We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet elegance for couples, families, and groups”
Review of Spier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Spier Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet elegance for couples, families, and groups”
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Stellenbosch was the final leg of our South African tour, and our experiences had run the gambit from safari tent lodging to staying with friends in Cape Town. After two weeks on the road, Spier was just what we needed. While a bit removed from the downtown area and many of the premier wineries, the more-rural setting affords the room to create beautiful grounds, great event spaces, and quiet lodging.

We were two families traveling from the States with three children. The Spier was a great experience for everyone, and at the same time I didn't feel our rambunctious children were imposing on the other guests.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrianP14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    588
    146
    51
    17
See reviews for
454
803
24
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel and grounds are very nice, like a small village. Room was clean and had all the facilities we expected, and a very large double bed with comfy pillows! We ate at the moyo restaurant on our first evening to sample the 'African experience'. Whilst it was ok, and a bit different, we found the food to be only average. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the second evening, and had different opinions of the food. Mine was very good, but my wife ordered the lamb potje, which did not exactly fall off the bone as we had expected. To be fair to the hotel they accepted it was not up to standard and removed this from the bill.
The hotel has a nice very affordable wine bar, which was cosy, albeit a bit quiet. The hotel is a long way from town so realistically one would have to dine in every evening.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynnandbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Spier in January 2010 and had no hesitation in rebooking for this February. Some of the recent negative comments on Trip Advisor had us a bit concerned and to be honest, were right on the mark!

Service at breakfast was dreadful... so slow and with no consistancy. Tables were either not laid with serviettes or salt and pepper, the butter was left from one set of diners to the next and in the heat, was often rancid ,as was the milk in the jugs left on the table. Every morning we had to ask for fresh milk and butter and it took ages to get tea and coffee. Flies were all over the buffet and there really should have been some way of keeping the yogurts, cheeses etc cold. It also took a long time for tables to be cleaned between diners.

Housekeeping was another grey area. The rooms are very nice but could definately do with being cleaned a bit more thoroughly. Our floor was filtly and we had to resort to wearing socks to keep our feet clean.

The main swimming pool is very nice but there are by no means enough loungers for the size of pool deck and the number of people wishing to use the pool. We often had to ask for more pool towels and the drinks/food service was non-existant most of the time.

On the plus side, we found all the staff to be extremely pleasant and very helpful and always willing to put things right. It was such a pity that they weren't right in the first place.

Spier has a beautiful setting and is a lovely place but is just lacking in some of the details that a 4 star hotel should have. Things could so easily be put right with some good management ,as they are mostly minor but added together make for some frustration.

We would recommend Spier to people but with a few reservations.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller from UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

After reading some recent reviews on here we were not sure what to expect on our arrival. However, we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were polite and helpful and the rooms were good but could have done with a bit more attention to detail in the cleaning. We ate in the Hotel restaurant and had an excellent meal that was good value. The breakfast was typical buffet style fare but very good and when asked they cooked scrambled egg to order. We also ate at the Eight restaurant and that was exceptionally good with knowledgeable staff and good service. The grounds are very pleasant and peaceful. Overall a very pleasant last two days of our holiday. I recommend that you go and see the Cheetah's and have a Cheetah Encounter- amazing experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DWHandMJH38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire uk
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Stayed here in Jan 2011 for two nights.. room was large and airy with air con and ceiling fans. Disappointed that the swimming pool closes at 5pm each night when the sun doesn't even start setting until 8pm.

Don't come here for a wine experience... there are much better estates locally where you can enjoy tastings in peaceful and serene surroundings. When we were there, the tasting session we witnessed resembled a free booze up in a student's bar.... therefore gave it a miss. Hotel restaurant was very good, if a little pricey. Lots going on on-site, but seemed to be a bit of a tourist trap. Would recommend hotel to friends looking for a base to tour the Cape winelands.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markdroitwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

The whole resort idea is great, we loved that you could go for a wonder after dinner and the atmosphere was fabulous, one night we took a rug and sat out under the stars with a bottle of wine which was simply divine, but unfortunately the detail was completely overlooked.

The staff at the pool were generally slow but accomodating and pleasant and always cheerful

The lounge area was divine, loved the artwork and the detail that was available in that respect, the bar staff were very accomodating, sometimes slow, but I think that was because there was just not enough of them, especially as they served cocktails which take a time to prepare. Bar/pool snacks were good and it didn't matter that they took a while,

My daughter and her friend went horse riding which they said was fantastic.

Loved the Deli, where we got a light lunch on occassion and sat out in the tress, where it was good to get away from the sun

On the last day we ate lunch at eight which was divine, unfortunately it is not open for dinner.

The following are the main points of our dissappointment

Reception staff were highly unknowledgable and not interested
Service in restaurant was extremely slow, and second night for dinner, my boyfriend was served raw chicken and I had very bland pasta that I just could not eat, though the first night we ate there our food was divine
Rooms are shabby with chipped tiles and not cleaned well
Breakfast service was awful, it took ages to get Tea and Coffee, I thought they would be better with self service
I wasn't bothered that the pool was small, but was bothered that it was such a chore on occassion to get towels, a stack of towels that you could help yourself to would have been far preferable

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

I am not one to accept shoddy service, and I, in most circumstances, will complain if the need arises.

Portia is the receptionist who i via email and telephonically made my booking! She was so quick to respond and a great asset to the company. She made my booking at Moyo and attended to my every need. When we arrived there, we were greeted with smiles. Everyone was most helpful! The room service was timeous, the rooms were clean and so spacious. The pool was warm and clean! The grounds are more beautiful than I have ever seen. There were lovely fluffy white dressing gowns and we dined and acted like we were royalty!

The food was pleasant. Only three things that I was not 100% happy with: 1. When we went to Moyo for dinner on the second evening, the hotel did not do a turn down and clean for us before bed. the first night they did.
2. The Capresce salad is R68 and included 3 or 4 pieces at the most of buffalo mozzarella and 4 slices of a tomato and three pieces of watercress! What a rip off, I duly returned it!
3. At breakfast, the service is not the best when there are so many people! they may need to improve on dealing with lots of people at once.
Overall, a worthwhile experience overall!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queensheroda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
868 reviews
5.4 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
631 reviews
5.4 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Property: Spier Hotel
Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing