We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Hermanus, South Africa
2 reviews
“Disappointed..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

VERY nice location, but NOT a very nice welcome!
Reception staff need to learn how to smile..
Rooms is very nice, beds and bedding is the best!
Bar is very nice. Restaurant is fine.
General Manager is cooooool - thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PottieJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanell B, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Good day

Thank you for your comments posted on Tripadvisor. We at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch strive on our good service and STAFF friendliness. This is very shocking for me to read this morning and i will immediately follow up your complaint.

Sanell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    131
    56
    12
    10
See reviews for
67
119
15
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was our second stay and I would look at my last review for more detail. In short it is a hotel aimed at the business traveller. The rooms are a good size and are well done. Our kids love the family suites which allows them to have their own room. It is good value. You must have a car

What I would add to my last review is that the restaurants are not recommended. Unlike many of the other Protea hotels where we have had good meals it is not the case here. We had a very poor quality lunch. Breakfast on the other hand was very good.

We will go back because it delivery exactly what we want. A good nights sleep at a cheap price.

On the positive side this time the staff we fantastic and could not have been more helpful.

Room Tip: You want a room away from the pool and the reception as these areas can be noisy. If you have kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManFromLondon186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanell B, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Good day

Thank you for your your comments posted on Tripadvisor. This is the only true way for us to meassure our service and standards we are so proud to offer. Please be sure that i will personally go and speak to my Executive Head Chef about the poor lunch you had at the hotel. Thank you for all your positve feedback as well.

Kind regards
Sanell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

They say that "the proof of the pudding is in the eating" and my wife and I have certainly "indulged" in the hospitality of Protea Hotel Stellenbosch on umteen occasions. Having stayed there for no less than 54 nights, I guess we are more than qualified to review this hotel!

Situated on a hill just outside the Stellenbosch CBD, the hotel affords the weary soul a panaromic view that is simply breathtaking. It is so therapeutic just to sit and gaze at the surrounding mountains and take in the tranquility.

If you book a deluxe room facing the vineyard, you are guaranteed an enjoyable stay. The deluxe rooms have a spacious bedroom with a king size bed, en suite bathroom and separate lounge/ kitchenette. Truly your home away from home!

The hotel boasts a sunny, modern restaurant where a variety of dishes are tantalisingly on offer. The breakfasts are generous and an ideal starter to the day.

Most important to my wife and me, the staff are always courteous and helpful. They never fail to give you a welcoming smile and a warm greeting. They never take you for granted and always treat you like VIP's!

On our last visit in April 2013, we discovered that there were no less than 3 food fares over the weekend. Located in the grounds of nearby wine estates, these food fares are ideal for a leisurely visit. There you will find plenty to eat and lots of entertainment for the kids.

In conclusion, my wife and I have never been disappointed by PH Stellenbosch and we can't wait for our next visit. See you there!

Room Tip: Book a vineyard facing deluxe room on the first floor. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickyed888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanell B, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi there

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you had a great experience during your last stay at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch. We strive to deliver the best GUEST service at all times and to ensure that our STAFF delivers constantly.

Hope to see you in the near future and to be able to deliver again to all your needs.

Kind regards
Sanell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Had an awesome stay at the mentioned hotel.. I had my reservations, but they surprised me..The place is very well situated, between the mountains and the winelands of Stellenbosch. Once inside,you can feel the relaxing atmosphere. Kids had loads of fun,as there was lot to do for them. Will definitively recommend it and go back myself.... Big Thumps Up.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahdeel1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanell B, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Good day

Thank you for your kind words you have posted on Tripadvisor. I am glad to see you've enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Sanell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathu, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very friendly and helpfull staff, because we are pro-card members they upgraded us for free to a presidential suite. the breakfast was superb, they can maybe just add another person at the griller as we waited more than 30minutes for an omelet. the view from our room was spectacular. we stayed in block L room 5
i will surely revisit the protea hotel at techno park.

Room Tip: block L room 5 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lezanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanell B, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Good day

Thank you for your kind words you posted on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch. GUESTS perception are the only true way for us to meassure our service and standards we are so proud to offer. I've taken notice of your concerns in the restaurants and i will bring this to my Chef's attention.

Hope to see you soon at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch.
Sanell
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at hotel in 2011 with my work team. This is very much like a motel and not good for business travel as there is no wifi apart from the reception area.
Aircon was noisy and was switched off evey day by cleaning staff and lots of cob web in the room.
Dont stay at this hotel if you are used to finer hotels.... Pity as it is convenient lacation for business trip to the techno park...

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanell B, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Good day

Thank you for your comments you posted on tripadvisor. GUEST perception is the only way for us to meassure our service and standards we are so proud to offer. I would really like to apologise for the poor service you received during your stay. This is not the way we operate and i am really not proud about this.

Please accept my sincerest apology about this.

Kind regards
Sanell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

i was not initially impressed that our conference was to be held some way out of town in a techno park but the venue was good, the rooms of decent size and clean, the views excellent, the staff most obliging and friendly
i would return with my family

Room Tip: ask for a room in the front blocks as they have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChubbyHubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanell B, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Good day
Thank you for your comments you posted on Tripadvisor. This is the only way for us to meassure our service and standards we are so proud to offer.

We would like to welcome you and your family back to our property.
Kind regards
Sanell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
3.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
2.5 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa
4.5 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
2.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
Address: Techno Avenue, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Winelands, in one of the most beautiful and heritage conscious towns, Stellenbosch is the second-oldest town in South Africa and affectionately referred to as the "Eikestad." Nestled between two international golf courses, Protea Hotel Stellenbosch offers all guests the best of the Winelands. Accommodation is available in Executive, Deluxe and Standard Twin rooms, where Deluxe and Standard rooms configure to a two-bedroom apartment ideal for families and groups. Executive rooms have the best view in the house and are designed with the executive traveller in mind. Whether it’s the magnificent backdrop of mountain ranges you seek, perhaps just a scenic drive or wine tasting at the many surrounding wine farms, you will never run out of things to see and do. The hotel boasts two restaurants, two swimming pools, braai facilities, wireless internet access and the largest conference venue in Stellenbosch. If that’s not enough, why not gaze at the 270° view of the Helderberg mountain range, Blaauwklippen vineyards and the De Zalze Golf Estate. Whether it’s a family holiday or a team building activity you are looking for, Protea Hotel Stellenbosch is just the venue for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch Protea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing