We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely situation, but a few complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Lovely situation, but a few complaints”
Reviewed February 29, 2008

Beautiful old buildings and nice bedrooms, but a few niggles slightly spoilt our stay.
We arrived on at 1.00 pm on a damp Sunday to find that the spa and indoor pool were about to close for the afternoon.The weather on the following day was better so we could use one of the numerous outdoor pools.For dinner we wanted a light meal rather than the full restaurant menu.That was fine except that they would not serve it on the lovely terrace, as they did not want to encourage others to eat there.Eating in the bar would have been fine except that all the tables were reserved, so we ended up eating on the terrace outside our room.However the food was good and the Lanzerac PInotage is the best that we found.
We had to leave at 5.00 am the next morning to catch a flight.Early morning room service breakfast was not good.Even worse was the person on reception who tried to charge us for a trip which we hadn't been on, and refused to accept that they had made a mistake!

  • Liked — Beautiful old buildings
  • Disliked — Some of the staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M.R.Carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    132
    50
    32
    14
See reviews for
87
308
20
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashby de la Zouch, Leics
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

The Lanzerac is an old Dutch style manor house built in 1830., set in perfectly manicured gardens where there are surrounding bungalows. i stayed in one of the bungalows which was large and well appointed with a large bathroom.
There is a main restaurant and a terrace restaurant both serving excellent meals, ranging from bar style snacks to 3 and 4 course meals. The service was friendly and efficient with at times a surplus of waiters!
The spa is quite small but comfortable, with a pool, jacuzzi and splash pool, this is undercover with sliding doors which open onto the garden and mountain views.
I took advantage of the treatments and had a massage and reflexology, the massage was the best I have ever had and never having reflexology before I had nothing to compare it with.
The Lanzerac make their own wines and have a shop and wine tasting room in the grounds.
The Lanzerac is a good walk outside Stellenbosch so a car would be adviseable, but taxis are always available.

  • Liked — The views and gardens
  • Disliked — Internet service slow but being upgraded
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fran002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2007

I must disagree with those reviewers who say that the Lanzaerac has great food - it is truly awful.

We stayed at the Lanzerac for 3 nights in their Royal Pool Suite in early Dec. I must admit that the room was fantastic; it had just been redecorated, was very large and had a nice private pool and courtyard. There were a few teething problems with the room though; there was no safe installed and the fridge stopped working. However, a call to maintenance fixed them promptly.

The worst thing was the restaurant which is classed as "fine dining". It is not. Many holiday brochures say that the Lanzerac has two restaurants. Its does not - it has one with multiple seating areas. So no matter whether you sit on the terrace on in the main dining room, the food is the same.

Firstly, presentation. The place mats were all chipped and damaged, glasses scratched and cutlery old. Not a good first impression for a so called fine dining establishment.

But the worst by far was the food. Some examples of how inept it was: the blue fin tuna sashimi came out as tasteless tuna carpaccio; the scallops were cooked so much they were like rubber and were drowned in masses of green gloop; and my wife's champagne and lemon jelly came out bright green !! (Obviously the chef had a lot of green food colouring that he needed to get rid of !) Anyway, it is a truly dreadful place. This was compounded by staff who whilst helpful where generally useless with misread orders and slow service.

So don't eat there at all. We were terribly disappointed as we had stayed in Cape Town a couple of years before and had great food at the Cape Grace and at various places on the V&A Waterfront.

After the Lanzerac we moved to Plettenberg and to the fabulous Plettenberg Bay Hotel. This has fantastic food and is well worth a visit.

My tip for the future: if you like good food then avoid hotels without the Relais et Chateau award - you will only be disappointed. As for the Lanzerac – you can do much, much better. Avoid.

Odie, UK

  • Liked — Great Suite
  • Disliked — Bathroom door wouldn't shut
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank odie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wargrave
Level Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2007

Set in the most beautiful surroundings the Lanzerac offered first class service with really friendly staff. We had a classic room which was superb. Food and resturant top class only small moan was the pipe music played during breakfast and dinner, so eat weather permitting on the outside terrace.

  • Liked — setting and buildings
  • Disliked — pipe music
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank inclineski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville,TN
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2007

Stayed here for two nights, November 8-9. During our two weeks in South Africa, we stayed in 6 different hotels/resorts. This was my least favorite. Rooms were very, very dark--lighting totally inadequate. Porter who delivered bags was surly. Inadequate internet access for guests. Food was fine, dining room gorgeous. I wouldn't stay here again---there have to be places with more charm than this.

  • Liked — dining room
  • Disliked — poor lighting, charmless rooms, surly porter
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tonymsrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

The Lanzerac property was absolutely beautiful, with a breathtaking view from our back private patio and a suite the size of a small apartment! The staff was extremely nice and we felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. They had a very nice restaurant and gift shop, and the staff was very helpful in arranging for a private driver to take us to the wineries (the Spier winery is not to be missed -- they even have baby cheetahs you can pet!) It was a very romantic stay, everything we hoped for and more.

  • Liked — beautiful grounds
  • Disliked — secluded from other areas
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay there!
  • Stayed April 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michellezp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2006

Its easy to sum up this place in one word - Beautiful.

We held our wedding here. We stayed in the presidential suite and used the private garden for the ceremony.

The Mountain views were a spectacular backdrop and the estates gardens were beautifully maintained.

What made the day even more special were the staff who were polite and attentive without being intrusive. The wedding co-ordinator was particularly helpful - nothing was too much trouble.

The food was of high standard - we ate in the main restaurant (out on the terrace) on several occasions prior to the actual day.

The suite was luxurious and included a wonderful old style library, the private garden attached to the suite was a real bonus.

We fell in love with Lanzerac as soon as we drove through the gate - it really is the most perfect place to exchange vows!

  • Stayed December 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsBangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.8 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
4.9 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
5.1 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanzerac Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Property: Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Address: No. 1 Lanzerac Street | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanzerac Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a 155ha working wine estate, on the outskirts of picturesque Stellenbosch, the historic 300-year-old Lanzerac Hotel & Spa is the perfect base from which to explore SA’s most famous winelands. With just 48 luxurious bedrooms, this 180-year-old Manor House exudes an air of intimacy and provides the ultimate in personalized service.The hotel’s fine-dining restaurant with several different dining areas offers guests a wide choice of culinary styles. Guests end their evenings over coffees, liqueurs, cognacs and cigars enjoyed either in the trendy Esquire Whiskey & Cigar Bar or in the elegant Craven Lounge with its genuine antiques and authentic Cape Dutch architecture. Whilst the historic Manor House provides an ideal venue for private in-or-outdoor conferences and functions, the picturesque setting of the Manor Lawns offers the perfect opportunity for exclusive outdoor events and lavish weddings. Leisure activities include swimming in one of the hotel’s 3 outdoor pools, golfing, hiking and mountain biking, wine tasting and cellar tours. Treatments at the world-class Lanzerac Spa & Wellness Center take place against a stunning backdrop of mountains and vineyards, ensuring you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. The spa has recently added the revolutionary “Dr.Fish” Therapy to its repertoire, where tiny fish are utilized to exfoliate the skin and give it a micro-massage. Come and experience true South African heritage, first-class service and luxury, superior pampering and wellness! We’ve been preparing for your arrival for over 300 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lanzerac Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Hotel Stellenbosch
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing