyards, ensuring you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. The spa has recently added the revolutionary “Dr.Fish” Therapy to its repertoire, where tiny fish are utilized to exfoliate the skin and give it a micro-massage. Come and experience true South African heritage, first-class service and luxury, superior pampering and wellness! We’ve been preparing for your arrival for over 300 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lanzerac Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Hotel Stellenbosch
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing