We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spier Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Eendracht Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
$67
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$139
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devon Valley Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$107
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$109
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
$91
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
$101
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,151)
Filter reviews
2,151 results
Traveler rating
1,238
672
163
58
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,238
672
163
58
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssegway toureagle encounterswine tastingkids clubbird sanctuarycraft marketcape towngas firemain restaurantmain poolrooms are largeconference venueour honeymoongarden routewine estatebeautiful placefantastic stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,858 - 1,863 of 2,151 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Speir is a hotel with a good amount going on besides - from wine tasting to bird of prey flying, horse riding or chetah encounters, all of which make it a venue in its own right, rather than just somewhere to lay your head! The food is excellent - breakfast (which is included) is delicious, and the wine bar fun and friendly. We had a few issues with hot water but if you mention it to the management then they take an interest and sort it out promptly. The staff are also very friendly and good at what they do - specifically the servers at Moyo (which you MUST visit but do NOT have lunch beforehand), the wine shop staff and the guys over at the bird of prey site.

I would highly recommend this as a last stop before flying home from Cape Town airport as it's closer to the airport than the city itself, and is a great place to unwind. Speir's only problem is that it IS expensive and for the price I would have expected a little bit more opulence to give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vedev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

No hot water for the entire stay! No feedback or concern for guests comfort.
Do not even think of eating at the African themed Moyo restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRVLSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

As part of the recent Lions tour we stayed here mid week. As it was winter in South Africa the weather was cold & wet & the ground sodden.
It seemed as if the hotel were totally unprepared for our visit, as the bar was under staffed & there was only a buffet available for dinner. The quality and choice of this left a lot to be desired. We ended up eating in the conservatory which was cold, poorly lit and had water seeping under the door.
To get to the bedroom you had to walk from reception over an unlit path that had puddles , umberalls were however provided. Because of the wind outside the door rattled all night and windows in an upstairs room also made a noise.

Breakfast the first morning was pandemonium as there seemed to be insufficient staff on duty and, the choice and variety of food on offer was not great.
Because we were a tour party we had no cars. The hotel advised that the nearby town of Stellenbosch had few taxis but that the hotel had a courtesy coach that would take us into town. I must say it was the first time a courtesy coach actually charged money !!
The next evening an a la Cart menu was available, and the food considerably better than the buffet from hell of the previous evening.
I am sure this would be a cracking hotel in summer time and you had your own transport but mid week in the winter time it left a lot to be desired.
Staff friendly but not professional, spa is only adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dundrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Liked the rooms, they were spacious. Breakfast was nothing special and pretty average.
Prices are expensive five star but the place falls down on customer care/service. Good for a couple of days!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We stayed for 1 night. This large wine estate has lots to do on the site.

From wine tasting, horse riding, cheetah and bird sanctuary.

The hotel has a grand reception and bar area.

The room was large and spacious to high standard and cleanliness - with several pools across the complex.

Breakfast had a selection of cooked, pastries, fruit etc.

We ate at Moyo's resturant on site - which probably was our biggest dissapointment - very overpriced for what you get.

Ideal getaway from Cape Town for a couple of days - only about 1 - 1/2 hours drive away.

Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank K1000M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews