We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for meetings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place for meetings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I visited the hotel as part of an International Sales meeting - I flew in from Dubai. The hotel resembles a small gated community, with separate houses, each one subdivided into the hotel rooms. Mine was very comfortable and easily transformed into my office with my laptop and complimentary wifi. The restaurant, bar and meeting rooms were fine and I found the staff helpful and courteous. I'd be more than happy to visit again.

Room Tip: I had a suite, overlooking open fields...try to choose a room close to the main block to avoid long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eagley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    129
    52
    12
    10
See reviews for
66
116
15
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a group of international guests who arrived before international conference and some stayed after the conference at the Protea Hotel Stellenbosch Techno Park. It is a great location with lovely rooms - we stayed in the luxury rooms which were a little better than the standard rooms.

Breakfast was great with magnificent views.

Room Tip: Go for the luxury rooms facing the mountain (even though the pool area is great). They have unbelie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for almost a week in late januari/early februari. The hotel grounds contains multiple buildings. The main building upfront houses the reception, restaurant, bar, etc. Further down the grounds are the buildings that contain the rooms, up to 8 per building. Access is on the outside, rooms on the upper floor have stairs only. The furthest buildings (J, K, L, M) are a few minutes walking distance from the entrance. There is parking space in front of the room buildings.

This was a enjoyable stay. There were some minor issues with the bed preferences, but these were quickly fixed the next day. The staff is friendly and willing to go the extra mile. Laundry service was good - quick and good quality - nasty red wine stains came out without a trace! Thanks!

The rooms are OK. Everything is covered: good beddding, airco, in-room safe, bathroom amenities, wireless ethernet, etc. The Wifi is a bit of a hassle with accounts, vouchers and a limit of 500MB/day, but it works. There is no minibar in the room. The larger rooms have (empty) fridges, mine didn't. One real issue with the room inventory: there was no luggage stand! I enquired about it with the housekeeping staff, but they told me the hotel had none. Strange! Ended up opening my suitcase on the floor each and every time.

The bathroom is a bit outdated though - or they just made some wrong choices in tiling materials. Anyway, it could use an update. And the keycards aren't 100% reliable. Mine had to be reprogrammed once but some keys for fellow travelers were even less reliable. The reception is stafffed 24/7 however so they can immediately fix it for you. It can be quite a walk however..

The hotel pool is perfect! Salt water, very large and deep. Good for actual swimming!. There is a second, smaller pool as well that's more suited for ju.st hanging around in the pool. Pools are open 24/7 and we had some great night swims.

There is a nice deck outside of the main building with a few seating area's. Great to lean back in a couch and enjoy a glass of wine. And remember, it's SA, so you're welcome to bring you own bottle if you pay a small corkage fee. Or just order something from the bar (which closes down at midnight).

Breakfast is great! All the basics are covered. They have a very good fruit selection. I enjoyed the made-to-order eggs by Bianca a lot! Thanks!

Will definitely return when I'm in Stellenbosch.

Room Tip: There are two sizes of rooms in most units. The exterior rooms (numbers 5 and 7 on the upstairs floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

This Protea is a few km's out of town but very easy to get to. It has lovely views and well-furnished rooms for its rating. Service was a bit chaotic at times but the staff were generally very friendly. My only real complaint was how noisy the rooms were. Although set up in small blocks, the amount of external noise was surprising. There are two restaurants on site so it isn't necessary to drive out for a meal unless you choose to.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 528AndrewS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Found this hotel easily just of the main road, but would think you would need a car to stay here as its a fair way from town. Check in was a bit haphazed but everyone was friendly and pleasent.
The room and hotel facilites are better than expected and than they look on the website, our room was massive with a little cupboard that had a kitchen with fridge, microwave, running water & associated plates cutlery etc. and a small balcony at either end.
The pool was nice but they did not have any towels, but they dad have a bar b que which they provided wood for.
There was a bar and resturant on site, but as these seems a little quite while we was there we ate in town.
Check out was swift and the bill correct.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MHeath42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintin B, Rooms Division Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear MHeath42,

Thank you for the feedback with regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Stellenbosch.

We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon!

Yours Sincerely

Quintin Byloo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane,
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

When registering for a botanical conference in Stellenbosch, we found the university residence unsuitable for a couple so the conference organizers found alternative accommodation at the Protea Stellenbosch, about 10 km from town. We found this was a wonderful retreat after the busy activity of the conference, with excellent food at two restaurants, a clean and very comfortable room, and two welcome swimming pools nearby to our room. The view of the mountains from the main dining room is incredible and the long twilight we experienced while dining is something to remember. The ducks, guinea fowl and plovers in the vicinity of the hotel added to the experience of an enjoyable stay. The staff were always helpful and polite and I was particularly impressed with the return of my camera to our room by a waitress after I had left it in the dining room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bksimon43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintin B, Rooms Division Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear bksimon43,

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered.

Please be assured that we will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Yours Sincerely

Quintin Byloo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Very good for a 3 star hotel. Hotel well situated in Stellenbosch and easy accessable. Amnesties also very nice. Staff friendly and very helpful. Good restaurant and good food. Will stay at hotel again next time.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RegardtCilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintin B, Rooms Division Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Cilliers

We rely very much on our GUESTS’ feedback to determine what we are doing right, and what we need to improve on, and you have been extremely helpful in this regard!

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. We would, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to review the Protea Hotel Stellenbosch and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Quintin Byloo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.9 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa
2.5 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
2.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
4.5 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
Address: Techno Avenue, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Winelands, in one of the most beautiful and heritage conscious towns, Stellenbosch is the second-oldest town in South Africa and affectionately referred to as the "Eikestad." Nestled between two international golf courses, Protea Hotel Stellenbosch offers all guests the best of the Winelands. Accommodation is available in Executive, Deluxe and Standard Twin rooms, where Deluxe and Standard rooms configure to a two-bedroom apartment ideal for families and groups. Executive rooms have the best view in the house and are designed with the executive traveller in mind. Whether it’s the magnificent backdrop of mountain ranges you seek, perhaps just a scenic drive or wine tasting at the many surrounding wine farms, you will never run out of things to see and do. The hotel boasts two restaurants, two swimming pools, braai facilities, wireless internet access and the largest conference venue in Stellenbosch. If that’s not enough, why not gaze at the 270° view of the Helderberg mountain range, Blaauwklippen vineyards and the De Zalze Golf Estate. Whether it’s a family holiday or a team building activity you are looking for, Protea Hotel Stellenbosch is just the venue for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch Protea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing