We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time”
Review of Stellenbosch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stellenbosch Lodge
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“We had a great time”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

First of all we found all the staff very friendly and helpful. They arranged within minute’s notice a driver that took us to several different wine farms. They also managed to arrange both a place to eat and transportation on New Year’s Eve.

We enjoyed great service, good food and wine through the three nights we stayed.

When comparing price to standard we found it well worth the money. The rooms are comfortable and large, with well function bathrooms. Beds might be a bit firm, however we slept very well. Bed linen, towels are of good quality.

Breakfast had a good selection of cereals, cold cuts, bread, fruit and warm dishes, defiantly something for everyone.

We would love to stay at Stellenbosch lodge again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    26
    13
    6
See reviews for
6
17
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

A bit pricey for what you get. Rooms were a bit tired looking but clean enough. Staff were very friendly and helpful especially the young woman in reception and our Zimbabwean waiter. The pool was very nice and lunch was as advertised. Breakfast was a pretty standard affair. On site parking which was handy. Walls do seem to be alittle thin between the rooms as we had to listen to our neighbours getting jiggy with it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We just stayed over for a night and with breakfast the next morning we couldn't complain. The lodge has a country feel and could use some updates but it reflects the style of Africa as well. The price was right and it was a quick drive into town where the university is, can't beat it. It is also close to many vineyards of all kinds to choose from.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summergirl028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

If you looking for a small time out spending a few days in Stellenbosch (and you dont want to blow the bank) then this is just the right place to stay.
Warm friendly atmosphere and very nice staff. We used the Hotel as a base from which to visit many of the food and beverage establishments and wine farms in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

This is a comfortable and unpretentious hotel situated on the edge of the Blaauwklippen estate. The rooms were a little tired and in need of refurbishment but nevertheless comfortable. The hotel staff were helpful and courteous. Conference facilities and lounge were good - but outdoor entertainment area was in need of some attention.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Rooms are clean but are looking quite dated & could do with a re-fresh, staff (when you could find any) were uninterested. Biggest dissapointment was the pool - filthy and unusable. Would not stay here again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebrocketal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I work for a very company and we always struggle to find the a venue that can cater for our every need. As we where 150 I thought it would be a challenge for the lodge. On arrival we had such a friendly greeting and everything was perfect, from the food to the facilities, rooms and staff were excellent!
Thank you for making our experience such and amazing one!
Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertChaplin2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,823 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
814 reviews
1.9 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
589 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
631 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stellenbosch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stellenbosch Lodge

Property: Stellenbosch Lodge
Address: 25 Canterbury Street | Blaauwklippen Village, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stellenbosch Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Stellenbosch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing