We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chilled place to unwind”
Review of Devon Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Devon Valley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A chilled place to unwind”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed at the hotel whilst running an event there. The facilities for running a business meeting are not the greatest but the positive attitude and friendliness of the service made up for any shortcomings. The Devon Valley Hotel has a lovely terrace for a beer at the end of the working day, or a glass of their own exceptional wine. The food in the restaurant is excellent (with wine recommendations) and they have a wood fired pizza oven as a bonus. There are many opportunities to taste wines locally and the town of Stellenbosch is only a very short drive away so it's a great place if you want to chill out and relax for a few days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucharesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear bucharesta

Thank you for your review following your conference. We are planning a fairly major refurbishment of the conference venues during this year.

I am delighted to hear my team made your stay. They all strive to deliver excellence in service to our guests

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    196
    49
    24
    7
See reviews for
89
335
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My stay at Devon Valley was a real treat, all that can be expected from a weekend away in the Cape Winelands. We started the weekend with pizza, wine and live music on the terrace, enjoying the sunset. Saturday morning we enjoyed a hike and spent the afternoon relaxing on the loungers by the pool area. I highly recommend their Sunday buffet. I look forward to our return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aderobillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear aderobillard

Many thanks for your amazing review. PIzzas, wine and beer on tap is our favourite pastime on a Friday and Saturday during summer months. We are glad your enjoyed!

See you soon


Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I will start with the room, M1 in the Old Part. It was like going back in time, old colonial feel. Massive 4 poster bed, large bathroom with "his and hers" shower plus a large bath. The patio doors opened onto a private area it had fantastic views especially to wake up to. There was a private small pool to the rear with a few beds which was part of the price, we paid extra for this but the other guests tried to use it. Not surprising as the main pool was half full of leaves. The food was of a good standard but they needed a "snack menu" because sometimes we did not want a full meal as we had eaten at lunchtime. Pizzas etc all week would have been good. It needs a bit of TLC to bring it up to a better standard. The staff were great, especially our housekeeper, she folded our clothes and put them away every day. Would I stop there again? probably as it was close to the town without being in the centre.

Room Tip: The Exec rooms in the manor house
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscardog1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Oscardog1234

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your room. Certainly the Manor house has that special feel.

We have recently taken on two new team members a rooms division manager and a new housekeeper. I am sure they will help me add that extra TLC you mention.

We look forward to welcoming you home to The Devon Valley Hotel.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Having been to Stellenbosch before and also visited Devon Valley Hotel for a wine tasting, we chose this Hotel with some confidence. Added to this was the excellent room rate we got, which was 3 nights for the price of 2, a bottle of wine and breakfast.

On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist. Our room key and wifi password issued. (wifi is not free at the hotel). However they have two computers which have internet access and are free to use. A concierge took us to our room and carried our bags.

We chose the new block of rooms that overlook a vineyard. They are obviously called Vineyard Rooms. (pics attached). We had ground floor room 38. The rooms are very spacious, I really liked the sliding wood shutter doors that separate the bathroom. These can be opened fully to create one large open space. The rooms are well equipped. The bathroom has twin sinks, hairdryer, separate walk in shower with a rainfall style head unit and a stand alone bath. The bed is king size which is very comfortable. There is a free to use safe, TV with some satellite stations, tea and coffee making facilities. There is aircon that is free and the unit was surprisingly quiet when running. The room was very clean and the sheets felt of good quality cotton. They have a turn down service, but if you are in your room already they hand you a small pack of Biscotti, a nice little touch.

I recommend the ground floor as you have a patio with table and chairs. Each evening we enjoyed sitting outside with a bottle of wine and watched the sun set over the hills.

The Hotel itself is excellent. On a Friday and Saturday they open the outside Pizza oven. We had a lovely handmade Pizza. The bar serves good food and reasonably priced. We did not use the Flavours Restaurant.

Breakfast is buffet style, served in the main dining room and has hot and cold options. Breakfast was very good with all food fresh and appetising. A big bonus is you can eat as much as you like!!

I recommend doing their wine tasting. You can sit at the outside patio and the wine waiter will come to you and explain about their Wine in an informal and informative way.

The Hotel is ideally situated as it is close to Stellenbosch but far enough out to be a quiet retreat. A car is essential though.

I believe Devon Valley Hotel has all the facilities you would need for a few nights stay. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Any ground floor room in the newish blocks that house the Vineyard Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Harps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear The_Harps

Many thanks for your review and pictures! We look forward to seeing you again soon to welcome you home

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were disappointed by our first impressions of this hotel. It was just a little bit grubby round the edges (e.g. old toilet brush in room, cobwebs around the inside of exterior doorways, mildew on the curtains), just a little bit shabby (e.g. grotty, old plastic furniture on bar/restaurant terrace, pretty disgraceful loungers round pool) and, though its setting is beautiful, the mountain views are virtually completely blocked by trees.

I'd actually like to give it 3.5/5 or "good", however, because a few things caused it to grow on me over our stay. The indoor restaurant and bar areas are quite nice and we enjoyed our breakfasts. We mentioned our disappointment at the state of the pool (which had both freshly fallen leaves floating in it and much older green algae stains) to reception and it was cleaned during our stay. (However, we still didn't use it as we know a little about pool maintenance and the likely result of its impromptu 'cleaning'!) Also, we were granted a very late check-out on our departure day which made a big difference to us. The staff all seemed nice and eager to do a good job. Finally, and importantly, I completed the hotel's own online feedback request and the manager has responded to all the points I have raised in a manner that has convinced me that the necessary improvements are in hand. Sadly, for us it is too late and we won't return or recommend (see my other reviews for some fabulous alternatives in the area) - but, if you are reading this review from around June 2013 onwards my guess would be that the place will seem a bit smarter than I've described.

Considering that we paid just over £100 per night b&b for a family of four, it was good value by UK standards. The problem was that we know what alternatives are available in this area within the same price range and we therefore felt we'd made a mistake on this occasion, which annoyed me as it's the first time we've done so based on Tripadvisor reviews. Oh well, it was bound to happen once - we all have different perspectives!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaylover29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear holidaylover29

Thank you for your review. As you mention we have been in contact following your stay.

For the benefit of those reading your review. We have a new rooms division manager and housekeeper who joined our team just on 2 weeks ago. Already a huge difference has been felt.

The swimming pool is our challenge and we have implemented a new cleaning programme. The pool loungers at the Manor house have been replaced.

Generally the standards will always be improved based on our guest reviews as we appreciate the time taken to let us know what we do right and wrong!

Thank you again.

kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for one night, and I wish it had been longer. The room was lovely, the grounds were scenic and had a great view, and the food and wine were excellent! We visited several nearby wineries, and though that required a ride, the location of this place is terrific. The staff were also accommodating; after a day of wine tasting, my husband was ready to sample some liquors and the barkeep obliged. Had I spent more time, I'd have taken more advantage of some of the property's amenities, such as a pool, and perhaps spent more time relaxing, perhaps just drinking wine from the affiliated Sylvan winery.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear AS

Thank you for your review. Perhpas you will visit us again and spend a few more nights!


Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were blown away as soon as we reached the estate. When we entered our room it was showered with roses and 2 complimentary bottles of champagne and chocolate cake with strawberries. The whole room was really luxurious with all the modern facilities, except a flat screen Tv.

They have two swimming pools on the property which are both really nice. You can also arrange a wine walking tour which is quite interesting. The bartender who does the wine tasting is really knowledgeable and knows his wines.

Really nice rooms and courteous staff. Scrumptious breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohitg1580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear mohitg1580

Many thanks for your lovely review. Please spread the word in India, which is our fastest growing market to our hotel.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,818 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
868 reviews
3.6 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
808 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Property: Devon Valley Hotel
Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing