We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Devon Valley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Spier Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$113
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eendracht Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
$66
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$143
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
$109
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$132
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (737)
Filter reviews
737 results
Traveler rating
389
253
56
30
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
253
56
30
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflavours restaurantriviera travelpizza ovenjc le rouxwalk in showerwine tastingluxury roomstunning viewswelcome drinkcape townbuffet breakfasttwo nightshotel is situatedwonderful hotellarge bathrooma real treatrelaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
392 - 397 of 737 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

The hotel ambience has a combination of old world charm and modern sophistication. The location is perfect within the Devon Valley which produces some of the finest Cape wines. I was booked in a comfortable room with two 3/4 beds and crisp white linen! Each room has a balcony and was lucky my room was facing the Helderberg Mountains! Awesome views snd sunsets. The buffet breakfast, ala carte dinners/buffet did not disappoint either. Lots of activities such as Vineyard hiking trails, wine tasting, Petanque and a nearby golf course.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Koki80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Koki80

As such a seasoned traveler I appreciate your amazing review on Devon Valley.

I am delighted my team delivered excellence in Hospitality

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Staff were so welcoming and accommodating when we arrived after a wet walk. We sat in the bar and had some drinks and toasted sandwiches which were great. Setting is amazing. We didn't stay overnight so can't comment on the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerokee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Jerokee

Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your brief time with us. Perhaps on your next visit to South Africa you can stay over night and enjoy our handmade hospitality further.

Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The staff here rock. Accommodating friendly and generally good hosts, met us with towels after returning in the rain. Generally a good experience. Food not bad either. Looks like a cool place for a conference or weekend get away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Places2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Places2014

Thank you for your amazing review. One of our values is "hand made hospitality". I am delighted you felt this during your stay.

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

A big big BIG thumbs up for Devon Valley Hotel on behalf of the Mountain Slayers Hiking Club. You guys didn't have to welcome the twelve of us with towels after torrential rain showers prematurely canceled our hike (we were after all not hotel guests), but you did.

You didn't have to add a couple of more blocks of wood to the fire, to warm up a bunch of drained hikers. But you did. You didn't have to give us an 'a la carte option' (your Sundays are reserved for a set lunch buffet), but you did. And you allowed us to sprawl out over your bar area. Thank you SO much for the warmest hospitality we could wish for (and some great food too) after being rained out.

We will be back, that is for sure!!

Warm regards, The Mountain Slayers (http://www.meetup.com/Mountain-Slayers-Hiking-CT)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MountainSlayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear MountainSlayers

Thank you for your amazing review on both TripAdvisor and Facebook. One of our core values is handmade hospitality and I am delighted my team delivered this tho you and your hikers.


Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The Devon Valley hotel is a very lovely place to stay! The reception team is very friendly and check-in was very fast.
The rooms are clean and big enough. All the buildings are very charming and you feel very relaxed as soonas you arrive. We had a breathtaking view over the vineyards.
If you arrive by your own car, there is no parking problem, there are enough parkings available.
The food in the restaurant is on a very high level and all is fresh arranged. We enjoyed a wine-and-dine special.
We can recommend this hotel to all and we would love to stay again in this lovely place.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Nicole J

Thank you for your review!

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews