We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE”
Review of Spier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Spier Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I attended a conference at Spier. The food is excellent, the accommodation comfortable and the conferencing facilities great. The rooms, hotel reception, bar and restaurant are beautifully decorated and the artwork is gorgeous. Highly recommended. It goes without saying that the wine was excellent as well

Room Tip: try to book away from the road passing the estate as there are road works which can be noisy.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you for your most positive feedback on your stay with us, we really do appreciate it.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    579
    146
    51
    17
See reviews for
435
784
23
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We are from Germany but since two years in South Africa
We are the 4th time in hotel Spier and every time it was wonderful
Many thanks to the Management and Service personal
We cannot say to everybody thank you but representative for the management Gallo and for the service Lebo
We are coming back soon
Juergen and Bettina

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juergen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you for your continued support and kind words in your feedback to us.

It is very comforting for the team, and especially Lebo and Gallo, to know that you have appreciated their efforts.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Spier is not only a hotel but a total experience. This 4 star hotel is absolutely gorgeous & from my experience should be a 5 star! What I loved about this hotel is that it didn't feel like your normal stuffy hotel room. When walking around you feel so close to nature, so many trees, a river runs through the grounds & dams (which you can sit around & enjoy the views).

Situated in the wine lands (just outside Stellenbosch) it has so much to offer for every one. Top of my list to do will be, Wine Tasting (ask for Kyle to do your tasting for you, he was incredibly knowledgeable), Picnics (The Farm Deli you can buy various of delicious goodies & pack it into the basket provided & then find a stunning spot in the sun or shade & enjoy your picnic), Camelot Spa, Bird Sanctuary... to be honest there are a few other things to do if you have the time. If non of this interests you, Spier does have a desk where they can assist with arranging any kind of touristy trips & transfers.
Rooms are beautiful & so spacious, we had the river facing view. Staff (namely Charlotte & Nikki) were professional & so friendly & went out of their way to make us feel welcome & at home. After chatting to the staff it was wonderful to see that Spier not only looks after their staff but also takes a great deal of pride in helping the local community.
Well done Spier, Ill be spreading the word on how fabulous my visit was.

Room Tip: select a river view rooms will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
What a pleasure to read your positive feedback on our establishment and people.

We are very fortunate to have so much wonderful space around our property as you have enjoyed it.

Thank you.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 nights in April 2014 at the Spier Estate with our 2 Children, Ages 2 1/2 and 4. For Families like ours the best place to be in Stellenbosch and suroundings. Loads of fun things to do for the Little ones, which gave Mum and Dad some time "to breath" during the Holiday: Kids Club with full care arranged, making Pizza, baking cakes, Painting singing etc. (convineint when you want to enjoy a massage at the spa for a few hours); Bird sanctury; wine and Grape Juice tasting and lots more. Breakfast was good, but dinner could have been a lot better, hence no full points. Lovely rooms to accommodate a Family with easy Access to a lovely garden. Definately an exception amoung the other places, who were not so children friendly. Relatively central / quick access by car to other surrounding estates in Franhoek. So, if on the garden route with family with younger Kids, this is the place to have your base. Enjoyed and will be back soon.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
It was great to read your positive and comprehensive feedback on your family's stay with us, we do like to look after our little visitors.

It is also rewarding to know that you have truly explored all the activities we offer on the farm; that is what makes the difference here at Spier.

Thank you.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was a great place to be at, so many things to do both in the evening and in the day. We only stayed one night ut we regret we didn´t stay more days as it was a very nice place to be at. They had fantastic wines and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you for your most positive feedback on your stay with us here at Spier.

We appreciate your kind comments on our food and wine quality and would like to see you stay for a few more days on your next visit.

Thank you.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Nice hotel located close to Stellenbosch. Rooms are actually located in small townhouses with direct access to pools and garden. Rooms are very nice and in a typical wineland style.

Service is great and the entire hotel premise is huge. Picnic opportunities onsite available in the vast hotels garden area.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar, preferably go for downstairs rooms with access to garden and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback and kind words on your recent stay with us here at Spier.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

The breakfast is fabulous and the wine tasting is a must, unfortunately the day we spent at Spier it was raining so we were not able to do a tour of the wine farm. The warm fireplaces in the hotel as well as the room were wonderful on a cold day however the bathroom was not the best and the highway noise quite bothersome at night. The kids club was not worth sending kids to on the day we were there. Some of the staff were very friendly, others not. If you have kids bare in mind the beds are made up for them on the floor which is a nightmare moving around the room although the kids enjoyed it. Probably wouldn't return.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SamhHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
We appreciate hearing your honest feedback on your stay with us, sadly it is not as positive as we would have liked it to be for you.

We are upgrading our rooms currently and are make vast improvements to the bathrooms.

For the little visitors we have prepared an expansive program that we now run in the holidays, so we would welcome you to return and have your little guests looked after by our team.

Thank you.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
5.4 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
5.4 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Property: Spier Hotel
Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing