We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply lovely retreat.”
Review of Devon Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Devon Valley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2010

This is a very comfortable boutique hotel. The setting is very beautiful with views of mountains and vineyards from the terrace.

I found the service at all levels excellent and the whole staff put themselves out to make my visit a great success.

My room was clean and very comfortable and had the best bed by far in my tour around South Africa. The restaurant food and service was first class and my two-day visit a great success in every way.

I would happily recommend this lovely retreat and come back myself anytime.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlenell60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 710 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2010

An excellent choice hotel by Riviera travel.. Super location, beautiful rooms and views.
We enjoyed the varied menu in the restaurant, the service was good and the atmospere calm and efficient. Our room had super views over the gardens and towards the mountains. The bathroom was large and well equipped. A really lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leisureseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Devon Valley was a great place to stay. It is a little off the beaten path, but so are most of the winery hotels around the Stellenbosch area. We stayed in one of the “new” rooms, and within the new rooms, some of them are upgradeable for around $10. The upgrade gives you the sliding doors between the bathroom and main room, and a fireplace. Other than that, the rooms are the same. The “old” rooms looked to have more character, but since none of our group stayed in them, I cannot give details.

The rooms were very spacious and clean. The beds and linens were very plush and EXTREMELY comfortable. The gas fireplace was nice for ambiance. The highlight was the bathroom. They were large, modern, had a walk-in glass shower, claw footed tub, and nice amenities. There were pocket doors between the tub and main room that opened to make the space even more open and spacious. The sliding doors, opposite of the bathroom, opened to bring the views of the vineyards in as well as let a nice breeze in during the day. They were wonderful rooms.

The restaurant was delicious. The staff was more than attentive. My glass never got below half-full…but they never crowded you. Typically you could choose from a great buffet, or order off the menu (dinners were from the menu). In the four days we were there, we were never disappointed. In addition to the dining room, you could eat out on the patio. When the sun set, candles would be delivered and you could continue under candle light until you chose to go inside. It was a very nice place to sit. With the “expensive” wine being around $8 per bottle, a nice drink before or after dinner was a MUST! It was nice being able to order whatever you wanted and never really have to worry about the bill. Side note…if you have never been to South Africa….things are CHEAP. Full dinners (appetizer, salad, main course, dessert, and a few bottles of wine) for 6 people rarely was over $100 USD. The quality rivaled what good restaurants in the States would provide, but for a fraction of the cost!

One of the best things about Devon Valley was the staff. They took care of every need we had. One of my favorites was the patio. We had a few waiters that always looked for us. They made sure I had my favorite beer and my wife had her favorite wine within a minute of sitting down. From there, they took care of all of our drink and dining needs., even following you into the dining room when you were ready for dinner. The room was always immaculate. They came in whenever we were gone and straightened things out, cleaned, and took care of anything we needed.

Even though the hotel was a little way off the main highway, it was a good location. Within a few minutes walk, you could be at a few different wineries, including one sparkling wine. You were close to a few gold courses….I played at one of them and it was very nice. My wife went off and had a great massage about 15 minutes away and it had top notch service. We visited 10-12 wineries a day and collected some great wines to bring home. For scenery and wine tasting, the location is great. We stayed here after starting off in Cape Town, so being away from the action was just what we needed.

I would not hesitate to stay here again, or to recommend it to anyone looking to stay in the wine region of Cape Town.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jklancke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

The location of hotel is very nice and so are the surroundings with large swimming pool and very nice garden BUT there was NO service, in the contrary. Shortly after 7 a.m. the rooms maids started JELLING around the place and no later then 8 a.m. the lawn and gardens were cleaned with all possible noise. Sleep impossible. The breakfast was set up in the restaurant inside only although the weather was beautiful. We asked to have breakfast on the terrace which was very reluctantly granted - one was not amused about this. Nobody greeted or smiled or asked if they could be of help. When we had drinks in the bar, 5 (!) employees stood around and talked about private affairs so loud that we had problems to understand each other. Noone took notice or care of us or asked if we would like anything more. The 2 ladies at reception could not have been unfriendlier - they looked at their computer when talking to me and when I complained upon checking out, one grinned at me and very arrogantly answered "Well THANK YOU very much!" - This was all - not the least effort to explain things. We think that management of this hotel is simply not existent or really, really bad and not interested in training their staff at all.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schoenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

This hotel is lovely and the rooms are gorgeous - stylish, very clean with excellent views. We stayed on Valentine's day and the evening meal was a huge disappointment. We had to ask for menus and resorted to going to the bar ourselves as the service was so slow.
The next day was not any better, the service can only be described as amateur with unknowledgeable, slow staff who lacked any enthusiasm. This is by far the worst service we received during our South Africa trip. Reception was not welcoming and room service took well over an hour.
The swimming pool is nice and quiet however there is no service there.
Hotel has huge potential and we much preferred staying on a vineyard rather than in Stellenbosch town as we did last year., hopefully they will address the service issues.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DelfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvanVale, Assistant General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2010

Dear Mr Huse,

Thank you again for your review as well as the details you sent us via email after departure and your comment form at check out. As we discussed in our email communications in the past week, we do greatly value your input and the issues you've raised with us have already been addressed with the particular staff members in question who did not offer you outstanding service during your stay over. We were really alarmed by your comments and obviously regarded it in a very serious light.

We were extremely busy over the Valentine's weekend and your first night inhouse (14 Feb) was especially busy during dinner time. The service levels were not consistent on the evening, as you noticed, and as mentioned in my mails to you, I sincerely apologise for your disappointment. There has been a a couple of unfortunate indicidents during your stay, specifically relating to F&B service. However, I can assure you that this is not the norm at our hotel at all, but rather the exception. You can see that from our other guest reviews as we've been on a 92% overall score until this past week when you posted your comment, and we're still in the 1st position overall compared to 15 other hotels in the Stellenbosch region. We do pride ourselves in excellent service and our friendly team of staff are committed to offering guests and visitors a truly memorable experience as well as genuine handmade hospitality.

We do hope that we will some day be able to welcome you back to the beautiful Devon Valley and prove to you that we can consistently offer outstanding service to our guests. My invitation to a complimentary return night's stay at our hotel still stands and we hope that you can make use of that some day.

We wish you all the best for the remainder of 2010 and may it be a productive and enjoyable year for you!

Kind regards,
Marlize Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

The hotel has fabulous views from its terrace over the valey and towards Stellenbosch. It is some way out of Stellenbosch but when we were there its higher location meant that it received cooling breezes. Quiet and peaceful, it was a great place to unwind at the start f our holiday. Eat outdoors on the terrace (you can also nejoy wine tasting from the hotel's vineyard here too or pizza from the oven on the terrace) or in the restaurant which has doors which open in good weather.
Attractive pool area and walks around the vineyards (variable lengths) with map from hotel. Excellent food and wine. Rooms are nicely appointed often with own terrace.
We were there two nights and happy to eat at the hotel both days. Easy access to Stellenbosch and winelands.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonKaytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We stayed at the Devon Valley Hotel for two nights in December as part of our holiday in South Africa. The hotel was recommended to us by a neighbouring wine producer whose vineyard and winery we were going to visit. His recommendation was excellent and the hotel really looked after us.

The location is fantastic with amazing views. The food at the hotel's restuarant was first class, so too were the lovely wines.

The staff went out of their way to look after us and attended to our every need.

We were staying in one of the new 'Vinyard' rooms which was gorgeous. The dividing wall between the bedroom and bathroom can be opened up giving fantastic views across the gardens and valley from the bathroom. The room really was fabulous.

We would recommend this hotel without doubt to anyone looking for a relaxing and enjoyable stay in a stunning setting amongst the winelands.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,063 reviews
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
951 reviews
3.6 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#10 of 17 in Stellenbosch
418 reviews
3.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $115 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing