We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Dundalk/Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pure luxury”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed here in Nov 2005 on a business/ golf trip. Fantastic place just outside Stellenbosch with rooms both inside the main building and around the grounds of the hotel. I stayed in a large room with a lovely pool right outside my front door and during my 5 night stay I think I was the only person to use the pool. Only dined once in the hotel restaurant and it was excellent but had breakfast every morning which was served either in the main restaurant or out on the terrace with a great choice every day. Rooms are very large and you can get lost in the bathrooms they are that big. Hotel has its own vineyard and the wines are top class, pity I couldn't carry more home as I've found it difficult to get the wine in Ireland since I've been home. I would give this hotel 9 out of 10

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franDundalk_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    132
    50
    32
    14
See reviews for
88
309
20
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goudhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Disappointed to read some of the recent reviews. Have visited the Lanzerac for many years and it remains constant - not perfect - but beautiful location, very good food and excellent home produced wines.

Bar is wonderful in Winter with open fire and full menu served for dinner. Rooms very spacious. Wi-fi free in hotel rooms (for some reason not in public areas).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

good example of old South African wine estate. typical cape dutch style buildings, tastefully renovated, excellent wines (to our taste among the worlds best), restaurant and bar are great, good and attentative service. Rooms are spacious, however could do with a renovation. A picture book wine estate.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJH1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We visited the Lanzerac while on honeymoon. The service was everything you expected from a 5 star getaway.

The staff were friendly, well presented and well spoken.

Definately a getaway for a romantic weekend for two.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed here for three days for a conference, in October. The hotel was very much as expected - yes, the room seemed a little tired, but was spotlessly clean, and the bathroom was huge, with a separate shower and freestanding bath, and at the end of the day, didn't spend much time in the room anyway. Staff took luggage to the room on the day of arrival, and the various features of the room were explained, and luggage was taken back down to reception on departure, all at the times indicated, and efficiently.

Was woken up in the middle of one night by a strange hammering noise, which sounded like someone trying to get out of my wardrobe. I was just getting fed up with it, and about to get up and investigate, when it stopped, and I never heard it again - strange....

The conference facilities were OK, if a little cramped, but I liked the 'quirkiness' of the hotel, there was something different around every corner, be it a view, or another little swimming pool, another bar/ seating area.

Food was fine - with a mixture of buffets and a la carte options, it was impossible to go hungry, and there was plenty of choice, and the a-la carte was good quality. Staff seemed very accomodating, and were happy to discuss the food, and at the bar, the staff recommended and were happy to chat about local wines.

Didn't use the pool/ spa, but colleagues did and had no complaints...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allatseaSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I prefer modern establishments but I suppose it is appropriate for the area. Its the old school 5 star. Example no LCD TV... The spa is however really outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCapitalSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed there a while ago but the hotel was very good. Our first two (yes two) rooms had problems with the water (brown sludge in it) which was awful but the staff handled it very well and we were given a great suite in a bungalow. Excellent (although the bed was a little small) and we really enjoyed our stay. As for the wine superb and the barman was a great bloke.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.8 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,800 reviews
4.9 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
5.1 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
581 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanzerac Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Property: Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Address: No. 1 Lanzerac Street | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanzerac Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a 155ha working wine estate, on the outskirts of picturesque Stellenbosch, the historic 300-year-old Lanzerac Hotel & Spa is the perfect base from which to explore SA’s most famous winelands. With just 48 luxurious bedrooms, this 180-year-old Manor House exudes an air of intimacy and provides the ultimate in personalized service.The hotel’s fine-dining restaurant with several different dining areas offers guests a wide choice of culinary styles. Guests end their evenings over coffees, liqueurs, cognacs and cigars enjoyed either in the trendy Esquire Whiskey & Cigar Bar or in the elegant Craven Lounge with its genuine antiques and authentic Cape Dutch architecture. Whilst the historic Manor House provides an ideal venue for private in-or-outdoor conferences and functions, the picturesque setting of the Manor Lawns offers the perfect opportunity for exclusive outdoor events and lavish weddings. Leisure activities include swimming in one of the hotel’s 3 outdoor pools, golfing, hiking and mountain biking, wine tasting and cellar tours. Treatments at the world-class Lanzerac Spa & Wellness Center take place against a stunning backdrop of mountains and vineyards, ensuring you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. The spa has recently added the revolutionary “Dr.Fish” Therapy to its repertoire, where tiny fish are utilized to exfoliate the skin and give it a micro-massage. Come and experience true South African heritage, first-class service and luxury, superior pampering and wellness! We’ve been preparing for your arrival for over 300 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lanzerac Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Hotel Stellenbosch
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing