We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to use as a base camp when in wine country!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to use as a base camp when in wine country!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We love using the Protea in Stellenbosch as our base when we are in the cape. It is nicely located in the heart of wine country. You are minutes from many vineyards, 30 minutes from the beautiful Franschhoek valley and about 40 minutes from downtown Cape Town. We particularly enjoy when we are travelling with friends as they have many interconnecting rooms with a door that locks on an outside hallway that allows the individual rooms to lock yet have free passage to and from via the inside hallway. Beds sleep great and the wifi is quick. It is a bit of a walk to the front from some of the rooms, but the scenery is so beautiful it makes up for it.

Room Tip: The lower in the alphabet the building, the closer it is to the restaurant, but none are that far aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintin B, Rooms Division Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Jeff J,

Thank you for the positive Feedback regarding your stay with us.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about our property and please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    133
    57
    12
    10
See reviews for
68
121
15
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

we always enjoy our stay here.Rooms are spacious and some have great views over looking golf course,wine farm and town with the mts . behind.Hotel is spotless and food excellent,staff very helpful and friendly,can't wait to return..

Room Tip: choose a view of the mts. or the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geepicklegillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintin B, Rooms Division Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Geepicklegillian,

Thank you for your words of appreciation. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Stellenbosch soon.

Yours Sincerely

Quintin Byloo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The rooms or rather suites are really spacious and inviting . The layout of the hotel is such that it affords privacy and space to all visitors . The rooms had a mini fridge , a micro and a small kitchenette which was well stocked with crockery and cutlery .
We requested for a vineyard facing room and were not disappointed . The view was awesome . We had traveled with our 4 year old and a sofa cum bed was laid out for her in the outer room .
The breakfast spread was quite good and there was a spread for the kids too.
The pool was adequate. Yes , did not see any towels around . Overall , I did not see much staff around . We ordered room service once and we met a lady at the restaurant who took our order and she was the same one who delivered it to our room . It seems that the hotel is working on minimal staff
The other complaint I have was that we were not allowed to charge anything to the room unless we gave a credit card guarantee. Either we pay for the service upfront or provide a credit card guarantee at the time of check in . I found that a bit unfriendly .
However , we used the hotel only to relax during the evenings and sleep so did not use many of their services . We drove to stellenbosch as did most people so never needed to ask them for taxis or anything .We asked them for directions to Polkadraai farm and the hotel willingly helped us with GPS coordinates . All in all , a lovely place to stay when visiting Stellenbosch .

Room Tip: Ask for Vineyard facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2_travel7559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Spread among vineyards this hotel having cottage type buildings with no elevators a sprawling interior recreates a calm and quaint resting place as if in the lap of Nature far from the madding crowd,yet not lacking in modern amenities

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilanjansengupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintin B, Rooms Division Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Nilanjansengupta,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and that you loved our property. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Stellenbosch soon.

Kind Regards

Quintin Byloo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth Garden City, U.K.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel has fabulous, commanding views and is very spacious. We had to stay twice in 8 days and took a chance; we were not disappointed. The room was huge (an executive, non-smoking) and had excellent amenities, such as a fridge and a microwave. The bathroom was large, with a separate walk-in shower. The view from the room was gorgeous. On our first visit we found the pool bar did not have any towels and had run out of some items but it was Christmas time, so that was probably the reason.
Breakfasts are good with a huge range of items. Altogether, lovely staff, a smart and attractive property and one which we will return to.

Room Tip: The one around the pool could be noisy, if you want quiet. The executive rooms are enormous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintin B, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Elizabeth H,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback after your recent stay with us at the Protea Hotel Stellenbosch.

I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience. Your commendation on our property is highly valued.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Stellenbosch again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

While the rooms were what can be expected of a hotel such as Protea, the service was terrible and food at the restaurant below par. There was no one to offer towels for the pool and it was a struggle trying to ask for a taxi into town. Let down.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintin B, Rooms Division Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Lucy M,

On behalf of the management and STAFF at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch, I would like to apologise most sincerely for your unacceptable service experience.

We are extremely saddened by your feedback. As you are aware, Protea Hotels prides itself in delivering the best GUEST service and strives to get the basics right consistently. Your overall experience is therefore very concerning to us.

I wish to confirm that I have personally followed up on your comments and will rectify the shortcomings in our service that you have brought to our attention.

Thank you for taking the time to report your constructive criticism as it is absolutely necessary for us to know how our GUESTS experience our service and facilities. We value your feedback as an extremely important tool in our day to day operations, as this helps us to improve your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

My family has booked in year every December for the last 8 years. We certainly love it here hence the reason for returning.Over the years this place has become increasingly busy and it seems that this hotel can't handle that too well. Standard of service has somewhat reduced over the years, yet prices seem to increase quite consistently. Rooms need to be maintained, broken doors, stained and dirty couches, dirty carpets, cracked walls and tiles are top on the list of improvements required. This is my home away from home no doubt, so please please take heed to some constructive criticism.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank reona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintin B, Rooms Division Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Reona,

Thank you for taking the time to report your constructive criticism as it is absolutely necessary for us to know how our GUESTS experience our service and facilities. We value your feedback as an extremely important tool in our day to day operations, as this helps us to improve your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
3.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,800 reviews
2.5 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
4.5 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
793 reviews
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa
2.5 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
Address: Techno Avenue | Techno Park, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#10 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Winelands, in one of the most beautiful and heritage conscious towns, Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch offers all guests the best of the Winelands. Stellenbosch is the second-oldest town in South Africa and affectionately referred to as the "Eikestad." Our hotel in Stellenbosch is nestled between two international golf courses. Accommodation is available in Executive, Deluxe and Standard Twin rooms, where Deluxe and Standard rooms configure to a two-bedroom apartment ideal for families and groups. Executive rooms have the best view in the house and are designed with the executive traveller in mind. Whether it’s the magnificent backdrop of mountain ranges you seek, perhaps just a scenic drive or wine tasting at the many surrounding wine farms, you will never run out of things to see and do. The hotel boasts two restaurants, two swimming pools, braai facilities, wireless internet access and the largest conference venue in Stellenbosch. If that’s not enough, why not gaze at the 270° view of the Helderberg mountain range, Blaauwklippen vineyards and the De Zalze Golf Estate. Whether it’s a family holiday or a team building activity you are looking for, Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch is just the venue for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch Protea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing