We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Stunning”
Review of Devon Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Devon Valley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was the fourth hotel we stayed in during our tour of South Africa and was the best by far for accommodation and food. If it was possible to give it 6*s I would. The views from the terrace to the distance mountains are stunningly beautiful, particularly at dusk. We had a wine tasting session on the terrace with wines from their own vinyard and the restaurant and food were outstanding.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 64Rod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear 64Rob

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted we created a memorable experience!

Kind regards


Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 636 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

Having dropped by one day for a drink & lunch decided I would try a night there and the wine tasting....MISSTAKE.....arrived at prescribed time 2 pm for checkin.....poor to say the least...followed by a sandwich and glass of wine in bar....I left the wine after one sip...wife being thirsty mixed a tin of coke with hers...ok not Puka but it was hot. We were then advised we had missed the welcome drink...was that because the young lady was pre occupied with other cativities such as showing a young boy how to play a game on a PC etc ! well needless to say after tasting the wine we had paid for...we thought better of it. Now to the room...this was accomplished via a long narrow passage over 2 rather ...no very large bundles of dirty laundr...bedding....a trip hazard for me and I'm fit...for anyone not so I could see problems....dosent look good either....then outside and to the room upstairs in an adjacent block...toiletries minimal.....2 tea bag & 2 coffee sachets...bit tight I think in this area...must be cost cutting.....then to relax...no between 3 & 4 there was a knock on door...housekeeping to vacum...chased then...30 mins later towels arrive....can it get worse YOU BET....dinner....first they try to put us on a table in a corner next to where main table is set for approx. 30 people....get that sorted...then service is fair to poor...as is the meal...ok on to the wine tasting ....have to ask and advise we've paid !!! well 30 mins later get the wine...one sip of each is enough to know the water from the North Sea tastes better...and no where near where I normally par-take in the nelly or Le Gande Prov in Franschoek...where people know their wines & fine dinning....oh well thats enough to bed....with its torn sheet ! Morning sod breakfast lets get away...given bill with items we've not had....and not signed for...taken off the bill...then get to Cape Town and realise we paid for the Meal up friont but now its on the bill again...called hotel who said they will refund...ha, ha, 2 calls later and two emails and two weeks it happens....there head office sent an email to get feedback on following day we had stayed there...needless to say no response to my observations....All in all a Hotel I rate well below Basils....mind the staff in the main are cheerfull and do smile.....but without the swervice to go with them...its meaningless. I do see the Manager replies to all comments & I do know he tries....but as some one said to me TIA (This is Africa) and we're on African Time....so don't expect a lot and you may be surprised...I was.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Nomadkk

This is the most horrific review I have received. We strive to offer handmade hospitality, which we obviously did not deliver to you.

I would really like to discuss your stay in more detail.

Please would you make contact with me so I can rectify and fix this.

Kind regards

Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We would like to applaud the staff at The Devon Valley Hotel, where we held our wedding reception on Sunday 9 December 2012, for their exceptional customer service. They were very accomodating, friendly and professional in assiting with the preparation for the reception and in the serving their extensive and sumptous Sunday buffet menu, about which our guests still reminisce! The surroundings are as astounding as the service; this all adds up to a memorable day! Many thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Minnie B

Congratulations on your wedding. We look forward to welcoming you back each year for your anniversary!

I am delighted to hear we make your day memorable by delivering excellence in service.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a great three night stay for a family wedding. The room was well appointed, staff were friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. We enjoyed the scenic vineyard walks that set off from the property. We also enjoyed the Devon Valley red wine blend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlenT222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear GlenT222

Thanks for your review! I do hope you will visit us from Johannesburg again soon.


Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the hotel on 30/12/2012 as we had a wedding at Webersburg Wine Farm that evening. We booked 3 rooms for our party and each room was spotless and comfortable, and very spacious. We received a welcome drink and were made to feel very Welcome by the receptionist (I can't remember her name).
Breakfast was delicious and a nice variety of food was on offer on the buffet.
The views of Stellenbosch are spectacular and wine tasting was available on the veranda overlooking the mountains.
Thanks for a wonderful stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful but the rooms overlooking Stellenbosch mountains have the added benefit of v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilganz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Hilganz

Many thanks for your review. I hope that your party will come out to Stellenbosch again soon and spend some more time with us!

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We spent Christmas Eve and Christmas Day at the Devon Valley Hotel and it was incredible. The staff were so friendly and did such a great job of making everyone feel at home that we did not miss beinga way from home for Christmas. The Christmas Eve dinner and Christmas Day brunch were outstanding, the views unforgettable and the atmosphere festive. Great food, live music and outstanding in-house wines. Our room was extremely comfortable and wellappoiunted with our own outside patio and a view of the valley. By far our best memory of South Africa.

Room Tip: Get one of the new rooms on the bottom floor, great views and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Bruce S

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your festive season with us. I certainly hope you will join us again for 2013 Season!


Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at the end of November. Lovely room with a wonderful outlook over the vines and mountains in the distance. Breakfast was well thought out with a varied selection and structured so that queues were minimised. As a couple it was not ideal, as several large ( and noisy) groups were both day and ovenight visitors so dominated the terraces and restaurants - to the extent that on one night all non group visitors ate outside to get away from the rowdy atmosphere inside. The kitchen team could not cope with the numbers it was being asked to deal with so there were either considerable delays or food arriving before pre dinner drinks had been served, and mix ups with what had been ordered. If a mixed market is being targeted then care needs to be taken to ensure that guests are not compromised by others.

Room Tip: ground floor vineyard rooms at the far end of the block are the quietest - parking when there is an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenniegSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear jenningSussex

Many thanks for your review. You are correct that we need to properly plan if we cater for both groups and individuals. Following you stay we have developed a strategy to take special care and attention of our individual guests. We have developed special areas for group business in the hope that they do not affect the individual traveller. The individual travel is critical to the sustainability of this business.

We have also increased the staffing capacity to ensure we can manage and deliver excellent service even when we are busy.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,903 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
406 reviews
3.6 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
864 reviews
1.5 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#10 of 17 in Stellenbosch
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $123 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing