We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PAR EXCELLENCE!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“PAR EXCELLENCE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The fact that my wife and I spent our 48th night (yes 48th night!) at PH Stellenbosch says it all! This hotel is simply superb!

Over the years, we have returned time and time again to soak in the tranquility and beauty that Stellenbosch is famous for. The hotel, itself, is the ideal choice for a casual stopover or if you need to re-energise or just want a change from the home environment

Ideally situted on a hill just outside the Stellenbosch CBD, PH Stellenbosch offers guests a panaromic view that is simply indescribable! Yet, supermarkets, restaurants, banks and other amenities that one might need are only a short drive away.

The hospitality and friendliness that one encounters is exceptional, to put it mildly. As on all previous occasions, we were warmly greeted by Bridget and Mignon at the front desk. The way in which they handled us was quite faultless.

It was drizzling on our arrival and we were pleasantly surprised when Bridget came running to us with an umbrella! And her phone call to our room to enquire about us did not go unnoticed!

Bacause we arrived early and our deluxe room was not ready, we were offered an executive suite. What a nice gesture! We were more than happy with the upgrade!

However, it was not only the front desk personnel but also the dining room staff, particularly Eric the chef, the security and housekeeping staff who deserve commendation. Without exception, they were friendly, polite and made us feel so welcome.

Incidentally, the WIFI was working perfectly but we chose, instead, to enjoy our accommodation and the many sights in the vicinity.

My wife celebrates her birthday soon and we plan to mark the occasion by spending our 49th and 50th night at PH Stellenbosch. Needless to say, we can't wait!

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room facing the vineyard. The view is breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vickyed888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanell B, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to post on Tripadvisor after your stay with us, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards
Sanell Bergh
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    129
    52
    12
    10
See reviews for
66
116
15
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

After a very traumatic experience on our first visit to the hotel a week ago, we were invited back to the hotel. The response we received from management and the changes implemented based on our review was phenomenal. the warm welcome at reception and the lovely room more than compensate for a bad experience. We would love to thank the management and staff for running an exemplary establishment that is indeed family friendly. Our room overlooks a golf estate and the panoramic are to"die" for. I recommend this hotel to anyone in future. We had to come back and experience great hospitality and we are sure you will too.

Room Tip: The business suites are ideal for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremiah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanell B, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards
Sanell Bergh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This evening we cancelled all our appointments as we were in need of spending quality time together as a couple. We have both been extremely busy for the past two weeks and looked forward to a peaceful evening with lovely food and good conversation. We arrived at Protea Stellenbosch and received the warmest welcome ever by Anqelika, Bridgette and Jowaine. We were given an option of two dining venues and decided on The Cultivar Restaurant, to our greatest dismay.

The hotel is a three star facility, but the food was one star quality. For my starter I opted for butternut soup that turned out to be lumpy and it tasted like pumkin and water mixed in a pot with no detail to flavour. For my main meal I opted for the pasta with mushroom sauce and veal stew with a green salad. The pasta was overcooked and the mushroom sauce was too thick. Desert was lovely. I enjoyed the chocolate browny and was sipping on a cup of decaf coffee when the "fun" started.

There was a group of "white" people that were sitting drinking in a corner. They were noisy since the time we arrived, but did not draw any special attention until the one gentleman started slapping another at his table. No one did anything until my husband asked if there was no security to intervene and manage the insident immediately. At first a "tiny" female security arrived to break up the fight between the two men and later a male security arrived. The gentleman eventually stopped slapping the other, but continued swearing at him. Now all this happened in the restaurant while we were sitting enjoying our desert and coffee. I would have expected that the whole party be removed immediately, but this did not happen. We decided to leave as this was not what we bargained for and we were asked to settle our account in full.

The hotel management should teach their staff the appropriate management of conflict situations such as these. There should be a policy in place that staff can refer to when such an incident happens.

This was a "white" party, but I would have loved to see the reaction of the guest if this was a "black" slapping each other and fighting in a hotel of this stature.

In a few days we celebrate our wedding anniversary and this was in no way a pleasurable build-up to a special day in our life. We have booked at Arabella in Hermanus and trust to have a "better " experience there.

In conclusion ... Reception staff please teach the staff in the Cultivar Restaurant what client service is about, because you rendered excellent service this evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juliana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanell B, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Juliana W

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor. I believe that all issues were resolved between yourself and Gehan van der Merwe, our Assistant General Manager.

Thank you for your feedback and once again i would like to apologize for the insident that happened and the poor service you received.

Kind regards
Sanell Bergh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

This place was out of the way and yet they provided no shuttle service. The rooms looked like Motel 6. They never had working wifi, yet they kept saying it was being fixed. The staff was rude and unapologetic. One day they said my breakfast was free and the second day they said it wasn't and then tried to charge it. And because it costs 100 rand just to leave, you have no choice anyways.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harizhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanell B, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Good day

Please accept my sincere apologies for all the discomfort and inconvenience that was caused to you.
I confirm that this matter has been investigated and that our TEAM has taken the appropriate action to rectify the shortcomings in our service and facilities. Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive criticism, as it is absolutely necessary for us to know how our GUESTS experience our service. Your comments have reached the attention of all involved and have assisted us in creating a commitment to ensure that situations such as these do not arise in the future.

Kind regards
Sanell Bergh
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

A very functional hotel, but can't imagine using it without a car. There was nothing particularly exciting about the hotel. The positive is that rooms are set up so that a deluxe room (bedroom and sitting area) and a standard (bedroom) can easily be combined into a 2 bedroom suite, very convenient for our family; though our original request was misunderstood, we got 2 deluxe rooms instead, and it took tremendous effort and pressure from our conference organizer to accommodate us as promised. In addition, while the website advertises a kitchenette that enables self catering, that's misleading since the unit had a microwave, fridge, toaster, electric kettle, but no burners. We had hoped to be able to make eggs for breakfast, but that was impossible. The wifi signs are posted all over and on the hotel site, but during our visit worked only in the lobby, which was extremely inconvenient, particularly given that this is a hotel where many people on business stay. When we inquired, the staff seemed very casual about saying, "it will be working by next week" -- i.e. after we were to leave. The staff was helpful enough, but the "concierge" desk was empty most of the time, and the "back in 5 minutes" sign was a bit of a tease. The staff behind the main counter were not very knowledgeable or willing to provide local information, but were good enough to make phone calls to places I identified via internet. But one example, they recommended that in Franschoek we go to "a very famous place," Vrede en Lust for lunch, which I quickly assumed was "Rust en Vrede" -- which gets great reviews, but I had read were not open this time of year. They called and found it was open and made a reservation; but upon arrival we realized the error; this was a very informal cheese shop, though lunch was unexpectedly good, though without the views.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Frugaltrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanell B, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Good day

Thank you for rating our property on Tripadvisor. This is the only way for us to meassure our service and standards we are so proud to offer to all our GUESTS. I would like to apologize for the poor service you received during your stay and that the property was not up to your expectations.

We advertise the deluxe rooms with a mini kitchenette, reason being that there are no burners in the room. We are in the process to convert more deluxe rooms with a full kitchenette and currently have 5 of these rooms on the property.

The Wifi signal is a problem, but we are continuously working on it to resolve the issues. The concierge desk you mentioned is actually the outsorce transport company's desk and are not STAFFED by us. The reception area serves as the concierge desk and seeing that they also did not do a good job i again would like to apologize.

The service and standards you received are truly not what we offer our GUEST and please accept my apology.

Kind regards

Sanell Bergh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
294 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were only at the hotel for 2 nights. We found the hotel staff pleasant, helpful and upbeat. My husband inquired at the front desk about wine tours, and they went out of their way to locate, and contact the "vine hopper" for us. I believe the woman's name was "Yolanda." Also, on the day we left, our tour operator, Southern Circle forgot to pick us up. The front desk scrambled to get us a taxi, which was slow in coming. Then, a gentleman, who was staff ( didn't catch his name), offered to take us to the airport himself. This didn't occur but the offer was wonderful! Breakfast was fine. The rooms were clean, and spacious.

For the price, I think it was a very good place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ldtc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanell B, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to post a comment on Tripadvisor after your stay with us, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Sanell Bergh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel is several kilometers outside of town, and is not within walking distance of anything. Rooms were clean but unexciting. Restaurant is ok, but again unexciting. Staff unable to provide a receipt when I left and did not e-mail me with a receipt in a timely manner as they promised. Next time, I will pay a bit more and stay in town.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ajs2000_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanell B, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Good day

Thank you for posting and rating us on Trip advisor. This is the only way for us to meassure our service and standards we are so proud to offer to our GUESTS. I would like to apologize for the poor service you received during your stay with us. We are situated out of town and yes it can get very quiet here, but that sometimes are exactly what some GUESTS are looking for. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Kind regards

Sanell Bergh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.9 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa
2.5 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
2.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
4.5 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
Address: Techno Avenue, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Winelands, in one of the most beautiful and heritage conscious towns, Stellenbosch is the second-oldest town in South Africa and affectionately referred to as the "Eikestad." Nestled between two international golf courses, Protea Hotel Stellenbosch offers all guests the best of the Winelands. Accommodation is available in Executive, Deluxe and Standard Twin rooms, where Deluxe and Standard rooms configure to a two-bedroom apartment ideal for families and groups. Executive rooms have the best view in the house and are designed with the executive traveller in mind. Whether it’s the magnificent backdrop of mountain ranges you seek, perhaps just a scenic drive or wine tasting at the many surrounding wine farms, you will never run out of things to see and do. The hotel boasts two restaurants, two swimming pools, braai facilities, wireless internet access and the largest conference venue in Stellenbosch. If that’s not enough, why not gaze at the 270° view of the Helderberg mountain range, Blaauwklippen vineyards and the De Zalze Golf Estate. Whether it’s a family holiday or a team building activity you are looking for, Protea Hotel Stellenbosch is just the venue for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch Protea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing