We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking views of the Helderberg Mountains located in the winelands!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Devon Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devon Valley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views of the Helderberg Mountains located in the winelands!”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

The hotel ambience has a combination of old world charm and modern sophistication. The location is perfect within the Devon Valley which produces some of the finest Cape wines. I was booked in a comfortable room with two 3/4 beds and crisp white linen! Each room has a balcony and was lucky my room was facing the Helderberg Mountains! Awesome views snd sunsets. The buffet breakfast, ala carte dinners/buffet did not disappoint either. Lots of activities such as Vineyard hiking trails, wine tasting, Petanque and a nearby golf course.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Koki80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Koki80

As such a seasoned traveler I appreciate your amazing review on Devon Valley.

I am delighted my team delivered excellence in Hospitality

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    186
    47
    23
    7
See reviews for
82
318
10
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Staff were so welcoming and accommodating when we arrived after a wet walk. We sat in the bar and had some drinks and toasted sandwiches which were great. Setting is amazing. We didn't stay overnight so can't comment on the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerokee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Jerokee

Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your brief time with us. Perhaps on your next visit to South Africa you can stay over night and enjoy our handmade hospitality further.

Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The staff here rock. Accommodating friendly and generally good hosts, met us with towels after returning in the rain. Generally a good experience. Food not bad either. Looks like a cool place for a conference or weekend get away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Places2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Places2014

Thank you for your amazing review. One of our values is "hand made hospitality". I am delighted you felt this during your stay.

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2014

A big big BIG thumbs up for Devon Valley Hotel on behalf of the Mountain Slayers Hiking Club. You guys didn't have to welcome the twelve of us with towels after torrential rain showers prematurely canceled our hike (we were after all not hotel guests), but you did.

You didn't have to add a couple of more blocks of wood to the fire, to warm up a bunch of drained hikers. But you did. You didn't have to give us an 'a la carte option' (your Sundays are reserved for a set lunch buffet), but you did. And you allowed us to sprawl out over your bar area. Thank you SO much for the warmest hospitality we could wish for (and some great food too) after being rained out.

We will be back, that is for sure!!

Warm regards, The Mountain Slayers (http://www.meetup.com/Mountain-Slayers-Hiking-CT)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainSlayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear MountainSlayers

Thank you for your amazing review on both TripAdvisor and Facebook. One of our core values is handmade hospitality and I am delighted my team delivered this tho you and your hikers.


Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

The Devon Valley hotel is a very lovely place to stay! The reception team is very friendly and check-in was very fast.
The rooms are clean and big enough. All the buildings are very charming and you feel very relaxed as soonas you arrive. We had a breathtaking view over the vineyards.
If you arrive by your own car, there is no parking problem, there are enough parkings available.
The food in the restaurant is on a very high level and all is fresh arranged. We enjoyed a wine-and-dine special.
We can recommend this hotel to all and we would love to stay again in this lovely place.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Nicole J

Thank you for your review!

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
259 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Beautiful setting and old school exceptional service stood out for me!

Lovely spacious rooms with good quality linen, bathrooms incl Victorian bath and double shower.

Food was of very good quality on every occasion and well presented.

Nothing was to much trouble for any staff member and really everyone made us feel welcome throughout our stay. Will be back....

Room Tip: Ask for room with door opening outside to patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan-12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear stefan-12345

Thank you for your review and I am delighted that we could create "Memorable Experiences" during your stay with us.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel as part of our tour of South Africa. We were met with a cold glass of wine which was most welcome! The hotel has stunning views across the valley and sitting on the terrace looking across was a wonderful experience.

Our room was adequate but a little small and it was difficult to find space to put the cases in. There was also very little storage space. The other issue with the room was that it was very overlooked so when changing etc, we had to draw very thick curtains which shut out all the natural light. There is also no safe for valuables. However, the bed was comfortable.

The food in the hotel was generally good, particularly breakfast. However, the evening buffet was a little sparse for vegetarians. The Malaysian buffet evening was excellent however. The wine list was very good and the prices really reasonable.

All the members of staff were friendly and helpful.

The pool was nice with great views but it was really cold. It is a shame it is set in a shady area as it would have than benefited from some natural heat!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank saraWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear saraWIltshire

We are delighted you enjoyed our hotel and food. For other vegetarians travelling, please do let us know and we will always try create something special for you.

Kind regards


Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,709 reviews
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
843 reviews
3.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
752 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Property: Devon Valley Hotel
Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing