We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Devon Valley Hotel”
Review of Devon Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Devon Valley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel is situated in a quite and serene setting. The hosts are very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are decorated simple, but elegant, and everything you need is at hand! Our room had a fireplace and it was so nice, especially because it was a cold and wet day. The bar and restaurant is excellent and the hotel is child-friendly!! Definitely will go back to visit!! Style and comfort with 5star service at a affordable price!!! Well done, Devon Valley Hotel!!!!!!

Room Tip: In winter times, ask for the rooms with fireplace, very cosy and romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristelViljoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Christel Viljoen

Many thanks for your review.

We pride ourselves in Handmade Hospitality and creating memorable experiences, so I am delighted you rate our service 5 star!


Looking forward to welcoming you back

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 692 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hotel is located in the hills outside of Stellenbosch and offers a great view of the valley and the vineyards. Our luxury room offered a great view and good accommodation with fireplace (needed in the winter). We enjoyed the walking trails through the surrounding vineyards, which give spectacular views.
Having a glass of wine on the terrace or in the lounge is recommended. Service is friendly and adequate, wines are of great quality. Although Stellenbosch (7 Km) has many restaurants, visitors may also consider dining at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertRx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear RobertRx

Many thanks for the time taken to comment on Trip Advisor! We are delighted you had a memorable experience.

We hope that you will return to South Africa again

Kind regards


Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Devon Valley Hotel is a great home away. Splendid hospitality from all staff for the entire 24 hours of the day. Great food and orders are fast, lovely ambience and wonderful scenery, Rooms fabulous and well kempt. The wines and whiskies, just spoilt for choice. It made the training I attended even more memorable. Will definitely recommend to folks here.
cheers, Mofaht Kampala.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mofaht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Dear Mofaht

Many thanks for your wonderful review. Our Whiskey collection is something we pride ourselves on.

We look forward to welcoming you with your family in the near future.

Kind regards


Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have been to the Devon Valley Hotel twice in the last year on business travel. The hotel is located in the winelands of Stellenbosch. The rooms are beautifully furnished and comfortable. The wine list and offering of spirits in the bar impresses. The kitchen is not up to expectations and servers/waitrons a bit laid-back. I wouldn't stay at the hotel had I been paying myself.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank MarcCicero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Dear MarcCicero

Many thanks for the time taken to respond on Tripadvisor. We take Guest Feedback very seriously. I have tried to make contact with you as I would love to discuss your stay in more detail.

You care enough to put your feelings onto Tripadvisor; I really would appreciate you contacting me so I can learn how we are "still not getting it right". Normally we get great reviews on our food and service and it really saddens me that we did not get it right for you.

I do appologise for not making your stay memorable and look forward to being able to fix this for you.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

It was my Mum's birthday, so we booked out three sets of rooms. They changed the room immediately when it was found to be unsuitable. As I am from Australia, all bookings and arrangements were made over the internet. We organised a birthday cake which was just sensational.
We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends.
Thanks very much to all the staff who made our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear Karen L

Many thanks for your feedback on our hotel. We hope that you will travel to South Africa again soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The hotel is situated outside of Stellenbosch with amazing views of the surrounding mountains.
I found the executive rooms to be very comfortable and also roomy.
The staff are extremely helpful.
We atteneded a business stratergy session here and found it a most comfrotable venue for these types of events.
Lack of a gym and Spa are the only downside.

Room Tip: get an executive room on the top floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear Dave N

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted and proud about your comments. We are looking into converting some space into a Spa.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights in this hotel in June this year. The food was excellent. The room perfect & a beautiful view. Everyone was so friendly. The staff excellent.
Definitely recommend it & try the wine tasting.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMCKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

Dear MMCKR

Many thanks for your review. We are proud of our team and delighted you enjoyed your stay! We hope you will visit again.

kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,033 reviews
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
938 reviews
3.6 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#10 of 17 in Stellenbosch
411 reviews
3.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $122 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing