We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel, spolit by small details and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Went here on a business trip and found it largely good, except for the following:

1. Location is remote from Stellenbosch downtown. Having said that, I'd think you'd be mad to go anywhere in South Africa without your own car and a good Satnav;

2. Food was average and although well presented, was spolit by a solitary insect larva in the salad, which encouraged me to travel into town. Admittedly this could have been the only incident, but its enough to put you off for life. Plus this is something you should simply get right.

Booking/check in: straightforward and non-eventful. staff at reception were friendly and efficient.

Overall appearance/ambience: The setting for this hotel is in a valley, backing onto one of Stellenbosch's numerous vineyards and with sweeping views of the mountains, this is one of the compensating benefits for its location. The hotel is modern, with good in room facilities, and though is boasts a "no frills" marketing campaign, the overall standard is good.

Room/facilities: The room is large and well appointed, with a modern flatscreen TV with satellite, but no on-demand services. Bathroom was great, no problems, reasonably swish and with good water pressure/hot water. Furniture was good quality laminated and contributed to a modern, sleek quality ambience. Overall, even though marketed as no frills, this hotel would be good enough for a romantic getaway without getting you lynched by the other half, especially if you get a room with a mountain view (I did). Bed was great, an expansive King Size with good support for a good night's sleep. A/C and all other facilities worked without fuss.

No Internet access to speak of: I'm inclined to think this is a general issue in ZA, as most of my South African colleagues are always banging on about poor Internet/cell coverage. However, my 3G USB fob worked well, so just remember to pack one with a roaming plan. Desk space was good for working. Very limited room service here.

Food: One area that could use some improvement. The menu choice is poor and unimaginative and whilst the food looked reasonably fresh (as you would expect in such a location), so did the larva. Maybe I was unlucky, but I think they either need to go upscale and solve the grub problem, or go a step downscale and stick to very simply food (e.g., frozen pizzas, burgers, sandwiches). Maybe the latter, as there are good restaurants in town they'd have to compete with.

Summary: A nice hotel in a nice location for a quiet getaway in ZA's wine country, or working in your hotel room with few distractions. Driving into town (10 minutes only) to get to good restaurants is for me not such a big issue as others have pointed out, mainly because I would not want to walk much around South Africa, not even Stellenbosch, for security reasons.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvertimento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 372 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2010

This hotel is in a techno park outside of town so a car is essential. It is a very quiet location with a vineyard right outside of our room. The rooms are in 'blocks' beside the main building. The rooms are a good size and clean with comfy beds. They have AC, tea making facilities, hairdryer & safe. We ate our evening meal in the restaurant the two nights we were there. It was a buffet type, very good the first night but not so good the second. Think I would have preferred a hotel in Stellenbosch itself.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

My husband and I with our eighteen year old daughter stayed at your hotel for 3 nights. What a PLEASURE, it was absolutely up to our standards, super CLEAN a nice view on the dam with all the ducks and beautiful birds as well as VERY GOOD SERVICE.

THIS IS WHAT WE NEED IN OUR COUNTRY, SERVICE AND FRIENDLYNESS.

Thank you very much Protea Hotel, you will definitely see us again.
JR

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisimaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

When we arrived at the hotel there were issues with the hot water in our room. The management of the hotel quickly moved us to another room and also gave us a small gift of fruit and wine to make up for the inconvenience. We only ate breakfast at the hotel which was very good. The views of the valley and mountains from the hotel are glorious. Would recommend for those travelling to this area for winetasting as in the heart of winelands, not too expensive and one normally eats out at winefarms etc so don't need to stay in an expensive hotel to enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsjJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

The hotel is located away from city in a peaceful place next to the Technopark sourrounded by grape farms and hills. The hotel rooms are nice and every room has a beautiful scenic view of natural beauty.

The inbuilt lawns and gardens are maintained very well and one can enjoy a nice morning walk. The pool side view is also good.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BigcatRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

I had a room in "cottage" A, ie closest to the main building, up on the 2nd floor, no elevator, and a huge piece of luggage to carry up the stairs.
I only have good things to say about my room, clean, nice, everything in order, with fantastic view of a vineyard!
The hotel is more like small "cottages" separate from the main building and it can be quite a walk depending on where your room is. I was in luck, cottage A.
The hotel is way outside central Stellenbosch and that's a town without taxis.
I strongly recommend you have your own transportation when you come to this hotel! We got help in arranging for transportation back to the hotel after a meal in restaurant downtown.
The hotel is spread out on a large area, I think this is more of a conference/business hotel.
This is not my kind of hotel, I like staying somewhere central where I don't need to worry about (nonexistent) taxis/transportation back.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2009

Ok - the main gripe first. The location of this place is awful if you don't have a car. I ended up staying there for 3 nights on a business trip and felt pretty stranded. If you fancy going for a short walk, the nearby 'sights' are a business park. Stellenbosch centre is a good 10-15 minute drive away.

Breakfasts were good but the one evening meal I had on room service was awful - a pork steak (on the menu as sirloin?) was cooked to death then smothered in bbq sauce and accompanied with half cooked fried. The Black Bull bar and restaurant is kind of nice although I had a beer so don't know about the food.

Internet access is by flaky wireless which would only work in my room if I kept the computer by the bedroom window and I was close-ish to the main reception area. Its also pretty expensive

The room was fine - as already stated in other reviews, this is less a hotel and more a compound of mini-holiday apartments - my 'room' actually had a separate bedroom and lounge which had a small kitchenette in it with microwave, sink, toaster and fridge although I didnt use any of this.

This is it means the whole place is very spread out over a small campus so if you need to go to reception or to the restaurant it can be quite a walk (compared to being in a regular hotel at least).

Wouldn't stay here again if I return as I would prefer to be closer to the centre of town where there is stuff going on.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank stu20001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
3.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,063 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
946 reviews
2.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
708 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
6 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#10 of 17 in Stellenbosch
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch

Address: Techno Avenue | Techno Park, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#10 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $122 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Winelands, in one of the most beautiful and heritage conscious towns, Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch offers all guests the best of the Winelands. Stellenbosch is the second-oldest town in South Africa and affectionately referred to as the "Eikestad." Our hotel in Stellenbosch is nestled between two international golf courses. Accommodation is available in Executive, Deluxe and Standard Twin rooms, where Deluxe and Standard rooms configure to a two-bedroom apartment ideal for families and groups. Executive rooms have the best view in the house and are designed with the executive traveller in mind. Whether it’s the magnificent backdrop of mountain ranges you seek, perhaps just a scenic drive or wine tasting at the many surrounding wine farms, you will never run out of things to see and do. The hotel boasts two restaurants, two swimming pools, braai facilities, wireless internet access and the largest conference venue in Stellenbosch. If that’s not enough, why not gaze at the 270° view of the Helderberg mountain range, Blaauwklippen vineyards and the De Zalze Golf Estate. Whether it’s a family holiday or a team building activity you are looking for, Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch is just the venue for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch Protea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing