We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better elsewhere”
Review of Devon Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Devon Valley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“You can do better elsewhere”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We went as a couple and felt completely invisible as the staff were clearly too busy dealing with several large groups who were booked in during the same period. This hotel would probably be fine to stay in for example as part of a wedding party, and there were some positives (beautiful setting and views, large comfortable rooms, good rates available online). Also the front desk staff and concierge were excellent. However, the service in all other areas was either slow or non-existent and certainly not of the standard you would expect of a hotel of this type. Since there is so much choice of accommodation in the Stellenbosch area I would certainly suggest you could do much better elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms in new vineyard block are bigger and on ground floor have patio leading onto lawn area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenpercent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear tenpercent

Many thanks for the time taken to do a review on Devon Valley Hotel.

I am saddened that we did not create a memorable experience for you and your wife. The hotel does have groups as well as individuals. We normally get management to focus attention onto the individuals, so that they are made to feel welcome and special. From your review we did not get it right during your stay and I offer my apologies.

You also did not enjoy your dinner experience. Normally the dining is part of our unique selling point and most occasions we get this spot on.

We do agree there are numerous choices in Stellenbosch, we do hope that in future, as we have in the past, we create memorable experiences and offer excellence in hospitality to our guests.

My team and I are passionate about our hotel and thank you for the time taken to highlight our short comings during your stay. We will be able to use your review to ensure in the future we only offer excellent service and attention to both our group and individual traveller.

Should you wish to discuss you stay further, please feel free to contact me directly on andrew@devonvalleyhotel.com


kind regards


Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    194
    48
    24
    7
See reviews for
88
331
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Piaseczno, Poland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the hotel; good base for the area sightseeing; lovely setted amongst the local vinyards; very friendly wines, excellent and great value food and wine in the local restaurant (although pizzas are not their specialty yet! but still had great fun watching the true team work when they make it) - fully recommend the place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Marek S

Thank you fro your review. We are delighted you felt we offered value for money! Our Pizzas is run in summer on a Friday and Saturday evening. On Fridays we do also have live music.

Hoping you will return soon


Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We checked into the Devon Valley Hotel around 5:30 in the evening. This is a long, elegant country inn perched on a hillside overlooking the vineyards. I was given a magnificent room decorated in purple and gold with a king size bed, fireplace, huge bathtub, and an expansive vineyard view.

The downside was I only was able to enjoy the room for about 90 minutes while fully awake. It was still raining softly when we arrived, and as we were running late, I only had 30 minutes to rest in the room before being rushed back into the van to head to our evening venue (see below). Despite this, I managed to enjoy a cup of tea in front of the fire while gazing at the view, and then change cloths quickly for dinner. When I returned to my room around midnight, I immediately fell asleep, but set my alarm early enough to wake up, enjoy some coffee in front of the fire, then take a hot bath in the large and inviting tub. The breakfast buffet was delightful with over 30 different dishes in a large dining room with many windows and white tablecloths. Next time, I would linger at this resort and enjoy all the lovely amenities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Lizwine

Thanks for your time to do a report on Devon Valley. Its a pity your time was rushed, but we do hope you will return soon and spend a little more time "lingering"

Kind regards


Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knysna
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

i had a recent trip to Stellenbocsh on business and stayed at the beautiful Devon Valley Hotel. I check in exceptional late that evening and was welcomed by wonderful staff. They made it very easy for me and even though I was only there for 12 hours they made me feel exceptionally welcome and at home. I was given the full run down of my room and nothing seemed to difficult for them at that late hour. I enjoyed a wonderful breakfast the following morning in one of the most picturesque settings you can imagine. I look forward to returning to Devon Valley on holiday where I can enjoy the area to the full and everything that the hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Mark R

We are delighted we made you feel welcome! Loking forward to your return visit and you spending a little more time with us.

Kind regards


Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Lovely setting in a valley off the main road. Staff are really helpful and friendly. Gorgeous room with comfy bed and percale bed linen and spacious bathroom. French doors opening onto a small verandah under vines amidst the pretty gardens. Delicious food in the restaurant with lots of attention to detail. Very peaceful and relaxing environment.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Amelia086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Amelia086

Many thanks for the time taking to write your review! We do hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey uk
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We had a huge room during our recent visit here and it was a treat to have a proper bathroom with lots of lovely soft towels! The restaurant laid out the buffet in a sensible way so that there were no big queues and the food was delicious. There are two free computers that you can use. Wonderful views from the terrace when the rain finally stopped!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cjwhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear cjwhols

Thank you for the time taken to do a review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you kind words and they inspire us to continue to deliver "memorable experiences"

Kind regards


Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We arrived here for 3 nights as part of an escourted tour the weather was atrocious stair rods, the staff were out with umbrellas to escourt us into reception. Once allocated a room which ment going outside again we found the route under 6 inches of water we refused to to go through the water and returned to reception after an apology we were given tea and cakes. After some time they took us back to the rooms to show the water had been cleared, rooms were excellent, we also received a complimentary bottle of wine from the local vineyard.
The food was excellent and as indicated before the staff fell over backwards to be helpful

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scrumhalfRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear scrumhalfRedditch

Many thanks for your review. You certainly did not arrive in pleasant weather. It was the first time in ten years of current ownership that it rained so hard we had flooding!

We are delighted you enjoyed the stay and that the weatehr imprved for you.

Kind regards


Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,795 reviews
3.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
863 reviews
3.6 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
788 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Property: Devon Valley Hotel
Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing